We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK - just.”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Whitwell
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It was OK - just.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having had a superb light lunch on a previous occasion we decided to return recently with friends for an evening meal. How disappointed we were. There were very few people in the pub and this was at 7 p.m. No atmosphere whatsoever. The food was OK - nothing special - and unfortunately we all were unable to have our first choice, only two portions of the steak pie left - our friends said this was good - but I chose pork loin fillet which was smothered in a creamy mushroom sauce. My husband's lamb dish was somewhat tough and tasteless. Sadly we shall not be returning any time soon given the number of high quality eateries the Island has to offer now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    118
    41
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast and drinks VERY reasonably priced”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had breakfast here today - the full english breakfast was beautifully cooked with locally sourced sausages and bacon. The portion size was so generous I haven't eaten another thing today and it is now half past 6 in the evening! The cappochino and mocha we had were really tasty and at only £1 each - tremendous value. They serve breakfast from 10am until 12 noon and I am told their beer is also cheaper than most other places on the Island. Do give it a try - you have to pass it en route to Newport from the Ventnor direction as the undercliffe road is closed! The service is first rate and the atmosphere and surroundings very pleasant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidejemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This friendly pub is in one of the most beautiful places in the uk and we had the pleasure of staying in a picturesque cottage three minutes walk from here. We were instantly welcomed (including the dog) and were back on a daily basis during our stay. This family run free house offers excellent food at very reasonable prices ( I wouldn't have minded paying a bit more for it! ) huge portions, and impeccable service. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome, we will definitely be back soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank RymerWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly local”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a nice friendly family pub serving good food and drink and is also dog friendly. Children's menu was good and they ate most of it, the adult menu was also good with a fair selection, my wife had a couple of glasses of house wine and I had a pint of bitter with our meal, although we did not drive to the pub there seems to be fairly good parking facilities.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter74050139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The perfect venue for our 'Holiday Date Night'!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

During our recent holiday we took advantage of our 'Grand Parent Babysitters' and chose the White Horse to visit for a bite to eat. We have visited the Inn before and always had good meals but this one topped the lot! We reserved our table by phone and were told the pub was very busy - this didn't matter as the food and service was slick but not immediate (which is never a good thing in our opinion) leaving enough time for conversation. My wife ordered BBQ Ribs with salad and chips (the BBQ source being homemade) and I ordered Sweet and Sour Chicken, Rice and a hand rolled Naan Bread - Price wise both drinks and food were on a par with most establishments we visited but what set this meal apart were the quality and portion sizes - They were both immense!! Staff were friendly and the Inn catered for all with families, couples and dog walkers all mixing in a true 'olde world' Inn setting. Outside is a play area for the young ones to let off steam and the car park is a good size (on a busy night we still managed to find a space easily). All in all this made for an enjoyable evening and we would recommend the White Horse to anyone who wants quality food in a great setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing