We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring an appetite”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Whitwell
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bring an appetite”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Visited for a meal while staying nearby. Lovely friendly pub with a warm atmosphere. The pub has 2 areas, to the right of the main door is the oldy, worldly inn, low ceilings, beams, really cosy. By the garden therre is a more modern room with pool table. I recommend the older part. There is an extensive menu with plenty of variety & a daily specials board. We all ordered something different & everyone enjoyed their meal. The food is tasty, hot & ample. Reasonably priced for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jilianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    120
    41
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Choose Carefully”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

While on holiday 20th - 27th June we visited The White Horse Inn Whitwell twice.
The first time 3 of us had the really excellent Pork Medallions while the other person in our group had Lamb Steak, this unfortunately turned out to be a complete disappointment so much so that the Landlord agreed and to his credit offered a full refund.

We had booked our Sunday Lunch here before we even arrived on the Island so after the first episode wondered what awaited.
Thankfully all was well and this time the 4 of us were happy with our meals.
The fresh vegetables deserve a special mention they are simply delicious.

While It comes recommended you may want to check with the Landlord/Staff regarding your choice of meal and I know you will find them very helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub with garden”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

we visited on Sunday late afternoon with twin 2 year old nephews who loved the garden and play area. Food was pleasnat and well priced, extensive menu.A couple who left their dog accidentally, then returned 10 minutes later, provided the entertainment as lots of head scratching was gping on with staff very concerned for the poor little fellas welfare.

Helpful?
1 Thank DawnKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Didn't fancy cooking”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The White Horse wasn't far from where we were staying and having read some of the reviews, we decided to go for our evening meal.
The menu was full of the usual pub dishes but the specials board caught our eyes, with three of us ordering the pie dish, which was chicken and chorizo and the fourth spinach and feta in filo pastry. Several reviews had mentioned the size of the portions and they were right. Make sure that you are hungry before you go as they are large but well cooked and certainly homemade.
We were made to feel at home by the staff and even joined in the Monday night quiz, although, sorry to say, we didn't do too well. Altogether a pleasant evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Experience...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Whilst on holiday in the Isle of Wight with my partner and family,(&two dogs) we stumbled across this busy pub.
The car park was packed and the queue to order food was enormous(good signs we thought..it must be good and it was fantastic!)
The staff advised us of a half hour wait for food, which we didn't mind as we were enjoying the sun filled beer garden, and were very apologetic abt the wait. It was worth waiting for!!
We went back the following lunchtime for Sunday roast which again was fantastic and brilliant value for money.
All in all a superb experience, and we will look forward to visiting again!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimmFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing