We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Inn

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Whitwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived just after 6pm to find a lot of reserved tables booked for 7.30 pm. We were given one of these tables but made aware someone else wanted it! Not exactly welcoming. We were told there were no delays but having placed our order we did wait a while for our meal. My husband enjoyed his spare ribs as there were plenty, I had the rump steak stir fry which tasted nice but for the price there was very little steak in the dish. I've had the dish previously and with more meat. By the time we had eaten the meal nobody had checked everything was OK. We then felt pushed to leave as the bar was now full of people wanting reserved tables.
Yes the meal was tasty,but service was lacking,not the nicest birthday meal I was hoping for. We always enjoyed time here as its where my husband proposed,but we won't be hurrying back now.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcsgirlsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    112
    37
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed a very nice meal friendly attentive staff it is advisable to book though as it was very busy not surprisingly the food was very good

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janew990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Treat yourselves to a meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 6 people as we have heard it is popular here. We ordered our food, and were spoilt for choice with the menu and the daily specials board. We did wait for nearly an hour for our food but boy when it turned up was it worth the wait! We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were plentiful and delicious. You do pay a little bit more than normal pub food, but the presentation was excellent and food cooked perfectly, much of it local produce, so well worth the extra. This is the oldest pub on the island and well worth a visit for a treat or special occasion. Well done and thanks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went here with friends who live in the island. The, pub was fairly busy even on this Monday night. Good menu and even better specials board, good size potions you will not go home hungry. Six of us had different starters and mains and all came out virtually together. It's no fine dinning but good home cooking with a touch of quality. Good value also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Brilliant place! Had my daughters wedding evening "do" here in July. Couldn't wish for a better venue, lovely buffet and plenty of it!
Great staff made the night go without a hitch.
Many thanks to all those involved for making a great end to a special day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Godshill, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 
Arreton, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing