We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Quirky, Quaint and Quiet'”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitwell, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“'Quirky, Quaint and Quiet'”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is is the third time in the past year that we have stayed at Whitwell Station, which should say it all really. We love this little place, with cozy comfy cottages, beautiful garden and lovely views.
Both cottages ( Bluebell & Primrose) are extremely well appointed with everything a family would need for a holiday. There are some really lovely little touches in both cottages, making guests feel at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a week long stay at Whitwell Station and we found the location superb, the views of the hills, the way that Julia and Graham have rennovated the old station is first class. They have thought of every ammenity that you might need and our hosts were more than happy if you needed anything extra. We stayed in the Blubell Cottage, which was fantastic and spening the summer evenings sitting outside was perfect. Excellent stay with excellent hosts. Keeping the charm of the station with all the little touches were perfect!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was super!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S D
Newchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Rental = One of the best ever”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at the Whistlestop for one week and we were extremely impressed with this new(ish) build. The property is very well equipped, extremely confortable and immacutely clean. This is one of the very best holiday rentals we have ever had and cannot recommend it high enough. The only way the property could be improved is the addition of curtains (in addition to the blinds already fitted) in the main bedroom as the morning light can give rise to an early awakening.

Overall - Superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, extremely well equipped and comfortable.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian m
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely place definately NOT pet friendly”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

this is absolutley lovely, however we wanted to take our dog, so i emailed and confirmed one labrador well behaved would be fine.
day 3 of a week it was hot so dog left behind for 3 hours whilst we went to non dog tourist attraction.
got back to a tirade from owner about him laying on the sofa and barking, apparantly the barking started when he looked through the window and saw him on the sofa.
so why was owner poking around my holiday let? Sofas are faux leather and no damage done at all, dog only barks when face is pushed up against window as you would expect.
small print when checked does say dogs not to be left unattended, so he wins, but you cant really describe that as dog friendly, especially when its hot - I certainly would never leave him in a car and over a week there will always be places to go that dont allow dogs even if out for a meal
dogs tolerated would be better
he was so rude we packed up and left, losing 4 days of our holiday
sorry for late review only just discovered the site and want to warn others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location is fantastic
Liked least: not pet friendly at best tolerated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
We welcome pets but we state we will not allow pets to be left alone in the cottages or allowed on the furniture. Responsible owners consider other people and property. This poor pet was left on more than occasion and it was other guests who mentioned about the barking and it was persistent. No responsible dog owner will leave a recently rescued pet, alone in a strange environment. Why take a pet on holiday if all you're going to do is shut it up all day, shameful we will not allow this kind of treatment to animals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCount...
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Splendid Facilities and Views”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed in Whistlestop which is very comforatble, has great views from the balcony and has eveything you need for a great holiday. This, I suggest, is one of the best parts of the Isle of Wight especially for walks and scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'airiness' of the whole property and the views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking up the lane in the evenings
Liked least: Main bedroom needs curtains as well as blinds as too light in the mornings
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing