We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic farm retreat perfect for family and friends to spend time together”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Idyllic farm retreat perfect for family and friends to spend time together”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I were recently married on the Isle of Wight (first May bank holiday) and we stayed on Nettlecombe Farm with many of our family and friends for the long weekend. We hired all the cottages so that 57 of our guests could stay with us in the same location. We had the most memorable weekend and our family and friends loved staying on the Farm; it really made our Wedding memorable and it felt like a mini holiday for everyone. The cottages are cosy, clean, well equipped and really feel like home from home. We had guests who had travelled from New York, Canada and Bahrain as well as all parts of the UK and many had children with them. Everyone loved their accommodation and they said how much they enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and beautiful views of the countryside. Our friends with children loved the fact their children were never bored and could play freely in a safe environment which also allowed their parents the opportunity to relax. Children and adults alike loved the opportunity to spend time with the new lambs, the Alpacas, donkeys, pigs, cows, giant rabbits, reindeer and goats and were thrilled to have the opportunity to bottle feed the baby animals. The fishing was also a popular pastime. Everyone loved the home made jam made by the neighbours and the fresh free range farm eggs. Nettlecombe Farm is very peaceful, the owners are lovely and it provides the perfect environment for a relaxing break. It is an ideal place to spend time with family and friends as the way the cottages are set out it encourages everyone to be social and spend time together while still allowing people to have their own private space. The Children’s playing areas are also in full view of the cottages which meant our friends could enjoy themselves while still keeping an eye out for their kids. It is a good base to explore the Isle of Wight and the local pub in Whitwell (The White Horse) does fantastic food and the staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_B_Jandziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    24
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
122
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A rather unhelpful phone call with Jose a few days before we set off for this holiday took the edge of our excitement but on arrival the location and accommodation was great for us - 2 adults, 2 energetic small children plus our dog. Nicely fitted out accommodation, lovely views, quiet location but with plenty of things to do just a short drive away.
The children were disappointed on two counts - no fishing tackle available to fish in the on-site lakes ("we stopped providing that") and no fresh farm eggs for breakfast ("the hens have stopped laying").
There was no welcome for us as we arrived after an epic 8 hour journey, just the key in the door and when we did see the proprietor, the 'hello' was superficial to say the least. Shame as this would otherwise have been a 10/10!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in the Heron and it was beautiful. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and we had regular visits from Penny the cow who loves a good scratch.
We made good use of the fishing lakes which are well stocked.
The pub up the road was very very nice and i had the best meals i have ever had there.
I would recommend the farm to all visitors and cant wait to stay here again.
The staff are friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandimoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed in the 2-bed forge cottage. Clean, lovely restoration. Part of a working farm so my toddler loved seeing the animals, which include reindeers; donkeys, goats, geese, plus the usual. Great residents-only playground for the children. Highly recommended for families!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeandviccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The whole family stayed at Corner Cottage, 8 of us including 2 under 3 plus 2 dogs!
Masses of room with three bathrooms/loos/showers and 4 seperate bedrooms. Very comforatable, spotless and an excellent kitchen. Be wary of little ones with the open stailrs. Superb quiet location within easy reach of so many fabulous holiday treats. The IOW is the family holiday place to be! and Nettlecombe Farm is the place to see it from. If you don't eat at the White Horse in the village you haven'y eaten! The last night we went they cooked for 130 (mostly Island Games athletes)! and our meals (8 different) were all top notch food, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask and Jose will solve your problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Nettlecombe farm is such a peaceful place to spend a week on the isle of Wight. This is our second visit and it didn't disappoint. It had the feeling of a 'home from home'.
We stayed in Heron, which was spacious, clean and modern. The kitchen had everything you would need, and there were great views from all of the windows. Our two children loved the farm animals, especially the 2 7day old goats! The enclosed play area was great too, it kept the kids amused and we could sit in our private garden and watch them. Jose really makes you welcome, and has gorgeous fresh eggs for sale. Fishing was great in the 3 lakes, with plenty of carp being caught during our stay. It's in a fantastic location, just 10 mins from ventnor and blackgang chine.
I would thoroughly recommend nettlecombe farm to anyone, you won't be disappointed! We have already booked to come next year, for the third time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviegbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have just returned from a 7 night stay on nettlecombe farm. We stayed in one of the converted barns (Heron) and we can't stop raving about it.

The accomodation is very clean and spacious and the beds are so comfortable. It also has wonderful views of the rolling countryside and fishing lakes.

The whole farm is ideally geared to a quiet getaway, with plenty of footpaths to explore. Walking around the farm you can admire and interact with the many animals such as lambs, pig, donkeys, horses and not forgetting our favourite 'Penny' the cow, who loves to come and see you for a good scratch!

We went fishing several times and caught plenty of carp and roach in the 3 well stocked lakes.

The farm is located up a narrow track in the village of Whitwell which is on the south side of the island, and it is easy to acess all the major surrounding areas such as Vetnor, Sandown and Shanklin. The village itself is quite small with few amenties but it has a pub (The White Horse Inn) that serves great home cooked food and local ales.

All in all we can not give the farm and its owner Jose enough praise. We have visited the island many times but this is the first time we have stayed here. From now on though this will be our only port of call when on the island, as you would be hard pushed to beat it anywhere.

Room Tip: Best views from Heron without doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
3.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
186 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
3.8 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Nettlecombe Lane, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitwell
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Nettlecombe Farm is an idyllic dog friendly farm stay that offers luxurious self-catering holiday cottages that can sleep families from 3 up to 10 on the stunning Isle of Wight. There are excellent facilities for children including three large grassed play areas and a petting farm with a wide variety of animals including reindeer, alpacas and donkeys (to name just a few!). Nettlecombe Farm is a working farm, nestled in the heart of rolling countryside, which you may not want to leave once you arrive. During your stay families can join the morning feeding tours on the farm, experiencing a day in the life of a farmer. These unique tours take place from April until September (Monday to Friday). Guests also have full use of three fishing lakes and can take part in weekly yoga & Pilates sessions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing