We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time despite the rain”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed in heron. Lovely three bedroom place fully equipped with plenty of space and even books and toys available for those rainy days. Fishing lake fab (although my little one and his grandad both fell in... So be warned!) and the farm animals brilliant. Also plenty of spaces for football and other stuff. Would highly recommend a home from home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Nettlecombe Farm in mid July 2012. We stayed at Corner Cottage, which was very well equipped for families (children's books, toys, cot, highchair, all kitchen utensils etc). The children loved visiting the playgrounds and seeing the animals on the farm. We had fresh eggs and there is lots to do on the Isle of Wight for little people (ours are 1 and 2 years old).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was our first trip to Nettlecombe Farm when we stayed for a week in early July 2012
We chose Heron for our accommodation and were not disappointed!
Spacious rooms, comfortable beds,a well stocked kitchen and some nice touches including DVD's, games and reading material.
The views are breathtaking and even on a dull day it is so relaxing to overlook such beautiful scenery and rolling hills
There are some nice walks around the farm which our dogs loved and the well stocked lakes contain large shoals of fish of varying sizes which are very easy to catch.
Jose was very friendly without being at all imposing and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay
Needless to say we will be retuning as soon as we can

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at this beautiful farm last week and it has left such a lasting impression and on the Isle of Wight. First of all we arrive and the cottage (we stayed in the heron with 3 bedroom and amazing views, the best in my opinion) and could let ourselves in straight away and unpack felt just like being at home! The rooms were all spotless clean with home comforts & fresh towels and bedding. We also took 2 dogs (sharing with 4 adults) and they were made just as welcome! The owner greeted us on the 3rd day and was very helpful and friendly and if we needed anything we knew where to contact her. The location is brilliant for sight seeing as the isle of wight is relatively small you can access all areas locally with a car an there is loads to see and do & we were lucky enough to have 3 or 4 days of nice weather to enjoy it- this is where nettlecombe farm really pulls its punches on a clear sunny day the views from the heron are incredible from every room & every window just beautiful scenery and resident farm animals to provide a point of interest and whimsical-ness to the whole adventure - kids will love the animals and they are so tame & friendly check the pig & donkeys! Also have reindeer and other animals . Even on a not so good day the fog rises and settles on the hills like a glaze still beautiful to see- this is a lovely location and a so homely it made me realise how unsettled I am in my own hopefully be back at the end of the year or next! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flylikeabird2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in Forge Cottage for a week and it was perfect for our little family (2 adults and 1 toddler). The cottage has been very tastefully decorated and is better equipped than our own home. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need (including dishwasher and washer/dryer), our bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot and powerful and there was an excellent cot. The cottage is full of character with the old forge retained in the centre of the kitchen/living area but converted into a lovely dining table. Although the cottage is set away from the main part of the farm it was only a short walk to visit all the animals and Jose (the owner) invited us to help feed the lambs one evening which was fun. With the availablility of outdoor toys in the garden at the farm it was just perfect for our little daughter. We would definitely look to return to Nettlecombe Farm again for future Isle of Wight holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bryz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I have a feeling that we may be returning to Nettlecombe Farm for many years to come! The location is stunning and is set in rolling hills and with access to all the island has to offer. The farm itself could not have been more perfect for young children (22 months and 4 years) and, when we were on the farm, they played happily outside for hours. There was so much to occupy them from the variety of animals (Alpacas, reindeer, peacocks, chickens, rabbits, donkeys and many more) to the children play areas and the football pitch. The first thing they wanted to do when they woke up was head straight outside to say hello to the animals and they were even given the opportunity to feed the lambs. it was like we were living on our very own children's farm park but had the animals all to ourselves. There is a bridleway running through the farm which is ideal for exploring the surrounding countryside.

We were given such a warm welcome by the owner Jose as she showed us to our accomodation. We stayed in Robin which is a maze of stairs and hidden doorways which the children loved. The barn is sympathetically converted and furnished to high standard, it also contains everything you need for a week away with young children, even down to the plastic cutlery and plates. The other advantage of Robin is that it overlooks the younger children's playground and so we were able to sit back and relax knowing that they had the freedom to play in a safe environment.

The location is excellent for the local attractions and we wish we could have stayed on the Island longer as we ran out of time to do all that we had on our list. We cycled to the local pub in the village and the food and service was very good and we would recommend it.

If you are thinking of booking a holiday to the Isle of Wight then do not hesitate to choose Nettlecombe Farm. We certainly feel like it is a hidden gem and are already planning our return visit (Grandparents in tow).

Room Tip: Robin if you have young children to keep an eye on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our first holiday with our 20-month old son and we couldn't have picked a better location, or week for weather. The Barley cottage was cosy, comfortable and had everything we needed as well as our own garden. Most people when they go away can't wait to get back to their own bed but the beds here are so comfy! The play areas were fantastic and meant we didn't have to rush out every morning as there were things to occupy Samuel on the site. The setting was so tranquil and idyllic. Local pub in Whitwell had great food, local store in Niton excellent and to top it off our nearest beach was Steephill Cove, bit of a trek with a buggy (no road leading to it) but worth it! Great beach for toddlers and tasty crab pasties! Will definitely be returning. Loved it!

Room Tip: Barley cottage great as has it's own private garden overlooking the fishing lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
1.9 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
2.3 mi away
No24 Ventnor
No24 Ventnor
#2 of 7 in Ventnor
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmede Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Nettlecombe Lane, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitwell
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Nettlecombe Farm is an idyllic dog friendly farm stay that offers luxurious self-catering holiday cottages that can sleep families from 3 up to 10 on the stunning Isle of Wight. There are excellent facilities for children including three large grassed play areas and a petting farm with a wide variety of animals including reindeer, alpacas and donkeys (to name just a few!). Nettlecombe Farm is a working farm, nestled in the heart of rolling countryside, which you may not want to leave once you arrive. During your stay families can join the morning feeding tours on the farm, experiencing a day in the life of a farmer. These unique tours take place from April until September (Monday to Friday). Guests also have full use of three fishing lakes and can take part in weekly yoga & Pilates sessions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing