We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location , great for families in a farm setting.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peaceful location , great for families in a farm setting.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Good quality cottage, well furnished and equipped in a very quiet and secluded setting.
We booked Corner cottage with 4 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and 2 en suites for a repeat visit with our family.
There is a new BBQ and large outside wooden table and chairs.
Parking for 2 cars is beside the property.
There are 2 good children's playgrounds set amid a range of animals pens. You are invited to help feed the animals during the morning farmer's round.
There are also 3 large fishing lakes on the farm.
There is a casual booking in system with the cottage open when you arrive.
Slight moans include the squeaky wooden floors, some mould smells in the downstairs cupboards and no wifi.
Nearby is Blackgang Chime park with a range of activities and a free return or 7 days. The new dinosaur interactive displays have just opened.
We also visited the Needles park with its famous sands, glass blowing and sweet making displays.
There are lots of opportunities to get up close with animals- Amazon world, Sandown zoo, Owl and Monkey Haven and Coleman's Farm.
There is wifi in the White Hart in Niton, Spyglass Inn Ventnor, the Met restaurant Ventnor, Bugle pub Yarmouth ( which also has great food and good service next to the Lymington to Yarmouth ferry).
Also recommended for good value family dining is the Hare and Hound pub.
Nettlecombe has a range of cottages with various bedrooms but all have the peaceful setting and family friendly style.


Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    24
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The sign of a good business is putting things right when something goes wrong. We were disappointed when we arrived to find no one in reception and the cottage locked. It also became evident that it had not been cleaned and the beds have not been made. What emerged was that the proprietor had had an accident, but cleaners were quickly summoned from the next village. What is more we were give an excellent basket of goodies the next day by way of apology which we didn't expect but was much appreciated.
The accommodation was ideal for a large family group with a very large living room and the bedrooms and bathrooms opening off a long corridor. The kitchen was very well appointed. It's a long time since I have stayed in self catering and standards have risen considerably. It's a beautiful location and the children enjoyed the animals ranging from reindeer to goats. Possibly the heating was a little too efficient and we had to turn it off from time to time, but perhaps we would have got the hang of it on a longer visit. I certainly hope that we will return, perhaps in a warmer month than February.
The nearby village has an excellent pub for meals. The access road is single track and needs care given that there is a fair amount of traffic to the hamlet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just returned from a February weekend yoga retreat at the farm with carol macartney - amazing yoga from a very special teacher, idyllic venue - stunning views amazing hospitality from Lizzie her mum and William :) warm comfy cottages and beds and underfloor heating in the yoga barn which is lush for early morning meditation! - and brilliantly delicious and healthy homecooked food by carols über chef mum- it was all perfect and I cannot wait for the next one - thank you so much carol, lizzie, Jill and Robbie - you are the dream team ! Xx

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ls0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Beautifully furnished cottages set on a farm just a few miles from many lovely attractions and the beach at Ventor. Having stayed many times with our children who love the freedom, play area and animals as well as the lovely accommodation and proximity to the beach - we would strongly recommend a visit to Nettlecombe Farm. The cottages suit families perfectly as well as a recent yoga retreat and use of the lovely yoga barn on site. All of the cottages are so well kitted out and are clean and luxurious. Great attention to detail and better than many hotels.
Great to use a base to explore or even to stay close to the farm and nearby village just a walk down to the local pub which serves great food. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are lovely pending number of bedrooms needed. Corner cottage our favourite as hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kldub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

After fishing at the 3 super lakes in the past we were very excited ( especially after reading all the excellent reviews on the cottages ) to be able to book the Forge Cottage for a weeks stay. The description of luxury accommodation unfortunately did not meet our expectations. On first appearance the garden to the Cottage was disgraceful. The leaves hadn't been swept for I don't know how long, the flower bed was full of weeds and dead flowers, and as for the table and chairs well they were just not usable, the green moss covering and dirt on them was an eyesore. It was such a shame as the weather was kind to us and sitting outside to chill would have been lovely. The boiler was very noisy, the shower didn't adjust and the outside night light didn't work although the owner did say the electrician would be around to fix it but this never happened. One other thing, they say they supply towels, I really do feel 1 bath towel each for a whole week and only 1 hand towel between 3 adults was an insult.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nettlecombe, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Gill,
We are so very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at Nettlecombe Farm.
However we do really wish that you had mentioned something to us during your stay rather than letting us know publically after you had departed, as we would have done our very best to resolve your issues. We really had no idea you were not happy during your stay or had encountered any problems.

We do state our complaints policy clearly in our terms and conditions (item 13) that you may have overlooked?
Nettlecombe Farm Terms & Conditions: http://www.nettlecombefarm.co.uk/stay/81/Terms_&_Conditions.php

"Should you encounter any problems however small during your stay then please inform the proprietors immediately and we will do our best to rectify them for you. This includes any items that you believe to be missing from the property. Please do not wait until the end or after your tenancy, as it will be too late to put things right for you. Complaints received after your holiday will not be accepted if we have not had prior notification."

Regardless of this we always encourage feedback from our guests so that we can make continuous improvements here at Nettlecombe Farm so thank you for your post.

In direct response to the issues you have raised...

Outside Light - We can only apologise for our electrician not coming to fix the outside light, despite doing our very best to get him here - his schedule is very busy and despite his best intentions he never actually made it until the weekend despite our constant nagging..

Towels - we do actually only supply one house towel per person and hand towels in both the kitchen and bathrooms. We are very conscious of our environmental impact here at Nettlecombe Farm and also remind you that we are self-catering and not a hotel. We have never had any issues raised around this before and if guests have ever wanted more towels or linen then they simply come and ask us and we provide more FOC from our laundry store - we only wish you had asked as we could have very easily resolved this for you. We will however take on board this feedback and make it clearer in our information packs that guest’s only he to ask if they would like more towels or linen.

Nettlecombe Farm Environmental Policy http://www.nettlecombefarm.co.uk/farm/130/Environmental_Policy.php

Garden / Outside area - given it is autumn time the garden will of course be in a more natural state, especially with the falling leaves. Also we are towards the end of a busy season so the outside furniture will have been well used during the summer. However taken on board we will instruct our gardener to devote more time to Forge Cottage.

Boiler - again first time we had heard from anyone that the boiler was noisy? It is only 3 years old so should not be at all! I will get our plumber in to have a look at it.

As I say Gill we are equally disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, please accept our offer of a long weekend stay (during our short breaks season) at Nettlecombe Farm free of charge to make up for your inconvenience and we do really hope that you will enjoy your next stay here at Nettlecombe as much as all the other people here who have kindly posted reviews on trip advisor and our high percentage of guests who return year after year.

Best Wishes
Nettlecombe Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We (a couple and toddler) spent a long weekend at Wren cottage last month and agree completely with EmmaSurrey's review. I was delighted with how freshly decorated, clean and superbly fitted out the cottage was. It was also much more spacious than we expected - our little boy had lots of room to run around indoors and having the small enclosed garden outside meant we could relax whenever the front door was open.

The equipment in the cottage all seems spanking new and excellent - powerful shower, dishwasher, washer/dryer, cooker, separate freezer. It felt like we were one of the first people to rent the property. The folding wooden cot provided was in very good condition and there was a lot of attention to detail e.g. providing socket covers, tea towels and hand towel, lots of kitchen tools.

And of course, outside was a private children's farm which our toddler loved. He would have been very happy spending all day seeing the rabbits, chickens, ducks, donkeys, goats, pig, reindeer, etc. and playing in the play area (ride on tractor, slide, wendy house...). Probably worth bringing an old towel with you to dry the dew/mist off the slides in the morning and look out for the animals being fed about 7-8am.

Nearby is Blackgang Chine which is £12.50 each for adults offseason and you can go back every day for a week.

Other good places to go with small people: the White Lion in Niton (nearby village) which has a bouncy castle (at least until mid September) and free children's meals, or the sister pub The Bugle in Brading which has the same offer and an indoor ballpit/softplay area.

We had already booked to come back to Wren next year for a bigger holiday with more of our extended family and all weekend I kept saying, I'm SO glad we're coming here again in May!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My 6-year old & I have just returned from a fabulous week at this farm, staying in the perfectly appointed Wren cottage. I feel like I've had a month away due to the peace & quiet I experienced at the farm!! Wren cottage was decked out with everything you could need for a holiday and it was spotlessly clean, with lovely sheets & towels. We had a lovely time every day visiting the animals and playing on the play equipment before heading off to explore all that the island has to offer. I love the South side of the island and Nettlecombe farm is no more than 15 minutes from the nearest beach (Ventnor) and no more than 30 minutes to pretty much all the attractions on the island. We are booking for next summer already and can't wait to return!! I can't praise Nettlecombe Farm highly enough - and I'm one of the fussiest people to please!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Wren (1-bed) but all of the cottages are different sized and provide accommodation suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitwell
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
9.7 mi away
Woodside Coastal Retreat
Woodside Coastal Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wootton Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Nettlecombe Lane, Whitwell PO38 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Whitwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Whitwell
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Nettlecombe Farm is an idyllic dog friendly farm stay that offers luxurious self-catering holiday cottages that can sleep families from 3 up to 10 on the stunning Isle of Wight. There are excellent facilities for children including three large grassed play areas and a petting farm with a wide variety of animals including reindeer, alpacas and donkeys (to name just a few!). Nettlecombe Farm is a working farm, nestled in the heart of rolling countryside, which you may not want to leave once you arrive. During your stay families can join the morning feeding tours on the farm, experiencing a day in the life of a farmer. These unique tours take place from April until September (Monday to Friday). Guests also have full use of three fishing lakes and can take part in weekly yoga & Pilates sessions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages Isle Of Wight/Whitwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing