We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest House Magnolia
Ranked #2 of 13 Viseu de Sus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wonderful hostess - friendly and made very tasty breakfasts and dinners for us with traditional romanian food.
2 sweet little dogs that we played with were lovely.
Rooms clean and very comfortable.
Beautiful setting in the countryside, good walks around the area up hills looking over the city and other hills.
Great location for seeing the wooden churches of maramures.
Good parking facilities.
Best hotel we stayed in in Romania.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wat4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Access to location is a bit difficult, but the house is excellent located in a place away from noise and lovely views. The service is impeccable and traditional food, prepared with products from own household, is very good and plentiful. The hosts are very hospitable and offer tips for tourists. We lived in twin room, we found it clean with relaxing beds and a very large balcony. Here we have two small observations for hosts: odor from animals and sink a little inaccessible. Otherwise, I found the ideal location where we could relax after each trip made in the beautiful area of Maramures.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananutei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My girlfriend and I travelled to Viseu de Sus to get a feel for the birthplace of my grandmother and to relax, away from a busy London life. The Bersan family made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home, handmade by Versile (the father), with fantastic authentic food, genuine interest and sensitive care. Upon our request Dan (the son and manager) went to some trouble to organise bicycles for us and put on a great barbecue on our last night. The mother Ioana was so kind and provided us with varied traditional food from the family farm all week. It was great to meet Dan's wife Ana, brother Adrian and grandparents (who still worked all day on the farm at the age of 86!) on our last night too. Dan's sister Oana took a lot of time to help us rediscover my roots and gave us opportunities to have a really magic week by introducing us to her friend Dan who worked at the Mocanita (last steam train used for logging in Europe - a worthwile trip) and Elephant Cafe (Jewish Museum). We had the perfect week in a beautiful country, largely thanks to the Bersan's, a very special family. Cannot recommend this enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlickandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

It was a perfect holiday...the location is great, quiet and the guesthouse very kind. They make delicious food. Rooms are large, clean, shower with lights and radio
If you want to relax, this place is perfect.

Thank you again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Guest House Magnolia is a wonderful and surprising place to stay!
We were amazed and so much pleased by the host hospitality and kindness; we felt papered and like home.

The house is situated in an idyllic place, in the middle of an orchard. Do not get scared by the distance from the main road to the actual place! This distance will offer you the piece and quietness we all dream of when we search for such places. No traffic noise, just you and nature away from it all.

The house is not big but offers you everything you need: very good and comfortable rooms, a great terrace where you can relax and play with the owner's cats and dog :-) Everything in the middle of nature.

We were treated very nice by wonderful people who really care about their guests!. The food was very tasty, breakfast and dinner, most of the products being from the owner's production. Everything was fresh and so good.

Unfortunately every good thing comes to an end, but we will definitely come back really soon.

Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oviedo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in Magnolia Guesthouse during our journey across Romania, a really nice place to stay, the environment, the cosy rooms, the food and the treatment received was really good. Highly recommended place to stay at if you visit the area, you will feel like being at home. If you are thinking about visiting the area I would definitely recommend it. Wifi connection incl.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights and everything was perfect : quiet , in the middle of nature but having everything you need . The room was very nice , especially the furniture made by the owner himself . Food was great , we gained 3 kg each :) and the host extremely nice . We would like to thank especially Mrs Ioana , who took care that everybody is satisfied .

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice , but if you are looking for a terrace you could choose the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viseu de Sus
3.5 mi away
Pensiunea Iza
Pensiunea Iza
#1 of 1 in Viseu de Jos
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirage Resort
Mirage Resort
#1 of 1 in Viseu de Sus
23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Landhaus
Vila Landhaus
#6 of 13 in Viseu de Sus
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Cassa
La Cassa
#1 of 13 in Viseu de Sus
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pensiunea Agnes
Pensiunea Agnes
#3 of 13 in Viseu de Sus
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#5 of 13 in Viseu de Sus
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Magnolia

Property: Guest House Magnolia
Address: Arsita 90, Viseu de Sus 435700, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Viseu de Sus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Viseu de Sus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house Magnolia, located above Viseu de Sus, offers a rural idyll with all comforts. All rooms are furnished modernly with furniture from our family's carpentry shop and have a minibar and TV. The bathrooms are equipped with shower, toilet and hairdryer. The surrounding area offers peace and quiet as well as fresh air and a superb panoramic view of the city of Viseu de Sus and the environment. Magnolia House was opened in spring 2009. Most attractions of the city Viseu de Sus are located within a short 10-15 minutes by car or 20-30 minutes by foot along a beautiful path. In the outer court there is a leisure area which includes: playground for children, arbor, green spaces where you can practice different sports. The unique architecture of the building, the magnificent environment, as well as human warmth of the hosts are only a few of the reasons why our guests return to Magnolia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guest House Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing