We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility!!!!”
Review of Mann Cat Sanctuary

Mann Cat Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Santon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mann Cat Sanctuary is a registered charity in the Isle of Man, No. 705. It is a safe haven for neglected and unwanted cats. We operate a strict non-destruct policy, unless an animal is suffering from a terminal illness or has injuries that are beyond veterinary help. If you don't like old age and imperfection then this is not the place to visit! We Welcome visitors during the summer on Wednesday and Sunday from 2pm-5pm. The entrance fee is a six pack of cat food!
Handforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility!!!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Manncat Sanctuary is a place that oozes a lovely feeling of peace, as soon as you make your way around the back of the farm the cats sense humans coming and run to be the first to be fussed and hugged, sit down on one of the benches and you can be covered head to toe in cats of all colours and sizes, they are so adorable, enter into the main cat house (the conservatory) and there will be many more just lying on their blankets sleeping or just chilling to the sound of very relaxing music which is always put on for them, a lot of them have arrived there after having bad starts to their lives but the people who work for Sanctuary are the cats healers, they take them to be checked over and treated by the Vet called Ruth, also at the Sanctuary they have horses, donkeys, geese,hens, rabbits, dogs all these animals are free to roam and are very tolerant of each other, there is an aviary and a very large bird called Boo Boo who is definately the Boss!!!
There is no fee to pay to enter Manncat Sanctuary, but you can make a donation or take some cat food to top up supplies and there is a gift shop if you wish to buy their lovely wares that don't cost a fortune.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    6
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cat Heaven”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place is wonderful (if you like cats of course). The cats are friendly and well looked after. I visited the cat sanctuary in the early 1980s when it was in Douglas and I think this is much better, as the cats have the freedom to roam. There is not an entrance fee as such,but you can make a donation either in money or cat food. The only down side is the busy road next to it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“i know its full of cats”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

but its no different to going to a cat hoarders house. i hope it has changed since i was last there, but there is a severe lack of hard surfaces which means the smell is well held, so to speak.

Helpful?
5 Thank Blake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What a superb place to visit!! We had been watching on the webcams for a few weeks before our trip and planned a visit during our holiday. We took a 12 pack of catfood as "payment" although I think you can make a donation instead. The place is perfect and the cats all seemed happy and well cared for. You are allowed to pet the cats and as soon as we sat down we made friends - there was even on sitting on the roof of the car when we reluctantly went to leave. The staff are very caring and dedicated and it was a delight to visit. I have told many people about the sanctuary and hopefully they will visit and support them as I will continue to do. If you love cats you will love the Mann Cat Sanctuary!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cat lover approved”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I admit, I'm a big cat fan, so the cat sanctuary was bound to please, but I was so impressed by the amount of care & space the cats were afforded.
There were 280 cats, some chickens & ducks, all living together peacefully.
All cats are friendly and like the attention from visitors.
Definitely a place to take children & any cat lovers!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kari-chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mann Cat Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Mann Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing