We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why can't they get customer service right?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Why can't they get customer service right?”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I visited the bar in this hotel twice in the last week. The first time because I'd encouraged a visiting colleague to stay there, so my wife & I went across to eat with her. Because she was on expenses, we ordered at the same time but paid separately. My order actually went in first but we stressed that we wanted to eat together. Her food arrived literally twenty minutes before my wife's, with mine trailing in a further few minutes later. Apparently mine took longer...

..."because you ordered the special".

Well, here's a thought, start the fish & chips a bit later so that it is finished at the same time as "the special"... or of course, that was just a rubbish excuse? The visiting colleague wasn't impressed and said so. She got a half-baked apology. There were about four other people eating in there that night, goodness knows how they'd be if it was busy.

I've just been over this evening to watch a football match and have a few beers with my wife. There was a 'black tie' event on upstairs. They came piling down during a break of some sort, so the bar was quite busy for a while. I attempted to get served for another couple of pints. Waiting for literally five minutes while the lady next to me ordered a large round, the bar-staff couldn't possibly have not seen me. As the woman finished her round and paid, another guy in a dickie-bow tie walked up on the other side of her, the bar-staff glanced at me and turned to serve the bloke in the suit. I went and sat back down without a drink, watched the end of the football and left.

Over the years, I've visited here many times because it is handy but I've steadily gone there less and less because you can not guarantee decent service. I doubt I'll be back in a hurry and I will no longer be recommending visiting colleagues stay there. Which is a shame.

PS The food is three star quality but far more expensive than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iom_keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    69
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
34
47
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here many times and reviewed in the past thought I'd post my latest views.
Excellent night sleep in the four poster suite. Lasagna was very tasty as well and garlic bread lush in the bar.
Good refurb taking place.
Thoroughly enjoyed my night stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NyallM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have stayed here many times and found the hotel staff very freindly and helpful.
The rooms are a good size and reasonably decorated.
The food is good but there are plently of decent restaraunts around the Island which should be tried.
Avoid rooms 1 - 10, they are in the same corridors as the gym etc., with keep fit classes above and going on past 10pm it is not very relaxing. They are also the ones with views of retaining walls.
So best phone and check.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 - 10. Most of the other rooms are in an ajoining annex but are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydOfMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just back from two nights B & B. Room was very good however I only had view of brick wall but as I knew I would only sleep in room was not bothered but if you want some sort of view you would have to have a room on level 3 and above. Breakfast choice was excellant and staff were on the ball. Had dinner within the hotel bar on one of the nights, which I enjoyed and thought the prices were reasonable. Used the swimming pool and hydro pool four times during my stay. Pool was not the biggest but did the job. The canon within the hydro pool is well worth a shot. I felt it really helped my shoulders. On the downside shower area needs updating and please be aware that the pool area has no disabled access. I could not see any and staff confirmed no disabled access to pool.
Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want some kind of view avoid rooms below level 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a coach party for 6 nights. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was good.The only downside if you don't have your own transport you are stuck in the evening although you could use the leisure facilities.We did not find this a problem as after a day sight seeing and a jolly good meal we jsut wanted to relax.The standard of cleanliness was good and we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front where there may be a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank france036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight on 02/09/12 and booked this overnight stay last minute to celebrate our relationship, seeing as we held our wedding at this hotel 5 years ago. We were terribly disappointed with no hot water on the Sunday night and Monday morning, so only wash we got was a swim Sunday afternoon. We complained on both occasions and were told the boiler had to be reset.

To make matters worse, we went for breakfast Monday morning and my partner asked for coffee. When it came it tasted of tea as it was in a tea pot. We asked for another coffee explaining to the waitress who appeared to have a poor understanding of English that the coffee tasted of tea, only to be brought a cup of hot water and a tea bag. We asked for a further coffee and was brought this in a tea pot again, tasting of tea. After complaining to a 'supervisor' about this, we were told they had few coffee pots and had to resort to using tea pots! There was no offer of an instant coffee or latte, the supervisor simply walked away uninterested.

Having read the previous good reviews, I would say I am not the kind to always complain and can only think that some of the older residents visiting on coach trips may be used to lower standards! I did complain to the hotel manager upon leaving and told him I would consider other local hotels in the future, he seemed uninterested and allowed my complaint to just 'linger' before I walked away disgusted.

Beware if you are expecting a 4 star hotel as the standards are clearly slipping!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent a week here in June 2012. We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the lake. Room above average size, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Excellent breakfasts. Our only problem was a bar meal one evening when we had to wait almost an hour for our food which arrived cold and inedible. The restaurant manager appeared swiftly, apologised, and we settled on an alternative meal which arrived promptly accompanied by 2 complimentary large glasses of wine.
I was content with the handling of the problem and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Do avoid a car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canteloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santon
3.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
3.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
8.9 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club

Property: Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Address: Ballacutchel Road, Santon IM4 2HT
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Santon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to the Isle of Man is for business or pleasure, Mount Murray Hotel Isle of Man offers a multitude of facilities for the discerning traveller. Perfectly set in 200 acres of beautiful Manx countryside and ideally located between the airport and Douglas, this AA rated four-star Isle of Man hotel, has 90 of the largest bedrooms, superb health and fitness centre, hydrotherapy unit and indoor swimming pool.The Mount Murray is the only Isle of Man hotel with its own 18-hole championship golf course with spectacular views across the Island.Extensive conference and banqueting facilities offer a variety of suites to meet requirements for any event, be it a business presentation or a romantic wedding reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Murray Hotel And Country Club
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club Isle Of Man/Santon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing