We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service for our group” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service for our group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

60 of us stayed at the Mount Murray for 4 nights. We had set meals so couldn't comment on the restaurant service but the portions were good, the food was well cooked (if a little uninspiring) and the hotel staff were all exceptionally helpful and accommodating, especially Jackie the Conference Manager and Chrissie who supervised the breakfast area. Nothing was too much trouble, even the very late arrival of our ferry didn't cause a panic and our guests were all settled in their rooms and had a good carvery and buffet meal within an hour of arriving. Some of the rooms needed maintenance during our stay but these were mainly carried out swiftly. We did receive a couple of mentions about the noise coming from the gym in a couple of rooms but overall our clients seemed pleased with the hotel. As organisers we were impressed overall by the attention to detail.

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    69
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
47
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

After 2 nights disturbed sleep for us, please come here prepared. Earplugs. The bedroom doors slam like nowhere else. Security closing devices unchecked by unwitting or thoughtless guests.If your room overlooks the car park then expect the worst. If its Saturday night there will be at least one wedding. You MUST be end of corridor away from the stairs/lift, or else.
Other reports have the breakfast as accurate. It starts at 7 and cooked food is set out under heaters early. Come down at 9 and don't be surprised at what you find.
The sports complex needs cleaning. Its impressive on the website but that's years ago. I was tempted by the massive Jacuzzi. Luckily it was quiet so the placid waters were clear to see. Lurking in the bottom was a mess of black debris.
Room service was the singularly worst ever experienced.
I have paid bar prices the same, but in central London.
All that said, the way the dining room looked for the wedding was PERFECT. The hosts, speeches and hospitality were peerless. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable. A demand for feather pillows, an ironing board and fan were met promptly. The duty manager, John Hampton, even offered the fan from his own office, sadly it could not be found. Our room on the 5th floor was stifling in 23 degrees as the windows don't open properly. Other reports speak of "cold rooms". In winter I can imagine that as friends on lower floors spoke of being cool and on their floor the central heating was working while we cooked upstairs. We will definitely not be back despite the warm hospitality of our hosts.

Room Tip: You must face away from the car park. In summer lower floors are cool as there is no aircon. I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Port St Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Fantastic staff and room good, overall a very pleasurable time, the fitness suit and pool area are looking in need of some care and attention, but all in ok.
Food very good and service quick and pleasant.

Would recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here as part of a group touring Isle of Man and would definitely stay here again. Apart from a problem with our groups' room key distribution when we arrived(no plastic keys in any of the info envelopes) which rather took the shine off our welcome I cannot fault the hotel or its staff in any way. Rooms were large and very comfortable as was the bathroom and the meals in the restaurant were excellent - unless you happened to be a veggie when the dinner menu seemed planned mainly round pasta dishes. However there were enough items on the salad area to put together an adequate meal. Restaurant staff were attentive and courteous at all times.
Although I understand the hotel was full to capacity for part of our stay this was not noticeable to us and service did not suffer.

Room Tip: try to avoid annexe room on lower level which will have hedge or stone wall immediately outside wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Chose this hotel thanks to reviews on here and for its facilities. We were delighted with our choice. Had a lovely week, stayed in the annexe was very comfortable room, plenty choice for breakfast and bar meals (did not try the resteraunt). We made a change to our booking towards the end of the week which was not a problem and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Annexe room overlooking lake and ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A lovely hotel set in beautiful countryside at reasonable rates - and if you are into golf, a course with the hotel.
Breakfast was very good, staff were friendly and efficient. I am unable to say how they handle complaints, because I didnt have any.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times and I have to say I was disappointed. The hotel is on a golf course and has a nice sized pool so you would think it would be pretty good. The hotel staff are charming. Unfortunately the hotel itself is dated and needs a serious renovation. Be aware however that the choices on the Isle of Man are limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santon
3.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
3.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club

Property: Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Address: Ballacutchel Road, Santon IM4 2HT
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Santon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to the Isle of Man is for business or pleasure, Mount Murray Hotel Isle of Man offers a multitude of facilities for the discerning traveller. Perfectly set in 200 acres of beautiful Manx countryside and ideally located between the airport and Douglas, this AA rated four-star Isle of Man hotel, has 90 of the largest bedrooms, superb health and fitness centre, hydrotherapy unit and indoor swimming pool.The Mount Murray is the only Isle of Man hotel with its own 18-hole championship golf course with spectacular views across the Island.Extensive conference and banqueting facilities offer a variety of suites to meet requirements for any event, be it a business presentation or a romantic wedding reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Murray Hotel And Country Club
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club Isle Of Man/Santon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing