We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Good and will use again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good and will use again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

After reading some disparaging reviews on tripadvisor I was concerned about my decision to book a colleague and I into this hotel. I was unable to get into the usual hotel they used, which was the Sefton. The hotel and country club is set in nice grounds with a lake. The first impressions upon entering reception was that it was relaxed and inviting and the receptionist, Jane, was most friendly and helpful. My room was on the 5th floor, access out through reception and across into another building but no real hardship despite it being windy and cold and at least it was under cover. The hotel is still undergoing refurbishment and the halls were being painted. New red carpets, doors and radiators and the lighting was, as per other reviews, a tad dim as the eco lights came on as you passed along the corridor. My room was very spacious and the bed huge and comfortable. Free wifi easy to access, always a must for a business traveller. Great Samsung wall mounted slim flat screen TV. The room was cold but a wall heater, when switched on dare I say, solve that issue. The bathroom was clean and spacious but had one of those auto hair dryers, not my cup of tea but hey it worked. The bathroom was cold and that was the only niggle. We ate in the main restaurant and the meal was exceptionally good! We both chose steaks a fillet and a rib eye and both were cooked to perfection. However, the best thing about this hotel were, without question, the staff. They have to be THE most friendly, witty and funny hotel staff I have encountered and made the stay all the more memorable. So much so my colleague has booked again for next month and will continue to use it on a regular basis whilst over on business.

Room Tip: I can only say that my room at the far end of the corridor on 5th floor was nice and quiet. Maybe as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NpbTudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    69
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
47
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

To me it looks as if the initial "Dream" of Mount Murry Hotel & Country Club is starting to fade and is becoming a bit jaded. The rooms are clean, tidy and functional but the general ambience is getting a bit tired. This said the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. A good base for touring the Island but just a bit far out of Douglas. About £10 to £12 for a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Needs completely re doing, gym awful. Badly planned and laid out. Pool cold, hydro therapy pool appalling , sauna and steam room not working, when complained, told by owner a Mr Goobay to go and have a hot bath, truly a very bad experience

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I took an opportunity to see the Isle of Man for the first time in my life. I booked 3 nights at what claims to be the IoM's best hotel, taking a morning plane out from Manchester and an evening plane back, giving me 4 usable days. The Mount Murray doesn't do checkins until 2pm, which gave me no opportunity to go anywhere on the first afternoon. However it has a good gym, free to hotel guests, so I was able to put in an hour there. It's also not near any restaurants or pubs, so my only option for lunch and dinner on the first day was the hotel itself. The food is goodish but not great, (room ditto). However the price of meals and drinks was not as bad as on the mainland at similar hotels, and it is only 5 minutes' walk to get a bus, which is about half-hourly. The place is secluded, and there is a swimming pool and a golf course.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidblaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed there for a friends wedding. The bedrooms are quite a generous size, but they are very out dated and dreary. The beds are standard doubles (4 foot 6 inches wide) so they look quite lost in the room. Low voltage economy bulbs made the room seem even more dreary. Only hard tub chair's to sit in, why not a sofa in such a large room? No pictures on our wall just a mark where one had been. The other room my family had looked like the store room had been raided and some odd furniture had been thrown in. We were glad to stay only one night, and would hate to stay there any longer, no comfort to be found. I find it hard to believe it is the Islands Premier Hotel it is in dire need of refurbishment.
The food (all of it) also very lack lustre. Not really up to 4* standard.
The reception area has so many lights, but was still dull and cavern like and unwelcoming.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the refurbished rooms if staying for more that one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at the Mount Murray for 2 weeks for work. It’s a golf estate/county hotel. The décor is of old lavish style with burgundy and beautiful wood furniture. The Wi-Fi was great for business travel. The rooms are a bit dark but other than that the room décor was tasteful, updated with new carpets and a flat screen TV. The TV bouquet is however very limited.

The breakfast buffet had a great selection, even kippers and haddock. I never had dinner there, so no comment there. Overall it was a lovely stay. The hotel was about 15 min away from the airport and 15 min away from Douglas (capital city). So there was a bit of traffic in the mornings. Just one thing about the Isle of Man, the weather can change from sunshine to rain, from hot to cold in 10 min. So come well prepared.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDutches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I went to book this hotel for this month for the family through an Isle of Man based travel agent. 2 Adults and 2 kids (10 and 15 years old). Our typical holiday would involve a pre-breakfast swim followed by an adventurous day.

However I had to cancel my plans as the Hotel policy for the Leisure Centre is NO CHILDREN. This was right through the week at any time, not at a particular hour during the weekend or day where I understand members might want it to themselves.

We queried this as having stayed in Hotels and resort Hotels all over the UK, we have never experienced the like of it! The response from the Mount Murray was clear and unambiguous. NO CHILDREN. Clearly if this their policy and culture I would expect it is reflected throughout the Hotel and as such any Families who book at this Hotel will most likely be disappointed.

I note that any positive family reviews are all adults. Any with children have been disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shels4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santon
3.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
3.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club

Property: Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club
Address: Ballacutchel Road, Santon IM4 2HT
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Santon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to the Isle of Man is for business or pleasure, Mount Murray Hotel Isle of Man offers a multitude of facilities for the discerning traveller. Perfectly set in 200 acres of beautiful Manx countryside and ideally located between the airport and Douglas, this AA rated four-star Isle of Man hotel, has 90 of the largest bedrooms, superb health and fitness centre, hydrotherapy unit and indoor swimming pool.The Mount Murray is the only Isle of Man hotel with its own 18-hole championship golf course with spectacular views across the Island.Extensive conference and banqueting facilities offer a variety of suites to meet requirements for any event, be it a business presentation or a romantic wedding reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Murray Hotel And Country Club
Mount Murray Hotel & Country Club Isle Of Man/Santon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing