We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of Ballathona Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andreas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballathona Farm
Cambs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I cannot recommend Ballathona highly enough. My sisters and my mum stayed for a couple of nights. Beds were unbelievably comfortable. Surrounding area is beautiful and the view whilst eating breakfast, breathtaking. Gill and Paul are truly lovely people. If we go back then there's only one place we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluenoseCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
louisemcbridechris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Although the location is a little out from Ramsey, this is such a picturesque place to stay it is well worth it
We got lost on our way there, our fault! And had to ring the owner to come and get us...we felt awful but the owners couldnt have made us feel more welcome

The rooms were great. We had booked two between 4 adults and one room had 3 beds in so could have accomodated one more. The rooms were very modern and big. Lovely large bathroom with toiletries in, the little things like cotton buds show this is more than a business to the couple who own the farm, they really went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable

Also as well as having ensuite bathrooms with our lovely large bedrooms, there was a living room and dinning room specifically for guest. One evening we came back to the living room and watched sky tv and sat in lovely comfy couches!
We ate our breakfast every morning in the conservatory which looked out on to the farm grounds, lovely views!
Breakfast was lovely as well. Continental style including wide choice of cereals, toast and crossiants made fresh, still warm! Jams, cheese, fresh meats, tea, coffee and juices.

Would love to stay here again and if we visit the Isle of Man, Ballathona Farm will definately be our choice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisemcbridechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We went to the island to visit friends and this was the best place to stay, in the North, that I could find on the internet. It was exactly as described on the website only better. Our rom had a view of the sea from one window and a view of the mountains from the other. We were welcomed by Gill who made us a cup of tea along with some biscuits. The room was spacious and comfortable with a very large bed. A substantial Continental Breakfast was served by Paul who always asked if we wanted any more toast or tea. Service was very good!
It did rain quite a bit during our stay so after breakfast we availed ourselves of the 50 inch TV in the lounge for a time. It was a really great place and we were pleased to celebrate out 47th wedding anniversary there. Thanks Paul and Gill.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but room 3 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjoan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Ideally placed for those walking the Way of the Gull, at the end of a longish haul either from Ramsey or Peel. Facilities are excellent, with lounge and conservatory available for relaxation. Very peaceful and quiet location, and good views. By way of a change for the hearty breakfast eater, they currently do only continental breakfasts, but the choice was fine and amply sufficient, and was well presented.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick NJ USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Comfortable, charming and spotless, Ballathona Farm is all that one could wish in a bed and breakfast. Our spacious room had a spectacular view over the pastures and out to sea. On a clear day, we could see Scotland on the horizon. The lounge and conservatory (also with great views) offered all you could expect, including free wireless internet. Our hosts were friendly and a great help in planning our activities. Upon reserving we were sent meticulous directions to the farm from the airport and a menu sheet so that we could pre-request our breakfast items. The Isle of Mann has lots to offer tourists. We started at the lighthouse near the tip of the island (not too far from the bed and breakfast) and drove the coastline down to the Castleton area, stopping along the way countless times for photo ops and sightseeing. But we could but scratch the surface of the countless pleasures of the island.
Note: Ballathona Farm also has a charming self-catering cottage for those who have the time to stay a bit longer. I cannot think of a nicer place to stay!

Room Tip: We had room #1 and loved it-but all were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SForney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzburg, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had a wonderful week in the cottage. It has everything you could wish for. Well-equipped kitchen, spacious bathrooms and better beds than at home. Paul and Gill make every effort to let you achieve a wonderful stay. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Had 4 days in this lovely farm house. . . It is the nicest accomodation that we have stayed in. The beds were luxorious, the rooms were filled with everything that you may need, the breakfasts were plentiful and the whole place felt so homely. It was a pleasure to return to each evening. Paul and Jill are lovely people and will do anything to make sure your stay is exactly as you want it to be . . . .
If you want to relax - then look no further - this is the place to be . . . . We hope to return soon ...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaffyDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ballathona Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathona Farm

Property: Ballathona Farm
Address: The Lhen, Andreas IM7 3EH
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Andreas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Andreas
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing