We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballathona Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andreas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballathona Farm
Cheshire, Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We used the bed and breakfast as a base recently while visiting the Isle of Man. We found the farm to be in a quiet and pretty location approximately 15mins from the seaside town of Ramsey. We had sea views from the large and comfortably furnished bedroom with a spotless and large en-suite bath/shower room.
We had access to a large lounge area with huge Tv, although we never used it, choosing to get out and about instead. Breakfast was lovely and our host was charming and friendly.
Thankfully we were given very detailed instructions on how to find the farm when we booked, as our satnav didn't recognise the postcode.
If you want a base on the island to explore then this farm is perfect and a car is essential.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonassola, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We wanted to explore the Isle of Man and at the first glance we choose Ballathona Farm as perfect destination. The result has been well beyond expectations. The breakfast has been perfect and the courtesy of Paul and Gill has been the fulfillment of an already perfect environment. The room has to classified in the luxury class, with a astonishing view on the Irish Sea, green fields pointed with white sheeps.
Silence is guaranteed and parking is just on front of the house. A great experience to be repeated as soon as possible. Thank you Paul and Gill!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed for the weekend whilst attending a family wedding, Ballathona Farm was perfect, massive comfy beds with excellent en-suite, plenty to eat at breakfast and what a fantastic setting, will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acnut8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I cannot recommend Ballathona highly enough. My sisters and my mum stayed for a couple of nights. Beds were unbelievably comfortable. Surrounding area is beautiful and the view whilst eating breakfast, breathtaking. Gill and Paul are truly lovely people. If we go back then there's only one place we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluenoseCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisemcbridechris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Although the location is a little out from Ramsey, this is such a picturesque place to stay it is well worth it
We got lost on our way there, our fault! And had to ring the owner to come and get us...we felt awful but the owners couldnt have made us feel more welcome

The rooms were great. We had booked two between 4 adults and one room had 3 beds in so could have accomodated one more. The rooms were very modern and big. Lovely large bathroom with toiletries in, the little things like cotton buds show this is more than a business to the couple who own the farm, they really went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable

Also as well as having ensuite bathrooms with our lovely large bedrooms, there was a living room and dinning room specifically for guest. One evening we came back to the living room and watched sky tv and sat in lovely comfy couches!
We ate our breakfast every morning in the conservatory which looked out on to the farm grounds, lovely views!
Breakfast was lovely as well. Continental style including wide choice of cereals, toast and crossiants made fresh, still warm! Jams, cheese, fresh meats, tea, coffee and juices.

Would love to stay here again and if we visit the Isle of Man, Ballathona Farm will definately be our choice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisemcbridechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We went to the island to visit friends and this was the best place to stay, in the North, that I could find on the internet. It was exactly as described on the website only better. Our rom had a view of the sea from one window and a view of the mountains from the other. We were welcomed by Gill who made us a cup of tea along with some biscuits. The room was spacious and comfortable with a very large bed. A substantial Continental Breakfast was served by Paul who always asked if we wanted any more toast or tea. Service was very good!
It did rain quite a bit during our stay so after breakfast we availed ourselves of the 50 inch TV in the lounge for a time. It was a really great place and we were pleased to celebrate out 47th wedding anniversary there. Thanks Paul and Gill.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but room 3 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjoan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Ideally placed for those walking the Way of the Gull, at the end of a longish haul either from Ramsey or Peel. Facilities are excellent, with lounge and conservatory available for relaxation. Very peaceful and quiet location, and good views. By way of a change for the hearty breakfast eater, they currently do only continental breakfasts, but the choice was fine and amply sufficient, and was well presented.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ballathona Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathona Farm

Property: Ballathona Farm
Address: The Lhen, Andreas IM7 3EH
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Andreas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Andreas
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing