We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing & friendly atmosphere, all wrapped up in beautiful countryside and sea views.”
Review of Ballathona Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andreas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballathona Farm
Reviewed 11 July 2010

After a very hectic year both my sister and I wanted a bit of peace & quiet and relaxation and that was certainly what we got! The accomodation was surrounded by green fields and sea views and the room we had was very comfortable. My sister and I relied on public transport to get around as we didn't take the car; but this wasn't a real problem for us. We both like to walk and the nearest village was around 3 miles away where we could easily pick a bus up to go into Ramsey and then there are many other travel connections from Ramsey. The beach is around 30 minutes walk away and on both occassions we visited was empty of people; but we was fortunate enough to spot a basking shark! So this too was a nice peaceful place to sit & relax.
We will be returning to Ballathona Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittygalore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

This place was quite a discovery - it is in the North of the island and very peaceful. The service and level of hospitality are superb and the view at breakfast time was breathtaking. We stayed in two rooms of the B&B which were both en suite, spacious and fully equipped. The wildlife is also something to see, with the birds flying over to our windows and perching on them - chatting.

It is definitely worth trying - even just once. But watch out, you may get hooked.

It is a little out of the way and you would need a car to get around but it is worth it. The local shop and post office is a 5 minute drive away.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junglecat069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This was our 2nd stay at Ballathona Farm. 1st time we stayed in the B&B, 2nd time in the cottage.
Great place to stay at and Paul & Gill are such a lovely couple, made us feel so welcome

Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
Thank matth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We would love to keep the Ballathona our little secret but feel we have to share how wonderful it was with everyone . I traveled with my Mother and adult daughter back home to the Island for 2 weeks from Canada to visit family .We found the self catering cottage at Ballathona online by chance . The pictures online looked lovely but in person it is all that and more . We felt at home from the moment we arrived ,Gill, Paul and Jazz the dog were so friendly and welcoming . The views were amazing and only a 10 minute drive into Ramsey and a hop up the road to the beach . Looked forward to coming back to our little cottage everyday after a day of being out and about .The rooms were beautiful and they thought of everything in the kitchen as well . I could not think of one thing we did not love about the cottage or the family that own it .
Without a doubt we will not be able to stay anywhere else on the island again and look forward to coming back again very soon .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharongresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

First time to Isle of Man so wasn't too sure of bearings, good places to visit etc etc. This is property is slightly out of the way being north of the island - but if you want excellent first class accommodation and peace and quiet then Ballathona Farm would be very difficult to better.
We stayed at the cottage over Easter and the property is very impressive all round. Decor is warm and modern and nothing is tired looking at all. Some serious thought has gone into all the furnishings, bedrooms etc etc. Kicthen is immaculate. Nothing was lacking. Both rooms have their own ensuite toilet and shower which is good first thing in the morning. Views are stunning and sunsets are something to behold. Unfortunately you cannot walk directly from garden towards the sea - you have to take the long route around. Good pub nearby for food and a post office / small store that stays open until 8pm each night.
This property is not on the TT course and you can easily navigate your way around any road closures during race season.

Hosts are genuine and very down to earth. Most helful and friendly. Nothing seemed to much trouble.

Property is a bit out of the way, but the extra distance to get there is very well worth it. Would be my top preference to stay during any future holiday on Isle of Man

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankiebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

For our first visit to the Isle of Man I browsed many cottages before choosing Ballathona Farm, I am so glad that I chose to stay there.

The cottage was so clean and well equipped that we wanted for nothing. From the fully equipped kitchen to the beautiful en suite bedrooms and relaxing living room with it's wood burning stove I simply could not find any fault with this cottage.

We were made to feel very welcome at this lovely place with it's quiet peaceful location, yet within easy reach of towns and villages for shopping etc.

I was so taken with the Isle of Man that I intend to return again next year.
My accommodation of choice for this return visit will be Ballathona Farm cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RikCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Ballathona Farm is set with marvellous views on all aspects. Having breakfast was a delight with views across the fields to the sea. Our hosts couldn't do enough for the guests allowing you to use most of the house as if it was your own. The decour was bright and the level of cleanliness was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Access would be difficult without a car but the North West of the island is quiet and beautiful and worth the effort. The sunsets were beautiful and you are able to walk on beaches accompanied by the seals, curious about their visitors. The wildlife is abundant and easy to spot. Overall this is a spot that is worth returning to and I would readily stay at Ballathona again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiloo2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ballathona Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathona Farm

Address: The Lhen, Andreas IM7 3EH
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Andreas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Andreas
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing