We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant for a toddler”
Review of Ballathona Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andreas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballathona Farm
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant for a toddler”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Booking on line you find you have to trust sights like this one, I found the self catering cottage to be fantastic for toddlers. Ours slept in the double bed to himself which he loved and mother and father was in the superking. Both bedrooms were well designed with ensuites the superking bedroom had the shower ensuite and the double had the bath and separate shower. Everything was there for our use even down to a hairdryer in each bedroom. All the floors were on the same level so no need for safety gates. The main road is quite a way away so no road noise. The view from the backway of the cottage is beautiful and fields for miles to look out on. Paul and Gill made us feel welcome and made themselves available if we needed anything. Overall an excellent cottage with loverly owners.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jilly1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Returned for our second visit, this time we brought our Son and his family and stayed in the cottage for the two TT weeks. As last year we found the cottage perfect and very clean throughout. Nothing is too much trouble for Paul and Gill who go that extra bit to ensure you enjoy your stay on the Island.
Once again we enjoyed our stay so much that we have again booked the Cottage for next years Manx GP
We cannot recommend this place highly enough and fully agree with the review by others.
Our three grand daughters 7, 9 & 11 say it was "Cool" whatever that means

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyXXrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadwell Heath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

After a very hectic year both my sister and I wanted a bit of peace & quiet and relaxation and that was certainly what we got! The accomodation was surrounded by green fields and sea views and the room we had was very comfortable. My sister and I relied on public transport to get around as we didn't take the car; but this wasn't a real problem for us. We both like to walk and the nearest village was around 3 miles away where we could easily pick a bus up to go into Ramsey and then there are many other travel connections from Ramsey. The beach is around 30 minutes walk away and on both occassions we visited was empty of people; but we was fortunate enough to spot a basking shark! So this too was a nice peaceful place to sit & relax.
We will be returning to Ballathona Farm.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittygalore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This place was quite a discovery - it is in the North of the island and very peaceful. The service and level of hospitality are superb and the view at breakfast time was breathtaking. We stayed in two rooms of the B&B which were both en suite, spacious and fully equipped. The wildlife is also something to see, with the birds flying over to our windows and perching on them - chatting.

It is definitely worth trying - even just once. But watch out, you may get hooked.

It is a little out of the way and you would need a car to get around but it is worth it. The local shop and post office is a 5 minute drive away.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglecat069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This was our 2nd stay at Ballathona Farm. 1st time we stayed in the B&B, 2nd time in the cottage.
Great place to stay at and Paul & Gill are such a lovely couple, made us feel so welcome

Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank matth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We would love to keep the Ballathona our little secret but feel we have to share how wonderful it was with everyone . I traveled with my Mother and adult daughter back home to the Island for 2 weeks from Canada to visit family .We found the self catering cottage at Ballathona online by chance . The pictures online looked lovely but in person it is all that and more . We felt at home from the moment we arrived ,Gill, Paul and Jazz the dog were so friendly and welcoming . The views were amazing and only a 10 minute drive into Ramsey and a hop up the road to the beach . Looked forward to coming back to our little cottage everyday after a day of being out and about .The rooms were beautiful and they thought of everything in the kitchen as well . I could not think of one thing we did not love about the cottage or the family that own it .
Without a doubt we will not be able to stay anywhere else on the island again and look forward to coming back again very soon .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharongresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

First time to Isle of Man so wasn't too sure of bearings, good places to visit etc etc. This is property is slightly out of the way being north of the island - but if you want excellent first class accommodation and peace and quiet then Ballathona Farm would be very difficult to better.
We stayed at the cottage over Easter and the property is very impressive all round. Decor is warm and modern and nothing is tired looking at all. Some serious thought has gone into all the furnishings, bedrooms etc etc. Kicthen is immaculate. Nothing was lacking. Both rooms have their own ensuite toilet and shower which is good first thing in the morning. Views are stunning and sunsets are something to behold. Unfortunately you cannot walk directly from garden towards the sea - you have to take the long route around. Good pub nearby for food and a post office / small store that stays open until 8pm each night.
This property is not on the TT course and you can easily navigate your way around any road closures during race season.

Hosts are genuine and very down to earth. Most helful and friendly. Nothing seemed to much trouble.

Property is a bit out of the way, but the extra distance to get there is very well worth it. Would be my top preference to stay during any future holiday on Isle of Man

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankiebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ballathona Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathona Farm

Property: Ballathona Farm
Address: The Lhen, Andreas IM7 3EH
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Andreas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Andreas
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing