We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE way to enjoy the TT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creg-ny-baa

Creg-ny-baa
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Onchan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This pub does marvellous meals and has a hospitality package during the TT races on the IOM in June. Their service is superb and i would like to acknowledge that.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE way to enjoy the TT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I really cannot speak highly enough of the Famous Creg Ny Baa, after a recent trip with my father.

I purchased a VIP hospitality package with them for the 2014 Senior TT race day. Staff were very friendly and extremely attentive; nothing seemed too much bother for them. We were treated to a lovely breakfast an excellent buffet lunch and all that the bar had to offer.

If you are planning a trip to the Isle of Man then you can't leave without visiting the famous Creg Ny Baa.

If you're planning a trip during TT week then forget about grandstand tickets or the paddock VIP package. For the price, you cannot beat the Creg. You're well fed/watered and get to enjoy one of the best views of the TT course as the riders come back down off the mountain and head back in towards Douglas.

If I can find accommodation on the island then I will definitely be back at the Creg again next year at least once!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ga2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    70
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Short Changed !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Unfortunately I have to down rate the Creg from Very Good to Average. On our visit there on Sunday the guy behind the bar in the evening short changed us and by the time I had realised it was too late.

Having said that on my next visit to the bar, the young lady was much more pleasant and gave me the correct change.

The Creg obviously does good business during TT fortnight and on other racing days through the year and trades on its position on the mountain course. We have visited it on many occasions and found it to be generally good.

We have not had a bad meal there, the prices are not too bad and the staff generally friendly (apart from the guy who short changed me, a lesson learned !!)

We will visit again, just be more careful next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnthewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Great tasting food with very good service from the the pleasant lady waiter.
We went when the place was packed to the rafters but the good was lovely, service great and the value for money? Well, it was a little over prices.
Would definitely go again though.
Recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finchy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, awesome view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good food, and the view up the TT course to Kate's Cottage has to be the best spectator viewpoint in world motorsport.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited here with 30 other Lotus 7 enthusiast and although there were a lot of us the food was all hot and tasted excellent. The Steak and Ale pie was particularly good. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aitch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creg-ny-baa also viewed

 
Ballaugh, Isle of Man
 

Been to Creg-ny-baa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing