We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Englewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Englewood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Onchan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Can't think of as better way to describe this "B&B plus" or "hotel minus". Other reviewers have used up most of the superlatives available (except "superlative" - aha!).
We arrived slightly early and caught Margaret in the middle of turning over the rooms, but that didn't faze her at all. She showed us our room, where we left our bags, and gave us our keys, then we went off to explore for a bit armed with some tips from our host. We had hired a car from the airport, but the electric tram stops right outside the door. This runs as far as Ramsey in the north, and connects to bus, tram and rail services to the south and west through Douglas itself. Check the timetables as service times vary from day to day and month to month. We found the walk into Douglas to be quite enjoyable, taking about 20 minutes to reach the promenade.
When we returned in the evening we discovered the lounge complete with coffee machine (bean to cup, none of your sachet rubbish!) and pool table. The conservatory was similarly well equipped with binoculars for watching the comings and goings of the boats in the bay.
We had the room without the sea view, but that was not a problem. Large room, with large en-suite including toilet and shower. Once again Margaret's attention to detail and being the best was visible with the provision of towel dressing gowns, slippers, and bottled water on the dressing table. The TV was fully functional too, unlike many hotels in the British Isles!
Breakfast was excellent, It's not easy cooking breakfast as well as serving tables, but Margaret doesn't leave anything to chance. The quality of the cooked breakfast was excellent - everything freshly cooked to order, no hotplates. The "continental" part was good too with a range of cereals as well as yoghurts and fresh and dried fruits. Fellow guests had dietary requirements which were met without a blip. Nothing was a problem.

Hopefully Margaret will receive her new dining tables before long, which will give more flexibility in the dining room. Apart from that the only other issue we had was that the internet connection was a bit flaky, but that may have been related to telecoms problems the whole island was experiencing at the time.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameronag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
61
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Margaret could not have been a better host, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we got there, nothing was too much trouble and she accomoidated our brood wonderfully. Rooms were the highest standard the best we have stayed in in the Isle of Man, stayed at hilton and mount murray in the past standard here 1000% better. would recommend a stay at Englewood Lodge for anyone considering a trip to the Isle of Man be it business or pleasure.

Room Tip: large family room accomodated two adults two children easily, large walk in wardrobe and huge bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank has109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Margaret was an excellent host - could not have done more for us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Great location and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 865251nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and throughly enjoyed it. The rooms are fantastic and the beds very comfortable, we started in a room without a sea view, which was excellent in every other way, but the lovely Margaret moved us when a sea view room became available. The food is excellent and the evening meal is great value for money. The rest of the island could do with taking customer services tips from Margaret she makes this place the best it could possibly be.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I tend to enjoy the anonymity of Hotel stays, I've never really been one for B&Bs as I don't like to feel like I'm putting people out. However, I can honestly say that Margaret went out her way (literally - she offered to pick me up at the airport!) to make me feel welcome. The lasagne that she made for dinner was the best I've ever had and I would recommend Englewood Lodge to anyone making a trip to the Isle of Man. The views are stunning, my room was perfect and the host a star. Stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

I go to the isle of man every 8 weeks on business and always stay at Englewood lodge. Margret the lady that runs it is a great host. The rooms are of a very high standard and the food is too.have previously stayed at hotels on the island but this always feels like a home from home.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onchan
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 27 in Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Lodge

Property: Englewood Lodge
Address: King Edward Road, Onchan IM3 2AS
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Onchan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Onchan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Englewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Englewood Lodge Isle Of Man/Onchan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing