We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value ever !”
Review of Englewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Englewood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Onchan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First, the welcome is warm and sincere .
Second, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and extremely confy
Third, the place is spotless !
Fourth, quality is everywhere : bedding, facilities, furniture, toiletries, EVERY DETAIL IS EXCEPTIONAL. Nothing is too much trouble.
Fifth, the breakfast is hight quality, Margaret's s cooking is fantastic
I booked my next stay already, no point to try another place !
Thanks again for a formidable stay !

Room Tip: 4 rooms upstairs with beautiful views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annesoseaview_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Englewood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

A warm welcome, spotlessly clean, excellent state of repair, superb breakfast with a choice of evening meals available at a reasonable additional cost, large and comfortable public rooms with lovely sea views from the dining room, conservatory and bedroom windows all make for an excellent stay. I hope to return.
Possible downside is that it is not within easy walking distance of the centre of Douglas but taxis and nearby public transport are available or you could hire a car to explore this beautiful island.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ticino57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were over in the Isle of Man for just two nights on business with our Church and we stayed at Englewood Lodge. We can't begin to say how good the service was from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Margaret, the owner, could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. The room was immaculately clean and exceptionally well furnished and spacious. The breakfast choices were varied and plentiful and the evening meal we had was to a high standard. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I agree that the carrot cake is very more-ish. Very welcoming- nothing too much trouble to Margaret. Great breakfasts. Very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom with power shower. Amazing views across the bay to Douglas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnemonck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Many have said how gracious a hostess Margaret is and how comfortable her rooms are as well as the very large and welcoming common areas (where wonderful homemade carrot cake was always there for the taking!). I can only agree wholeheartedly. And Margaret is an exceptional cook - I recommend you take advantage of the very reasonably priced dinner she offers. At 12 GBP for the mains and 4 GBP for the deserts/starters, it's a great value anywhere, but Margaret's meals are really fantastic. She normally doesn't offer wine (it's not on the menu), but encourages one to bring their own. However, we didn't bring any, and she offered to serve us some from her own pantry. We chose a very good white, which she charged a very nominal amount for. The starter was Manx Queenies, which were cooked very traditionally and very well indeed. Perfectly done (not overdone) and well seasoned. My wife had the honey glazed chicken and I had the home made steak pie - both were outstanding. Deserts were equally good - a sherry trifle and rhubarb crumble with Manx ice cream.

Just one example of how gracious a hostess Margaret is: We really liked a book she had in each room, describing the Isle of Man. We intended to buy the book when we went shopping, but it slipped our minds. When we returned from sightseeing, we remarked about the book, and we asked if she would sell us her copy (it was actually brand new). Without hesitation, she said she would, and she would buy another.

And one more example: It was dark when we first arrived, and we had some difficulty locating her home. We called Margaret, and she asked where we were, and she immediately said she'd meet us in her car and we could follow her home. Great service!

And one last point. I feel her location is excellent. Just outside the hustle and bustle of Douglas' main Promenade (and its lack of parking), she's in a beautiful residential area with free parking right in her driveway. And a great view of the bay.

Couldn't have asked for more! We had a great time and can unconditionally recommend the Englewood Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had requested a ground floor room if possible and were given a lovely big room at the front of the house. Everything, from bed, bathroom to breakfast was of the highest standard and Margaret was full of local knowledge and helped us plan outings.
We ate in house one evening and were served lovely fresh vegetables along with our meal, a real joy after a number of soggy, reheated meals we had experienced during our travels elsewhere.
We were made to feel so welcome and the guest relaxation areas were so comfortable. We could not recommend Englewood Lodge more highly

Room Tip: Any room is a good one here
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsw203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a fantastic place,Margaret is a marvel really great food freshly cooked.The rooms are large with very comfortable beds along with large bathrooms with power showers.Little extras just to make you feel good,bottled water all day coffee in the lounge along with cake in the lounge.
Read voyagevista for a full breakdown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOUISSTRAUSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onchan
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Lodge

Address: King Edward Road, Onchan IM3 2AS
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Onchan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Onchan
Price Range: £89 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Englewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Englewood Lodge Isle Of Man/Onchan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing