We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips”
Review of Port Jack Chippy

Port Jack Chippy
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Onchan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fantastic fast food takeaway and diner - traditional fish and chip menu offering options for everyone - pensioners, and kids meals and lunchtime specials
Dundee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Passed here on way home to our holiday cottage most evenings and always busy - so decided to go in for fish and chips one evening. Very fast and efficient staff - haddock cooked freshly, half chicken portion moist and juicy, sausages tasty. We took our meals away so that we could eat them down by the beach - would have liked a bit more salt for our chips!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Good Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Called in on Thursday 3rd July for takeaway. We spotted this place while visiting Isle of Man for the week. Staff were efficient. Fish & chips were freshly cooked and hot. We went and parked across the road and enjoyed the evening view of Douglas while eating them. Well worth visiting if you are after fresh fish & chips.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael-4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TT and Chippy Tea”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time in the Isle of Man for the TT races this year. Spent most of our nights at Port Jack chippy after discovering how proper fish and chips should be served. Excellent service and food that cannot be faulted. Even though it was busy all our needs were taken care of, well done Port Jack staff!! 5 stars

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bad takeout”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My bf went and got us a take out as a treat last week. I ordered chips and cheese which is my fave, the chips were gd but there was a a big ball of cheese underneath my chips, it wasnt scattered over and between the chips like expected. I also had a cheeseburger but it was stone cold so i couldnt eat it. Very dissapointed!

Helpful?
9 Thank MissJerseyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Taste Of Tradition”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great chippy in Onchan, at the north end of Douglas prom. Options to sit in and take away. Handy for Onchan Raceway and the Manx Electric Railway. Food was tasty, portions generous and staff both courteous and efficient. Good views of Douglas Bay from the dining area. My pie, chips, mushy peas, gravy and tea came in at £8. A bit steep, maybe, for this kind of food but it felt like good value. My three fellow diners were happy with their meals, too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Jack Chippy also viewed

Port Erin, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Port Erin, Isle of Man
 

Been to Port Jack Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing