We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely disappointing new management”
Review of Sunset Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #9 of 11 Restaurants in Onchan
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Marlow, Bucks, UK
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointing new management”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We were quite fond of the old TyNi, and were hoping the Sunset would carry on the tradition. Sadly not. The food tasted like it came from a poor chippy. I had a burger which made Wrestlers look like a gourmet delight. The chips were so soggy that they were like lukewarm slugs. The service was inefficient and intimidating. The management had not been in place for long, so maybe it will improve. It certainly can't get any worse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location and ambience, good food and wine”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We visited the bistro as we had originally wanted to visit the Creek down the road for dinner, but it was really full so we walked along the harbour side to find somewhere else to eat. We didn't receive an amazing welcome, but other than that the service was good. The food was very nice, there was a decent choice for vegetarians, as others have noted. We also enjoyed a nice bottle of white wine which wasere a nice touc nicely chilled. We liked the decor and ambience in the restaurant and the glass doors gave a really nice outlook over the harbour. We hoped to see the sunset, but unfortunately it was too cloudy! We would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manxmaid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great little restaurant”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Sunset Bistro seems to be where the "tini" restaurant was. The menu was quite good and reasonably priced. The lad serving was seemingly doing the job by himself but did a great job despite the restaurant being full. The style of food was goor French really but Mussels were cooked from frozen. Had a very enjoyable evening there none the less. Very friendly staff too which helps of-course.. You should ring before goimng as although it says open 7 days a week on the week we were there it was not open mon tues or wed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good veggie food”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I enjoyed my rissotto very much and my partner had a thai curry. Best meal I've had in a long time as veggie meals arent always that inspiring. Was busy so that usually says something.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had previously visited under different management, we had a pleasant lunch overlooking the quayside in Peel. The food was good, there was a reasonable vegetarian selection for my wife.
Drinks were reasonably priced compared to other establishments in the Isle of Man. The bistro enjoys a friendly atmosphere when busy, one of my favourites when visiting the island.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Bistro also viewed

Onchan, Isle of Man
Onchan, Isle of Man
 
Onchan, Isle of Man
 

Been to Sunset Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing