We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eagle Plains Hotel
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
22
28
33
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
28
33
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdempster highwaydawson cityan oasisplace to stayremote locationsaladnorthwest territoriesservice stationgravel roadnorthern lightsboth timeswinter monthskm drivebargasyukonwilderness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Not a bad hotel,if you can get in.
Registration shuts down at approximately 10PM I'm told.We arrived there at just after 1AM and the front lobby was deserted.Knocks on the door and telephone calls were fruitless.
We were forced to stay in our vehicle in front of the hotel in sub zero weather.
Next day the guy who works at the garage complained that the truck lights woke him up and the vehicle doors opening and closing kept him awake.Awful,considering he was in a nice warm bed.
We were 3 adults who were fine,but what happens to a family traveling with young children or elders?
Definitely not an oasis in the wilderness.
I would think a facility in their position of responsibility would strive to excel in the safety of others.Instead they use the position of people having no other option to disregard peoples safety for their convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crazylarry12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

there is no other place I would stay when driving the Dempster highway to/from Inuvik!

The rooms are a bit outdated, but clean. What can you expect more than 200 miles from the nearest paved road? They even have wireless internet!

The staff was very nice and it is definitely an oasis in the wilderness when you arrive and stop by to let them fix your tire(s) :)

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This friendly hotel has good rooms with comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms. Well done for a hotel in the middle of nowhere with no competition! Book ahead - there is nowhere else to stay, and you need a break between Dawson City and the Arctic Circle. Lots of great atmosphere and personality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I was travelling with my brother-in-law in his plane on the way to Inuvik. We called ahead and were told that if we buzzed the hotel, they would come to the airstrip and pick us up or we could land right on the Dempster Highway in front of the hotel. We landed on the highway and taxid up to the hotel. The was a real strong wind blowing and Stan even gave us a pick-up to tie our plane down to. We went into the bar and had a beer and a great burger. We listened to some of the stories and met a fellow who was travelling by bicicle from Buenos Aires, Argentina to Tuktoyaktuk and another couple of guys coming back from Tuktoyaktuk on motorcycles. We had breakfast and it was as good an omlet as I have ever had. It is a great oasis in the middle of nowhere. Thanks Stan.

Stayed: June 2009
2  Thank BigAl4ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Overall, given that there is not much by way of competition for business, we thaought that we might have to rough it out. Very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facility, amenities, food / bar and room convenience. The place was clean with friendly service, hot water was available and the kitchen and bar were well stocked evn for special dietary needs.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadTripsAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews