We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay in Chipata ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Chipata
Ranked #1 of 3 Chipata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Dear William, Peter and team

I like to thank you very much for the hospitality we experienced during our stay with the group from Germany last week.

The rooms were all fantastic and the service throughout the hotel amazing. We had a great stay will be coming back again to you.

Your restaurant buffet and a la carte menus are fantastic the bar service was one of the best I ever experienced in a hotel for a long time. The lunch packs we received on various occasions during our stay were fresh, tasty and of excellent value.

Thank you very much for looking after us so well.

With kind regards,

Ralf Doepke

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank RalfDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ralf,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata and for scoring us 5 out of 5! We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the fantastic rooms, service and the food in the restaurant and will congratulate our STAFF for doing a great job.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata again soon.

Kind regards,

William Wood

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chipata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived early from South Luangwa NP but it wasn't a problem to check in and were showed our rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was very tasty and cooked to perfection. Even it is a rather larger hotel, it has not the atmosphere of a railway station. In my opinion the best place to stay in Chipata.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Zamfari,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay and we are delighted to receive you compliments regarding the service, food and the rooms. We will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

William Wood

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chipata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On arrival at the hotel in the late afternoon after a long days travel I was greeted in a very friendly yet professional manner by the porter who waisted no time in getting to my vehicle and offering his assistance. The check in was done very efficiently and I was soon enough shown to my room which was very comfortable. The only downside of my stay was the steak that I ordered medium rare arrived having been very well cooked. I sent it back asking again for a medium rare and again was presented with a very well done steak.
This however didn't put me off enough not to stay there again. On my return trip to Malawi I again checked in at the protea had had a great stay. (And the food was way better)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata and for scoring us a 4 out of 5. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the STAFF being professional and your room being comfortable.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced as a result of your steak being well done instead of medium rare as requested. Please be assured that your feedback has reached the attention of all who are concerned to ensure that none of our GUESTS are inconvenienced in this way again.

it was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Chipata soon.

Kind regards,

William Wood

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chipata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Hi we decided to break our trip to Flat Dogs camp by staying overnight in Chipata. Traveling as a family group of four we wondered where we could stay. Protea lived up to all out expectations. Check in was flawless rooms comfortable and clean. The food was good although we did have to wait for a while before it came. The waiter apologized profusely and it was very good when it came. The breakfast was terrific and nothing seemed to bother the staff. Their helpful attitude was much appreciated when small medical needs surfaced. Would stay again

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Shesmoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Shesmoodie,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay and thank you for scoring us a 5 out of 5!

We are delighted to receive your compliments about that STAFF's attitude, the rooms and the food and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on gm@phchipata.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

William Wood

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chipata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Best hotel in Chipata, the ambience is relaxing, rooms are comfortable and the food is tasty. To crown it all, the staff are courteous and friendly. I have no reason to stay elsewhere on my next visit unless the hotel is fully booked.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Car park have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Loriegrey,

Thank you for writing down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata and for scoring us 5 out of 5! We are delighted to receive your compliments and your additional positive feedback about the food being tasty and the comfortable rooms. Please be assured that we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Chipata soon.

Kind regards,

William Wood

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chipata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here on a short stopover en route to South Luwanga for one night and it was a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff upon arrival welcomed us and settled us very comfortably in the well furnished rooms. All rooms non smoking which made our stay there more pleasant . Food selection very good although menu items were missing ,but there is a huge opportunity to make the food from "just great" to "excellent". I would definitely stay there on my next visit to Chipata , highly recommended when looking for accommodation in Chipata.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Mr. Rodney,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should therefore like to thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay with us and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Chipata and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After a long hot trip up from Lake Malawi in a fleet of old classic cars the hotel was a welcome sight. We, thirty people, were well looked after. The poolside was wonderful, the rooms were great and the restaurant bar service was excellent.
The best stopover on the east of Zambia.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Chipata, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chipata. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chipata and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Protea Hotel Chipata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Chipata

Address: Plot 3126 Great East Road, Chipata 90100, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Eastern Province > Chipata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chipata
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Chipata 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Chipata is located on the outskirts of Chipata town and near the Umodzi Highway; the entrance to Chipata town from Katete, only 15km from the Malawi border and 130km from Lilongwe; the capital city of Malawi. Chipata is a scenic town surrounded on all sides by hills, hence its name meaning “gateway.” Ideal for both leisure and business travellers Protea Hotel Chipata offers 40 bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, electronic door locks, electronic safes, satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone as well as free wireless internet access. The modern Mulombe Restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner has an outside terrace area overlooking the swimming pool and spacious gardens. There is a sports bar at the hotel, called Kumana Lounge, which is open from 10h00 until 22h00 daily. The nearby Kanjala Hill offers panoramic and spectacular views of almost the entire town and region. The Central Mosque poses as the most marvellous building in the town. The structure reflects unique and exquisite art and architecture. This mosque is located along the Mosque Road. Travellers can also take a tour of the South Luangwa National Park which is approximately three hours’ drive from Chipata. The national park has an abundance of exotic wildlife of the region and features a wildlife sanctuary where one can go for safaris, game viewing and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel Chipata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing