We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Awesome food"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manners Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manners Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Knipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Awesome food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Out first visit to The Manners Arms and we absolutely loved every moment from bring warmly and politely welcomed and shown to our table, served quickly with gorgeous starters and the main roast just melted with succulence. Lots of fresh vegetables roasties and finished with desserts to die for. Creme brûlée - gorgeous !!!Stunningly presented. A true work of art. The front of house were lovely and attentive. A credit to Manners. Can't wait to go again. It was very reasonably priced and good portions which is important if you want to return regularly and we will!!! Very soon !!! Thank you .....

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lylo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    70
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
46
108
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here with colleagues for one night.

Booked rooms via email and was a very easy process.

Location is very secluded and gorgeous grounds. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to explore but it suited our purpose.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, even allowed us to move tables around in the restaurant so our party could all sit together.


The rooms were big and each individually decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept well. Robes and slippers provided in the rooms were a nice unexpected touch and the bathrooms were all modern and clean. Shower could have been more powerful, but that's if I'm really nit-picking!

We ate in the hotel's restaurant and our stay happened to fall on "Steak and lobster night". Most of us had the steak and it was fresh and tender. All the food was tasty and of a higher standard than any chain hotels. You could tell it was all locally sourced. The open fire in the bar area gave it a really cosy welcoming feel!

Breakfast was included in the tariff and they catered to our every need. We ordered some combinations that weren't on the menu and they even made us things that weren't on the menu at our request which was fantastic and really appreciated. You don't often come across such genuine hospitality. Again as with dinner, all the food was fresh and locally sourced. It was delicious and the menu had a wide variety.

Highly recommended for any occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rungirl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

first time with a groupon offer so didn't know what to expect.......food/breakfast very good, staff friendly and helpful, room comfortable, really enjoyed our first experience with groupon, would reccommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binthere47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I have eaten out at The Manners Arms several times now, we have also taken the family along to enjoy it too. The staff are always very pleasant and helpful and the food is very well presented and very enjoyable. We attended a wedding there in 2013 and that was also an enjoyable experience, good food and a superb venue in the countryside with large grounds to keep the children entertained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable family celebration at the Manners Arms, Knipton. Our party of twelve all stayed overnight and the conservatory area was reserved for our evening meal.

We, more or less, all arrived en masse and were quickly checked in and directed to our rooms. There seemed to be a huge variation in the room sizes and decor but this is to be expected in a hotel that (rather grandly) calls itself a ‘Country House Hotel’. The room allocated to me and my husband was comfortable, albeit a bit on the small side, with a shower room rather than bathroom. Doing my hair and make-up was a bit of a problem as the lighting wasn’t terrific and the mirror in the bedroom and shower room was very small. The room certainly needed a full length mirror. As other reviewers have pointed out the bedroom above the kitchen can be slightly noisy due to the extract fan below and that happened to be our room.

In the evening we all gathered in the bar for pre-dinner drinks but were disappointed to find that there was no room to sit and were therefore shown to our table in the Conservatory earlier than we would have liked. In hindsight we should have enquired if they had a residents lounge where we could have sat with our drinks. We ordered drinks and, during the course of the evening, food and the service was efficient. The food generally was of a fairly high standard, although perhaps a little too heavy and game orientated for my taste. For my starter I had the Cheese Soufflé which was delicious and to my mind the highlight of the meal. My main course was duck leg confit with lardons and black pudding. The duck was nice but it was far too heavy on the lardons and black pudding for my taste. My husband enjoyed steak and chips for his main course and he is still ‘waxing lyrical’ about it! For dessert most of our party chose the cold chocolate fondant and it was so popular that they ran out of it. I had to have cheese and biscuits but in hindsight this was perhaps not such a bad thing as everyone, without exception, who had the cold chocolate fondant was disappointed. It seemed to be one big lump of set, hard chocolate that was very difficult to eat.

But in summing up the champagne flowed and I think a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normal-for-Norfolk-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

So me and my girlfriend went down for a drink a couple of weeks ago and was majorly impressed by the place, the building had charm, character and was very impressive both inside and out, real ales were spit on awesome! We noticed they had just started a lobster night on a Friday so spoke to some friends from Cambridgeshire and booked for last night.

We turned up in time and was greeted with a warm welcome at the bar, after ordering drinks, there was no where for us to sit (wasn't busy either) so we went to the table, ordered food and waited,

Food came, half a lobster around 6-8oz of rump (heart of) which looked good,

After that I had two mouthfuls of lobster and that was gone... Was rubbery and overcooked with little flavour, steak itself was cooked perfectly even though they'd given us the wrong steaks which we discovered half way through as I ordered rare - got medium and vice versa...

No one came to the table and asked how out dinner was - it was by no means ineffable but was spoilt by the cooking of and quantity,

We expressed our dissatisfaction when someone came to clear the plates and was 10 minutes later greeted with an aggressive dark haired girl who would of quite clearly choose to argue and state that no one else in the reateraunt had complained rather than dealing with our statement on quality,

All in all we paid just under £140 for 4 of us and left hungry - to the point of going for a pizza after... Thanks for making me feel ripped off! Won't be back and wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We feel compelled to add a review following our wedding at The Manners on Saturday 29th March.
Stewart and his team gave my bride and I the day we dreamed of. This young team could not have done more to make sure the day was a total success, everything was thought of, nothing was too much trouble, literally all of the bases were covered from start to finish. We cannot speak highly enough and feel genuinely lucky to have had the pleasure of spending our very special day here. If Carlsberg did weddings.....they would do them here ! Well done Stewart, Lauren, Rosie and the rest of the team !

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knipton
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
5.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
6.9 mi away
Langar Hall
Langar Hall
#1 of 1 in Langar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manners Arms

Property: The Manners Arms
Address: 6 Croxton Road, Knipton NG32 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Knipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manners Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manners Arms is a luxury AA 4 Star country restaurant with rooms claiming pride of place in the heart of The Vale of Belvoir. Formerly a hunting lodge, built for the 6th Duke of Rutland the building has been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard and our hotel boasts 10 beautiful individually appointed bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded restaurant and a traditional bar. The Manners Arms offers surroundings with style, the very best in food, drink and spectacular service creating a unique destination delivering amazing experiences to guests. The Restaurant is a destination in its own right and attracts diners from across the region. We serve locally sourced modern British food and it is complimented by the bar, serving four real ales including a local beer brewed within the Vale. This has been tastefully restored and oozes charm and has all the character you could dream of with cozy corners and comfy armchairs. A perfect retreat if you are looking to escape the buzz of the city. Here there is a clear belief in creating a relaxed atmosphere, sophisticated surroundings and passion for great service. Bed & Breakfast from: These Rates are Available Monday to Thursday Single Occupancy Bed & Breakfast £70.00 Double Occupancy Bed & Breakfast £90.00 It is our policy to offer Dinner Bed & Breakfast Only Rates for a Friday & Saturday Evening. If you are attending a function please call to discuss options that are available. Dinner Bed & Breakfast from: Single Occupancy £100 Double Occupancy £140 Enjoy three courses from our seasonal a la carte menu - please note supplements may apply to certain dishes. Sunday Night Offer Dinner, Bed & Breakfast for Two £100 Enjoy three courses from our seasonal menu with no restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Manners Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manners Arms Hotel Knipton
Manners Arms Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing