We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but there are much better restaurants/bars in the immediate area.”
Review of The Manners Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manners Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Knipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“OK, but there are much better restaurants/bars in the immediate area.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Four of us booked and went here for lunch. Only two tables were being used, ours with 4 and another with 3 guests. We weren't greeted with any enthusiasm but our table was pointed at so we knew where to sit, and sit, and sit. After waiting for 10-15 minutes while the staff appeared very busy the whole time doing nothing in particular we got fed up and went to the empty bar to order drinks and also ask if we could have some menus. After deciding what we wanted we managed to give our order to a waitress as she hurriedly crossed the bar busily doing something else that was not particularly evident but whatever it was didn't seem to involve customers. Some of the party ordered the soup of the day from the blackboard at the bar to be told that they had run out of the soup for the day (it was 12:30 and there were only 7 diners in the place, none of whom had soup of the day)!! Eventually, when the food arrived it was well presented and was of a perfectly reasonable standard, and they were able to provide an alternative soup to be fair, but having to wait well over an hour for it to arrive was too long. I appreciate that food has to be cooked fresh but you just got the impression that not much was happening. When we were due to leave the barman came to the table and had a conversation and was very friendly and jovial. Why this was not possible when we arrived I don't know? We have a number of restaurants we use in the area, all of which are reliably friendly and have excellent food and service, but just thought we'd try The Manners for a change. Unfortunately, while I appreciate they may have just had an off day or some catastrophe in the kitchen, I don't think we'll be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_an_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    73
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
50
111
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I visited here with my mum and brother after a morning at Belvoir Castle. We arrived at 12.30 and there was only a local chap and a couple in the bar.

The beer selection was good and tasted fab. The food was very tasty, there was variety including all the classics.

The service was good, the barman was very helpful and friendly.

Within an hour the bar became busy and filled up. A lot more people were in the restaurant as well. The only suggestion I could make to make it any better would be to have some background music to create more of an atmosphere.

We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnesy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We celebrated our daughters wedding reception , we can only say it was exceptional,faultless from start to finish due to a fantastic team especially Lauren, who was there every moment ensuring things ran smoothly. We couldn't have wished for a better venue. Certainly a day to remember for all the right reasons , excellent service, well organised, super food and warm friendly young team of staff. It's made a day that friends and family have left to talk about for quite a while. Thank you everyone at the Manners Arms 100%

Visited May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sankeynottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Out first visit to The Manners Arms and we absolutely loved every moment from bring warmly and politely welcomed and shown to our table, served quickly with gorgeous starters and the main roast just melted with succulence. Lots of fresh vegetables roasties and finished with desserts to die for. Creme brûlée - gorgeous !!!Stunningly presented. A true work of art. The front of house were lovely and attentive. A credit to Manners. Can't wait to go again. It was very reasonably priced and good portions which is important if you want to return regularly and we will!!! Very soon !!! Thank you .....

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lylo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here with colleagues for one night.

Booked rooms via email and was a very easy process.

Location is very secluded and gorgeous grounds. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to explore but it suited our purpose.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, even allowed us to move tables around in the restaurant so our party could all sit together.


The rooms were big and each individually decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept well. Robes and slippers provided in the rooms were a nice unexpected touch and the bathrooms were all modern and clean. Shower could have been more powerful, but that's if I'm really nit-picking!

We ate in the hotel's restaurant and our stay happened to fall on "Steak and lobster night". Most of us had the steak and it was fresh and tender. All the food was tasty and of a higher standard than any chain hotels. You could tell it was all locally sourced. The open fire in the bar area gave it a really cosy welcoming feel!

Breakfast was included in the tariff and they catered to our every need. We ordered some combinations that weren't on the menu and they even made us things that weren't on the menu at our request which was fantastic and really appreciated. You don't often come across such genuine hospitality. Again as with dinner, all the food was fresh and locally sourced. It was delicious and the menu had a wide variety.

Highly recommended for any occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rungirl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

first time with a groupon offer so didn't know what to expect.......food/breakfast very good, staff friendly and helpful, room comfortable, really enjoyed our first experience with groupon, would reccommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binthere47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I have eaten out at The Manners Arms several times now, we have also taken the family along to enjoy it too. The staff are always very pleasant and helpful and the food is very well presented and very enjoyable. We attended a wedding there in 2013 and that was also an enjoyable experience, good food and a superb venue in the countryside with large grounds to keep the children entertained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knipton
6.0 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,251 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,719 reviews
20.0 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Grantham A1
Travelodge Grantham A1
#5 of 7 in Grantham
128 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
8.3 mi away
Stapleford Park
Stapleford Park
#1 of 1 in Stapleford
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manners Arms

Property: The Manners Arms
Address: 6 Croxton Road, Knipton NG32 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Knipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manners Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manners Arms is a luxury AA 4 Star country restaurant with rooms claiming pride of place in the heart of The Vale of Belvoir. Formerly a hunting lodge, built for the 6th Duke of Rutland the building has been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard and our hotel boasts 10 beautiful individually appointed bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded restaurant and a traditional bar. The Manners Arms offers surroundings with style, the very best in food, drink and spectacular service creating a unique destination delivering amazing experiences to guests. The Restaurant is a destination in its own right and attracts diners from across the region. We serve locally sourced modern British food and it is complimented by the bar, serving four real ales including a local beer brewed within the Vale. This has been tastefully restored and oozes charm and has all the character you could dream of with cozy corners and comfy armchairs. A perfect retreat if you are looking to escape the buzz of the city. Here there is a clear belief in creating a relaxed atmosphere, sophisticated surroundings and passion for great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Manners Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manners Arms Hotel Knipton
Manners Arms Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing