We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
176
48
1
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
48
1
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub rutland water roaring fire local suppliers partridge fabulous food baked beans cooked to perfection sunday lunch comfortable rooms excellent stay warm welcome wine list two nights rutland area night's sleep wing hall
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

The pub is beautiful on the outside and lovely on the inside.
Service was great and the food was absolutely AMAZING. The portions were also HUGE.
It wasn’t the cheapest but it was worth every penny.
We would all go again if we found ourselves in the area.
The Big Pie that I had was full of meat and tasted great.
Give it a go.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tez197831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Booked for two nights as my husband was fly fishing at Rutland Water.
Fantastic Inn, the food was truly amazing everything local and cooked to perfection.Staff were attentive and friendly, we stayed with our dog and he even had a welcome pack!
We would go back to the Kings Arms, if we are ever in the area!!!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank milkyway1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Visited over the bank holiday for our anniversary after some of our friends recommended the Kings Arms. The room we had was clean and lovely. The food we had both in the evening and for breakfast the next day was fabulous. It’s one of those visits where everything really was just spot on. Service was fantastic, they couldn’t do enough for us. Also really liked that they have a lot of their own produce and everything else is sourced locally. A big thumbs up from us and certainly won’t be the last visit

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Booradley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Dead quiet, supremely comfortable rooms, which are spacious and tasteful. Excellent value for money, lovely relaxed environment, superb food, dedicated staff. I thoroughly recommend that you go if you can.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Haw186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Had been looking for a doggie friendly pub with nice rooms in this area for ages. Cant believe I missed this one- until now! Absoluuutley perfect!
Warm, inviting, friendly pub & that’s the staff & the locals. Very busy on a Friday evening, but the staff are amazing & standards are high. In fact substitute “busy” for “buzzing” cos that’s how it felt. No pressure at all. Loved it.
The food is fantastic - the best we have had for quite a while & the majority of the food is sourced locally (& you can taste it! Amazingly good!)
A very good choice of ales & wine, but I was enjoying myself so much, I couldn’t be bothered to “choose” a wine so I went for the “house”. Pleased I did. Perfect! Couldn’t have chosen anything better!
Staff & locals fell in love with Bo, our little white with a bit of black Frenchie & he just loved the attention! He didn’t want to leave! Had to drag him to the car in the morning after breakfast!
We stayed in The Bakery Suite which (along with some of the other rooms) is totally doggie friendly, as is the bar. Super super comfy bed. Lovely toiletries. Tea / coffee / chocolate making facilities in room. Fresh milk available from the bar which is “just across the small courtyard”. In fact everything you could possibly need.
Loved the quick self service check in facility. Couldn’t be easier.
Can’t wait to go back. Such a shame we don’t live closer. It was that good! Thank you to everyone. Hopefully see you soon.
PS Free WiFi. Password on checkin sheet. Didn’t need to ask. Perfect!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Crustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews