We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite in a beautiful area!”
Review of Wing Hall Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wing Hall Estate
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite in a beautiful area!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this site fairly last minute and were very pleased with finding such a lovely site! As previous reviews state, this is not for you if you want manicured lawns and state of the art facilities. However, if you want a spacious site with basic clean amenities, helpful staff and fabulous views this is perfect!
When we arrived we were offered the furthest field which seems to be child free, which suited us well. We were allocated pitch numbers but were able to choose where we wanted to pitch as it was not very busy ( surprising for mid August, but perhaps other people were put off by the forecast of torrential rain!). The field is divided up into wide rows with very spacious pitches offering plenty of space and privacy. The field was gently sloping, but fine for pitching your tent.
There is a well stocked farm shop and a lovely cafe/ bar. It is a little pricey perhaps but the veranda and garden are a gorgeous setting and the cooked breakfast was excellent!
The showers and toilets are a bit basic, quite a walk from the furthest field but perfectly adequate and clean.
A great base to explore Rutland Water.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pjs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    55
    33
    12
    33
See reviews for
89
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This really is a great site in a lovely location amongst rolling hills and close to Rutland Water. Oakham and Stamford are within easy reach. The site is quite informal and rustic, there are chickens and geese running around, the pitches are not flat and regimented (if you want to park military style, in rows all facing the same way go to a club site) but there's plenty of space. Electricity is via a pre paid card (£5 or £1) but if you don't use it all the card retains the credit for future visits. There is a lovely deli on site, not the cheapest but comparable with others in local towns. The verandah café is great for breakfast or an evening meal and there are some good pubs not far away too. It is family run and everyone is friendly and helpful. There are ample showers and toilets, though occasionally if the site is busy the hot water does seem to run out for a short time. We have now been using the site for about 8 years and love going back year after year. We have seen some improvements and modernisation over the years but I hope the owners don't go too far and spoil its charm

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We prepaid £40.00 for two nights only to be asked for a further £7.00 for electricity (cash only) even though the cards had printed on them value £1.00). Toilets shabby, showers terrible and cold. Hook up boxes had so many differing pitch numbers on them we were totally confused - the people next to us told us to plug in anywhere they had!

Noise went on till 11.30pm at night and the road noise behind our caravan terrible.

It seems as a previous reviewer said this site is run out of necessity which is a shame as it could be lovely.

Definitely will not return,

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 200Anne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience of camping and loved it. Such a safe and enjoyable place for kids to roam and play (the rope swing tree was great). Basic and clean facilities. Lots of hot water. Shop is great and stocks yummy pastries. Will be back

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank littlehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago and what a great time we had! The kids loved the freedom of the campsite- which is enclosed so safe for them to wander, with the chickens that are around the site. The shop was stocked with lots of lovely regional produce and wasn't too expensive, and the cafe/restaurant gave us a night off cooking. It is a lovely campsite and we will definitely return! The owners were also very friendly and helpful.

Thank you Wing Hall for a perfect weekend camping!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goolygoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just been to Wing Hall to camp. What a great place. Very quiet and clean. It's a fairly small site but the facilities, though basic, we're very clean and served us well. Staff very friendly and there is a great shop and cafe/bar on site. Just make sure you check the times of cafe and bar - shop does some great local produce. Lots of things to do locally - they hire bikes here. Much better than hiring off-site. We will definitely go back - we went with two girls 3 and 5 - they loved the freedom of the site.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dajamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just had long weekend camping at Wing Hall. It's a joy to find such a campsite in the UK. Has a very laid back vibe, with the bonus of excellent well stocked shop (huge slabs of home made cake fresh every day), veranda cafe bar and great location. Even on the hottest weekend yet, it was surprisingly quiet, with loads of free pitches. Highly recommended to any campers who value originality and quirkiness over level fields, hard stand and regimented pitches.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J0_Mall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wing
3.0 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
568 reviews
4.0 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
4.2 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
313 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wing Hall Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wing Hall Estate

Property: Wing Hall Estate
Address: Station Road, Wing, Oakham LE15 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Wing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wing
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Wing Hall Estate Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing