We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our wedding 2018”
Swimming pool at rear with sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool at rear with sea view
Private Beach with Toilet, Shower, Barbecue etc Front of Property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Swimming pool at rear with sea view
Private Beach with Toilet, Shower, Barbecue etc
Front of Property
Frontal Region
Frontal Region
Private Beach a few minutes walk from Villa
Frontal view
Private Beach
Swimming Pool
Natural Saltwater Swimming Pool a few minutes walk from Villa
Friendly wildlife at rear of Villa
Scuba diving locally available
Mangoes at the villa
Entertainment area with Pool table, Bar
Climbing up from the sea at Rear
Jumping off into the sea at rear of Villa
Natural salt water pool along the coast a few minutes walk from villa
With Airboat at rear of vila
Snorkelling
Spearfishing
Climbing up from the sea via aluminium ladder/rope ladder
Recent wedding
Wedding
Swinging deck chairs. Rear of property
Swinging deck chairs.
White water rafting Rio Bueno(leads into private beach)
Rio Bueno
Local private beach
Private Beach
Master bathroom with Jaccuzzi and separate shower
Dining area
Running machine in Recreation area
Rear view of property
Pool at Rear
Front of Villa with vehicles available for rental
Rear view from one of the bedrooms
Master bedroom
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Discovery Bay, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hottiemad
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding 2018”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Villa Maranathan from 6th-9th April 2018, had the best time ever we got married on property and stayed over the view at the back of the house is a beauty and would recommend this to others.

Melissa propert manager was helpful and friendly and the owner Winston was amazing and both very accommodating and easy to access.

The grounds are relaxing and beautiful and even the house large dog is a treat so friendly .

I can’t wait to stay there again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Hi Chanita. Excellent to hear that your wedding went well at the villa. I enjoyed seeing the pictures at the beach and at the rear of the villa. Will let Melissa know that you and your party had an excellent time. It was a pleasure hosting you and your group. You were excellent guests. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjhk2018
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Definitely not as expected”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I rented this house for my family of 12. Was expecting to go to the beach New Year's Eve for fireworks, then was told the neighbors were going to be doing them which didn't happen. The electrical breaker kept going off which made the refrigerater go off and our food and drinks were not cold quite often. I thought the house was air conditioned, but only the bedrooms. The kitchen was miserable to cook in. Many times there was no hot water when we wanted to shower and quite often only a trickle. It rained and when I got out of bed one morning, there were puddles of water many places in the bedroom and dining and living rooms. I slipped on the wet floor and twisted my knee which has been quite painful ever since. On a positive side, the staff was very friendly and the view of the ocean was beautiful....just missing a beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2018
Sorry we had some electrical issues due to the after effect of the hurricane. That led to some of the issues that you had. Apologies for that. We should have ensured that everything was functioning fully. Glad that the staff were helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling Paradise Private Escape”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Maranatha Villa between March 14th and 21st 2017.

The Villa is directly on the Ocean with a stunning view of sunsets over the Caribbean ocean. We had a staff of 4 that took care of our every need and worked tirelessly to ensure our stay was everything we desired. Having the personalized attention made a world of difference.

The Family and I enjoyed jumping off the dock right into the ocean. We let Winston know we enjoyed Snorkeling and brand new snorkeling equipment was waiting for us when we arrived. We were concerned about getting in and out of the ocean as it is quite rocky and about ten feet down to the water from land. No sooner had we mentioned this than they installed a ladder for us to enter and leave.

The beach is a distance away so if you are looking for a white sand getaway to stay at this is not it. The rocks around the villa are rough but we loved it for adventure snorkeling and jumping in. If the ocean is not for you the pool is lovely and well kept.

The Snorkeling and swimming, diving if you like is beyond compare. The adventurous will have a once in a lifetime experience. If you like chilling with a book and waiting on the sunset with a glass of wine you won't be disappointed either.

We took a trip to the tidal pool as shown in some of the photos. It is a bit of a walk and the volcanic rock is pointy but the trip is well worth it. I will post pictures. It is almost like being on another planet. Truly stunning.

Warning: It is a bit secluded. There is no shopping within walking distance so co-ordinate with Melissa for all your needs and arrangements before you arrive. A rental will come in handy for a location like this if you are looking to get to some excitement however drivers can be arranged included amongst the staff pretty easily.

Overall the best vacation I have had; and I travel a lot.

For adventurers and those that seek freedom and to be amongst the people when they travel Maranatha Villa is second to none.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Hopeton. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the villa. It was our pleasure to ensure that your group had a fantastic time. Next time try white water rafting on the Rio Bueno which finishes at the local beach. Best to drive to the beach as the walk is at least 10 minutes. Glad you had fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgalex98
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed at Maranatha Villas with my extended family for 2 weeks. There were 7 of us in total and everything was perfect.

Firstly, we were picked up from the airport promptly and brought straight to the villa.

The villa was lovely. Nicely decorated, well kept and clean.

There were nice big air conditioned bedrooms, a large living room / dining room and an amazing games room. We spent many hours playing table tennis and pool. All equipment was in the villa for our use.

Outside the grounds are amazingly well kept. There are so many fruit trees and a great pool which the children couldn't stay out of.

One of the highlights of the stay was snorkeling in the Caribbean sea which is at the end of the property. Once again, all the snorkeling equipment was provided as well as life jackets for safety.

The location of the villa was very good as it was not too far from the airport and also close to many tourist attractions and beaches.

We decided to have the staff at the villa cook for us and had some great family meals. This was great because it meant we could just enjoy our holiday and not worry about food.

All the staff went out of their way to accommodate us and ensure that we had a great stay.

Thanks to Melissa and family as well as Joy for providing such great service.

This villa is highly recommended.

We will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snorkeling in the Sea.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Really happy to hear that you enjoyed the snorkelling, fruits, the swimming pool and the games such as pool and table tennis. Next time try to snorkel to the beach, quite a variety of coral and fishes on the way there. Also the white water rafting down the Rio Bueno is really enjoyable. Will congratulate the staff and let them know that you had an enjoyable time and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodiruss
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Wedding at the Fabulous Maranatha Villa”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A truly phenomenal experience, the wonderful staff at Marantha Villa took care of all my wedding needs. They went above and beyond what I required and made my big day one I will never forget! I whole heartedly recommend them as the ideal venue for your destination wedding.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Really glad that your wedding went well. I saw some brilliant pictures. Will pass your appreciation onto the staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348ruth
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid! and Awesome Vacation”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Maranatha Villa is located in a serene spot on the edge of the ocean, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. This villa is spacious, beautiful and clean. You are able to pick fresh fruits such as mangoes, plums, nesberries, cherries from the trees, should you visit, usually, during the summer months. The staff at the villa were exceptional and friendly, especially the chef, Joy. She prepared some excellent meals. We were a group of eight and were picked up at the airport. The staff members were really helpful and ensure that all our needs were met. We stayed for two weeks. The private beach, Bengal, was a couple minutes drive from the villa. Some of the more experienced swimmers, swam from the villa to the beach. At the beach it is possible to do white water rafting along the Rio Bueno River, which I really enjoyed. You are able to do leisure walks within the area. The neighbourhood is friendly. I definitely will go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serene location and the food and fruits
Liked least: Everything was good.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Excellent that you and your friend enjoyed the villa. You were fortunate to be there during mango season, one of my favourite times there. I have also done the snorkel trip to the beach. Lots of coral reef and beautiful sights. Its easy on the way down but on the way back you are swimming against the current!!! Really pleased that the staff took care of you. Joy is a star.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace R
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I went to the villa with a few friends and we all enjoyed ourselves. The beach is only a 5/10 minute walk. Also there is a river called Rio Bueno where we did rafting. The villa had a great view looking unto the sea where we watched the sunset. Beautiful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Glad that you had a fabulous time. Next time if you stay for longer you can visit Green Grotto caves which is local and Colombus Park and also a special excursion into the hills to see Bob Marleys resting place. Really pleased that you and your friends enjoyed themselves
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing