We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ultimate Jerk Centre

Ultimate Jerk Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Don't forget to get your side of Jerk Sauce if you like Spicy. I went with six people and we all got something different from goat to chicken. It was all very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank babygail1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    81
    24
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The ambiance of this place is pretty decent, clean and not overly noisy, however there is a problem with mosquitos at night. The prices are pretty expensive (by Jamaican standards). Three of us went to this restaurant, a Friday night at about 7pm. We all had different things, stewed conch (which was indistinguishable from stewed anything else), jerked chicken (dry and NOT jerked but flamed cooked) and escoveith king fish (dry and tasteless). Overall, the food is generic and without flavour and it is served on plates and not given to the patron in a timely manner, because we could see our food on the plates sitting there for awhile until it was dispatched to us. The food, with the exception of the conch soup (still searching for the conch) was cold. We have never had bammy prepared like that either, dry and tasteless and flaky. I would be hesitant to recommend this establishment to any one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice local joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

First time in Jamaica, we had to try local food and this spot was 2miles from our hotel by cab (Grand Bahia). Good fast service, 1/4lb jerk pork+1/4lb jerk chicken+1/4lb jerk goat!!! $13 good deal
pork was hottest of all!, goat flavor was good not so much the look on the plate,... Enjoyed and would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wow, cant say much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place served us food we had heard of and some we had not, wow everything was to perfection, festival I am cooking myself now, for a taste of Jamaica, don't miss this place out, I doubt it could be beat, I will be returning when we go back for a second helping.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Oxfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best chicken Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Love this place. Ate there a few times, It is the place to try the Jerk Chicken, could get crowded with the buses coming in and out but worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeklMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ultimate Jerk Centre also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Ultimate Jerk Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing