We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent blend of history with modern and the dogs were hit!”

Caherconnell Stone Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.80*
and up
Full-Day Small-Group Cliffs Of Moher Day Trip from Limerick
More Info
US$66.82*
and up
Cliffs Of Moher Premium Tour from Dublin with Boat Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Caherconnell Stone Fort, situated 1km south of Poulnabrone dolmen in the heart of the Burren Ireland , offers you the opportunity to visit an exceptionally well - preserved example of the stone forts or stone ringforts which are to be found in the Burren Ireland.The fort is in its original state. Its position, overlooking virtually all-surrounding areas suggests a defensive settlement. Archaeological excavations take place each summer in association with 'CAFS' - Caherconnell Archaeological Field School- an International Field School accredited by NUI, Galway. As well as a trip to the Fort, visitors can also take in the Burren's Premier Sheepdog Demonstrations at Caherconnell,enjoying the combined skills of the farmer and the border collie as they work in the natural habitat of the Burren.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We read the reviews on the fort and sheepdog demonstrations and decided to head out for the site. We were not disappointed as we walked right into the first demonstration with Greg and his three dogs, Sally, Rosie and Lee. Lee was seriously testing Greg's patience as she was of a mind to herd the sheep her way and not his way! We all had a laugh as she obeyed his commands about 10% of the time and he tirelessly called her back with voice commands and tried not to laugh at her antics.
The dogs herded sheep and cattle and Greg responded to all our questions with an easy smile and endless funny answers. He showed us how to shear a very fat ewe who wasn't all that keen to be sheared all the while Lee kept trying to "help".
The ladies at the visitors center were so sweet and helpful with our questions about the site and other Burren related things to see and do.
Our three sons; ages 20, 12 and 7 truly enjoyed the fort with it's ancient stones and stories as well as seeing the sheep herding live and up close.

2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caherconnell_1, Front Office Manager at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Elizabeth M,

It is fair to say that Lee does have her moments, but mostly she is on her best behaviour! We're glad you enjoyed the demonstrations and everybody enjoyed the trip to the Fort, both are very different but they are wonderful examples of both the history/archaeology and farming in the Burren area. Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Caherconnell Stone Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

The idea of a sheep dog demonstration in an area we would be traversing (the Burren) was tempting. We are glad we succumbed. The dogs were impressive, and the handler didn't take a back seat either. He was so personal, and of course, well informed and competent at his herding job. Our 11 year old got to pet the dogs and hold one of the brand new lambs. We even were able to give her a little ancient history with the walking tour of the digs. Can't say for sure, but it might have piqued an interest for later in our trip at Dublinia where she signed up for the "dig session:" Because we were there before Easter, the schedule wasn't firmed up but the staff was outstanding in e-mailing changes and opportunities.

1  Thank noblegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caherconnell_1, Front Office Manager at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Noblegl,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Ireland and your trip to the Burren. Thank you for your review.

We hope the 'dig session' at Dublinia went well and the interest in history and archaeology stays with your daughter. The Fort is steeped in history and you do get a sense of that when you are there, it would be nice to think that Caherconnell piqued such an interest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Family owned and family run. The stone fort is beautiful. Gave a real sense of history. We were also impressed by the booklet which gave lots of information.

The demonstration of sheep and cattle herding dogs was fantastic. Lee and Rose were beautiful to watch, and John(?) really entertaining. We all had a wonderful time, especially the kids who even had a go themselves. The special care and interest of the people running the shop also impressed - they were so helpful and friendly, taking the time to talk to everyone. We chatted about dogs, got directions, and even a lesson for our kids in how to use the dog whistle they bought.

The cafe looked lovely but it was a bit early for lunch. However, I wish we had eaten there. The later options at Ailwee and Moher were just not as appealing.

Caherconnell has something for everyone I think, especially as a lot of the Burren would not necessarily appeal to older kids (almost teens). But this did. Or maybe it was the dogs :D

3  Thank RFLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caherconnell_1, Front Office Manager at Caherconnell Stone Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear RF,

We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Caherconnell. It is important to everyone here that anyone who visits enjoys their time at the Fort and the Sheepdog Demonstrations and we do think that the combination of both offers something that appeals to almost everyone.

Hopefully you will see you all again in the future. Next time you can try lunch in our Cafe and you can show us the progress you have made with the whistles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The sheepdog demonstration was worth every bit of the entrance cost. The dogs and the handler were fantastic. We loved every minute of it. Had a lovely lunch in the cafe - the best scones toate

3  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 April 2014

Hi Anne L,

Firstly thank you for your review. It is always great to hear such positive feedback. The sheepdogs are proving very popular. A lot of time is put into training them so we are delighted you enjoyed the show. As for the scones they would entice anyone to come and see the cafe! Glad you enjoyed your visit and if you re ever back in the area make sure to call in and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Didn't catch the sheepdogs but the stone fort educational experience is excellent. Had lunch there and all highly recommended.

2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 April 2014

Hi John E,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. A lot of time and effort has been put into it to make the visit to the fort as educational as possible. The cafe is one of our favourite things about the site! Glad you enjoyed it. If you are back around here in the future you should definitely see the sheepdog demonstrations. They are a 'must see'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caherconnell Stone Fort also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
Doolin, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Caherconnell Stone Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing