We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ropewalk

The Ropewalk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luc-sur-Orbieu, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having our own art studio I love going abroad and visiting other places. A close friend recommended the visit.
Whilst the art work on display was of an excellent quality, with colour, variety and texture the people working there were hard to engage and not really interetsed in communicating. A great shame.
I was tempted to purchase more than I did but the reception was cold, unfriendly and not what you would expect....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LunesArtandBijoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    11
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“different from the average museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not the biggest museum you have seen but very interesting if you like that sort of thing.
Has a very nice snack bar with some devious cakes etc

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comedy @ the Ropewalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Saw Rob Newman here on saturday night.
superb!
It was a bit like a Royal Society Christmas Lecture on acid.
As always, great venue, intimate, comfortable, value for money.
The art gallery, which is open during the day is well worth a visit,
& the cafe does a great lunch.
Looking forward to Mark Thomas next week.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Who runs this place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

On a rainy New Year's Day we decided to visit the Ropewalk to see the Lincolnshire Artists' exhibition and the assorted arts and crafts on show.

Before setting off, I checked the web site and the telephone answering service that confirmed that they were open from 10 until 4 on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

A great shame then that after a one hundred mile round trip, the clearly amateurish management of the place hadn't seen fit to bother advising potential visitors that they would not been open after all. Worst of all, we weren't the only ones inconvenienced. While we were doing our u-turn, several other cars arrived.

I sincerely hope that there is no local or central government funding being wasted on this place, it doesn't matter how good the content is if you can't see it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CandSLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely diversion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Really interesting history and lots of lovely handcrafted gifts on sale. Nice little diversion after visiting the Tesco store next door!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ropewalk also viewed

Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Ropewalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing