We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-upon-Humber
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MJB Barton-Upon-Humber, Milestone
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AVOID!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This review is for MJB Bristol House NR2 2RW, as this doss house isn't listed on tripadvisor! Avoid this place at all costs, I appreciate people want to get the best possible price for a city centre stay, but we arrived at this place and left 10 mins later, after getting a room at the Holiday Inn. We would have slept in our car it was that bad! It was absolutely disgusting, stank and was dirty. The bedding was filthy, and the non-existent pillows were brown. The bedding skirt was covered in white stains. We were put in a ground floor room, and the window had two panes of glass missing, was taped up and the latch was also broken. Many of the doors in the "hostel" had there handles broken off, or tampered with. AVOID at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLizGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    4
    2
    26
See reviews for
9
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

First of all, they do not inform about the reality of their property or the situation and paymen, the room was extreamly dirty, dirty bathroom, used sheets, from the people before, with hairs on the sheet and smeling very bad. I absolutly uncomfterable. Their carpet was so disgusting. I cant belive trip advisor suggested this, I dont trust their recomendation anymore.

Room Tip: Never stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenking26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This has to be the worst accommodation we have ever seen. We booked two rooms and then added a third a day later. We could not find Abbots B (as it was described in the email) and when we rang, the lady we spoke to was unhelpful, only advising that it was there. After some searching (about 30 mins) we decided to try Abbots Retreat and managed to gain entry to the property with the code supplied only to find that a second code was required to get into the room.
Another telphone call ensued during which the same lady repeatedly argued that we had the code (if only she had checked her emails). At one point she put the phone down on us and when we rang again she finally gave us the 2nd code.

The room was quite literally a cess pit! There are bigger broom cupboards and cleaner dog kennels. The building is about 200 years old and the decor has not changed much in that time.

We moved onto Hardsy's barn where we had 2 rooms booked. Early success here as both the entrance code and the codes to the two rooms worked. Both rooms looked ok for the price we paid (£30), which brought to reality that the room at Abbots was possibly a £10-£15 a night room.
The bathrooms were a bit pokey and both showers were unsuitable - one had no shower head, but we could cope for one night.

Another telephone call followed to complain about the quality of Abbotts. After an initial period of rudeness (again) we were offered the alternative of Ribstone 1. We were quite excited about this as our ancestor had lived there in the 1840's and as we were on a heritage trail it fitted in nicely. It was a small cottage 2 up, 2 down. Cooking facilities comprised of a kettle, toaster and microwave. There was a TV, but the 2 armchairs in the 'living room' were only fit for the rubbish tip. The original colourings of pale blue and orange had disintegrated into dark green and claret. with a sticky coating. A coat of paint on the walls and woodwork would have done wonders.

Back to Hardy's where it became apparent soon after bedtime that the beds in both rooms were the most uncomfortable ever.

Security is a bit worrying and the rooms look nothing like the photos. If you want something to eat don't rely on the local pubs. One doesn't serve food on Mon/Tues and the other not at all. There are a couple of takeaways and the local butcher Seargent's sell some nice pies and pastries.

Overall - customer service 1, rudeness 10, experience -1. Please also read the terms and conditions of your booking. They like to impose 'fines' for anything they fancy based upon their own set of badly written rules.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MORGOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend. When we arrived it looked ok, however the car park was a right pain with slopes and sharp bends with no mirror on the wall to see what was coming the other way! The room looked nothing like the pictures! there was holes in the walls, coving missing and a very bad paint job. The bedding and towels smelt dirty and the bathroom seemed to have the last occupents hair left in the bath. The entire place smelt of cigarette smoke. If your looking for somewhere quiet you won't find it here, the walls are so thin you can hear everything that happens at the other end of Hardys Barn! The bath had shower facilities that had been dismantled and the bath happened to be very small. Neither me or my boyfriend could sit in it comfortably. There are no fire exit signs except if you look in the takeaway down the street!! The website said we'd have access to a communal kitchen and loungem, however this was not the case! The man on the phone very rude and unpolite when we telephoned asking about the shower and kitchen. When we complained about smoke, we were told the night porter was in norwich so there was nothing that could be done. There are no staff onsite at this hotel. Very shabbing and should be investigated! Overall a very dissappointing hotel. Definetly not worth the price tag it comes with!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else, this is not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

stayed here with my girfreind for 3 nights, and first impressions were not inviting. There were yellow staines on the door, and a half the coving was missing. We had to find the room ourselfs as there was no staff to assist with checking in. when we booked the room it said there was a cumunial kitchen and lounge, but were not allowed to use it as we 'hadn't booked it'. in our ensuite, a shower was provied but had no shower head meaning that we couldn't use it. so instead we had to have a bath which was really small. we rung the manager to explain our disgust at the kitchen and shower situations, however the man we spoke to was rude to us, and was very unwelcoming as well as being unfreindly offering no support to us whatsoever. we later discovered that the towels, or the bedding were not fresh and additonally there was hairs in the bath.

On every single door, there are no smoking signs but still the building stank of ciggorate smoke, and there was only 1 fire exit sign in the entire building, which in my mind is a major risk.

on the upside the local pub and take away were nice.

Room Tip: don't even consider staying here, you will only be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simondo190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Where to start?
We thought we may have found a hidden gem here, but couldnt have been more wrong.
Apartment was filthy, carpets were stained and dirty beyond belief. Out of 8 available light bulbs in the place only 4 worked. Kitchen cupboards were either screwed close or broken. (And filthy)
The place had an incredibly bad odor. Old air fresheners littered the place, but were all empty.
No shower, bathroom was aboslutely filthy, mold and dirt everywhere.
We had booked this apartment based on the photographs and reviews. The photographs were NOT this apartment (None of the many photographs we viewed were this place or any of the apartments within this small complex). The reviews were obviously posted by staff or owners, as none of the comments posted pertained to the apartment we were allocated, and were all untrue.
We had booked this apartment for 7 days and were so disgusted with the state of the place that we only actually stayed for one night, booking into another local pub on the second day. Several phone calls to the telephone number provided were unanswered. Apparantly all complaints must be made by email on arrival......Pretty difficult to do if you do not carry an internet enabled device with you
I really believe that outfits like this MJB Hotels should be checked out before being allowed to falsely advertise on reputable sites like Expedia. The photographs were so misleading they actually border on fraud..

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED - BUYER BEWARE!

Room Tip: Choose alternative accommodation. This place is filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

If you are looking for self-catering accommodation in the area for a few days this is fine. The property has everything you need. Yes - the fittings are a little tired but the property was clean. The passcode emailed to us worked fine. All in all fine for a couple days so long you are not expecting luxury and at £30 pn it's very good value (thats for two people!).

Room Tip: Take a torch, as the keypad is in a dark corner, if you arrive at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barton-upon-Humber hotels
2.9 mi away
Barton Guest House
Barton Guest House
#1 of 4 in Barton-upon-Humber
31 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 3 in Barton-upon-Humber
98 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Humber Bridge Country Hotel
The Humber Bridge Country Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barton-upon-Humber
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MJB Barton-Upon-Humber, Milestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MJB Barton-Upon-Humber, Milestone

Property: MJB Barton-Upon-Humber, Milestone
Address: 21 Whitecross Street, Barton-upon-Humber DN18 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Barton-upon-Humber
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Barton-upon-Humber
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing