We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Indian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raj

Raj
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I last visited the Raj on New Year's Eve as the Indian restaurant we'd originally booked a table at was unable to accommodate us.
From the moment we arrived at the Raj we were treated superbly and they were eventually able to make room for us. The menu was varied and the dishes reasonably priced. The options we chose were delicious, well flavoured and nicely presented.
The staff were friendly and courteous.
All in all, what could have been a disastrous evening turned out brilliantly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Recently had a very rude experience with the establishment opposite The Raj (namely The Surma) which resulted in the meal being taken at The Raj, and am pleased to say it was fabulous. The food is delicious, the staff are extremely polite and more than helpful. I very welcoming restaurant serving top quality food. MUCH better than The Surma - which does provide excellent food, but only if you are prepared to wait 2 hours before your starter arrives!
Will continue my business now with The Raj, sorry Surma, it's not JUST about the food!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank philbingham71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had not been in here for a while, its under new ownership. the food was first class & top quality. The service was very good too with nothing being too much trouble & we was made to fell very welcome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I had found out prior to visiting the Raj, that it had changed owners since my previous visit and this had made me dubious as it had always been my favourite curry house in the area and therefore I had extremely high expectations! The restaurant was well decorated, staff were welcoming, and despite the very basic layout and some spelling mistakes on the menu, there was a good choice of dishes to choose from. I felt that I was comparing everything i.e service, food, menus etc to my last visit, which had been of a high standard with previous owners. The pickle tray did not have as much to choose from compared to my previous visit, but was still tasty. The meal was exceptional. The food was full of flavour and the portions were generous. The service was good, staff were helpful with meal choices and made sure our glasses were always filled. Generally a very pleasant experience, would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey_Badger34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton on humber
1 review
“very poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

30 of us booked a meal for 18/04 2013 we had all chosen the food we wanted prior to arriving.The meal was booked for 8.30pm just 1course each,the service was terrible, main courses arrived & 20mins later the rice or chips arrived.by which time the main course was cold & had to be sent back.we have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions over the years & have always enjoyed the food & service with the previous management.We finally finished @ 11. 30pm for 1 course.!! also no heaters on the table to keep food warm & no hot towels to wipe hands on.we will not be going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raj also viewed

Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing