We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, would go back to stay!”

Five Bells Public House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claypole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Five Bells Public House
Ranked #1 of 1 Claypole B&B and Inns
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good, would go back to stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were going to a wedding nearby and this was the nearest b&b so we went for it! It was lovely, nice local pub, clean newly furnished hotel rooms, little touches eg cookies in the room! Bar was busy with locals which is a good sign! Had a good nights sleep and an enjoyable breakfast, would totally recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A very friendly local pub with accommodation . Martin is the landlord of this fine country pub situated in Claypole. I was on a one night stay whilst hunting for a caravan on my way to north wales . The welcome was reserved but warm in this delightful little pub , which is tastefully decorated and very homely. This is a real ale house too as well as a good choice of lagers etc . I was show up to room 4, nice room spacious and impeccably clean, with tea and coffee and a jar of cookies too. Good shower and plenty of towels and a lovely comfortable bed with quality linen.
The restaurant menu was very good and extensive , I had a starter of garlic mushrooms on toast , and a main course of steak chips and peas, it was well cooked and good service from the young server who was very polite. Martin refreshed my glass as needed and the locals in the bar were very friendly bunch. The only small negative was I couldn't get wifi , but this sometimes happens with apple , maybe just the router needs a update.. Breakfast was cooked well with good quality bacon , local sausage and tomatoes , fried egg and mushrooms , toast and orange juice and tea and of course a choice of cereals . I can't recommend this highly enough you certainly wouldn't be disappointed I know I wasn't. Thanks to Martin and the team .

Room Tip: Room 4 was great, but I'm sure all must be of the same standard here, no hesitation in recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark on trent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Food always fresh and good selection of "Specials" ; I like the steak & stilton pie !
Always 4 guest "real Ales" available, plus other beers and ciders; Only five minutes off the A1 for drivers on that road;

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

As did a previous traveller who wrote on here, we stayed over after attending a wedding at Subton Hall.

The owner was fantastic and kmade us really welcome, we was also able to check in early in the morning so we coudl get ready for the wedding whcih was really appreciated.

Breakfast was good with a great choice of what we could have.

The only issue I had was although the rest of the room was clean there was a couple of pubic hairs on the skirting board by the shower which made me feel a bit ill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as needed to be close to Stubton Hall for a wedding. We got there very early and as no one had stayed in the room the night before the lady allowed us to check in at 10.45am, which we really appreciated. The room was lovely, comfy bed and nice touch with the cookies.

Breakfast the next morning was fine, although had to wait awhile for the toast by which time it arrived I had finished my breakfast.

Overall we had a great stay and if we needed to stay in the area wouldn't hesitate to stay again as was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely B and B. As single traveller made to feel welcome. Rooms good size, clean, modern and most of all comfortable. Perfect location for Stubton Hall. Wide range of food on offer. If I was up this way would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbysalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here when attending a wedding reception at stubton hall, hotel was lovely, rooms were fantastic, a lot better than we initially expected. Breakfast was really yummy too and the staff were very friendly. Would recommend to family and friends. X

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claypole
4.1 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
334 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
3.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Maypole at Wellow
The Maypole at Wellow
#17 of 37 in Newark-on-Trent
107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Staunton Arms
The Staunton Arms
#1 of 1 in Staunton in the Vale
163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Willow Tree Cottages
Willow Tree Cottages
#15 of 37 in Newark-on-Trent
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Bells Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Bells Public House

Property: Five Bells Public House
Address: 95 Main Street, Claypole NG23 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Claypole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claypole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House, Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing