We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Home from Home a real treat!”
other travellers have booked this property
1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1
2 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tattershall, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline1...
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Home from Home a real treat!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is our second visit to Waterside Lodge and most definitely will not be the last.
A truly idyllic setting next to the lake, nice and peaceful, relaxing. Not fishermen ourselves, but is lovely to watch the ducks swimming on the lake, and then waddling up the garden to greet us. When we were at the lodge back in September we were treated to the most spectacular air display by the Lancaster, Vulcan and Tornadoes taking off and landing at the nearby airport. The tornadoes can be quite noisy but we would never get to see such a sight at home. The park is the perfect location to take part in watersports being keen jetskiers ourselves. The personal welcome from Kim the owner is a really nice touch and nothing is too much trouble. The lodge is immaculate, and truly welcoming. Would most definitely recommend this holiday let to my friends and family. Thank you Kim for another wonderful holiday. see you soon. xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being met at the door by owner Kim xx
Liked least: Having to come home after a great weekend
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindaz407
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful log cabin in gorgeous surroundings”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

if it's peace and tranquillity you are after then this little treasure will not disappoint. A fisherman's dream residence,a very well equipped and comfortable cabin with it's very own private fishing platform just a few steps from the patio door. Owned and let by Kim, her attention to detail and welcome is second to none, a very friendly lady who we will look forward to talking to and booking with again. A very enjoyable long weekend away was had by us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and personal welcome
Liked least: Our stay wasn't long enough
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey Y
2 reviews
“Ideal Lodge for a Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our first stay at the Lakeside Lodge and wont be our last as it was a really enjoyable, relaxing break.
Kim made us feel very welcome at the lodge from start to finish of the break. We had Champagne, Chocolates and even dog biscuits for our dogs on arrival and the Lodge was immaculate with a well lit Log Burner ready to keep us warm.
There is a private fishing peg which was ideal for my husband and son as when it got too cold for them they just popped back into the Lodge for a warm.
We were also made very welcome at the pub near to the site which was just walking distance.
We will be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the Lodge
Liked least: Cold weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTO14
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday (once again) in a home from home!”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was our second stay in a month and on both occasions we enjoyed a faultless holiday in a perfect home from home.
Kim, the owner of the lodge, is a wonderful genuine lady who clearly takes pride in the lodge and also the comfort of her guests. Communication with Kim is always very quick, friendly and efficient and Kim is always very pleasant to talk to. Kim ensures you have a tour of the lodge, if needed, and ensures the lodge is warm and inviting when you arrive. We didn't have any problems during our stay but I'm sure if we did then they would be resolved immediately!

The Lodge - exceptional! The lodge is immaculate with all the additional items you may need for a long or short stay. There are a variety of books, an Xbox with games, DVDs (childrens DVDs included) and board games if needed. The living room is extremely comfortable with a log burning stove, two large couches and six seater dining table. The kitchen has a large fridge freezer with dishwasher, microwave, cutlery, plates, cups/glasses and a multitude of pots and pans (if you feel inclined to cook!). The bedroom in which we stayed was very comfortable and warm with a TV and ample storage space. The second bedroom has another double bed with double wardrobe and the third bedroom has twin beds with storage. The bath over shower is powerful with plenty of hot water. The lodge also has a hoover plus cleaning products for those who love to clean. There is sufficient safe parking for at least two cars. Outside is a patio with BBQ and chairs and to the front of the property is a patio table and chairs. Even though there are neighbouring properties the lodge still felt secluded and private. The lodge is exceptionally clean throughout, warm and inviting and stocks everything you may need.

The fishing - again, exceptional. There is a private fishing peg which can be accessed via the rear patio doors or via the side of the lodge. We caught plenty of carp, tench, silver fish, perch (and one pike) during our two stays here. The lodge is situated on Duck Lake which seems to be quieter than some of the other lakes. We saw some beautful sunsets over the lake and it's a fabulous place to take photos.

Surrounding area - we didn't venture too far into the main complex due to fishing! However, it does have a swimming pool, sauna, treatment room, arcades, mini beach, walks and places to eat. We visited the Battle of Britain Memorial (approx 5-10mins away by car) with a tour of the hanger. We viewed Spitfires, Hurricanes, a Dakota and the Lancaster Bomber with touching memorials to the many who sacrified their lives. The RAF base is close to Tattershall which means planes/jets do fly over during the day and evening. However, this was not incessant and it didn't bother us at all (even the fighter jets). It's an excellent opportunity for photo shots and to see the planes at relatively close quarters. The area overall is peaceful and we found it perfect for both a relaxing break and with friends.

Overall, a holiday we could simply not fault (not that we tried!).

We are looking forward to booking again soon. Thankyou Kim!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole stay - faultless!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captnemo1...
Berkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly as described”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful lodge, very well decorated and furnished - a real home from home. The location on the site is perfect, right next to the duck lagoon. The log burner was lit for our arrival, together with some Cava and biscuits for the dog. The owner Kim made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 4* standard of the lodge
Liked least: the shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeJulie66...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lodge for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Fantastic short break at Kim's lodge. Every single amenity you could possibly need. There was a very warm welcome from host Kim and we were shown around a beautifully presented and spotlessly clean log cabin. The beds were extremely comfortable, as was the whole place. There is a lovely peaceful feeling and the view out onto the lake is beautiful. We visited the pub which is just down the road and had good food and service on both occasions. The x-box, dvds and games added a nice touch and we enjoyed some quality family time. We will definitely recommend to others and hope to return there ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds, log burner, position
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilliRevi...
Lincoln.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Literally perfect”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fantastic weekend staying here with our 2 year old and a couple of friends. The review will be broken down into three parts;

The Owner - Kim was a wonderful host, her level of communication is exceptional. We had lots of emails back and forth from booking until arrival, all of which were answered quickly and friendly. Kim guided us to the lodge on the phone and was stood outside to greet us with a smile. She gave an informal but thorough tour of the log cabin which made us feel very welcome. On leaving the cabin Kim arrived exactly when she said she would, lots of hosts will just want to see you out of the door as quickly as possible so they can turn it around for the next guests but Kim took her time to find out how we enjoyed the weekend and genuinely seemed interested to hear our thoughts.

Waterside Lodge - The cabin is exceptional!! It is not one of these faux log cabins which are actually static caravans with a wood effect fascia. This is a completely wooden log cabin finished to a very high standard. It has every amenity you could think of and some you wouldn't such as a dishwasher, board games, Xbox and a wide variety of DVDs and books. The rooms are huge and the beds are incredibly comfy. Fantastically high ceilings, tonnes of storage, log burner, 2 large couches, a dining table for 6 all of which are spotlessly clean. Outside the property there is a bbq to use, sun loungers and an outdoors dining table and chairs. My only trepidation was that the shower was an over bath mixer tap but this was soon dispelled as soon as I used it as it is just as good, if not better than our a power shower at home.

On a side note, the neighbouring lodge was celebrating a birthday / engagement and had music playing until the early hours but this was completely inaudible once you are inside the cabin, so they are very well sound proofed.

The Fishing - Kim allowed us an early arrival so we could get a headstart on the day's fishing which we were very grateful for. The cabin has it's own private peg and a shared one with next door. There are a lot of fish in this lake, over the 1.5 days, between the two of us we caught Tench, Bream (40+), Perch, Rudd, Roach, Carp (x4) and randomly a Pike.. We mainly fished corn and red maggots. It seemed almost every fish could be caught on red maggots but if you want to avoid the silvers then stick to corn and boilies. The peg itself is very well maintained and can easily fit 2 full setups on the peg which has a tree on either side but lots of space to cast out. Overall we were very pleased with the amount of fish on offer especially this late on in the year! There are certainly some carp in there well into double digits but we weren't fortunate to have any of them on the bank, this time at least.. Please note the lake is called duck lagoon and there are a lot of ducks!! when you are baiting up you can have 50 or so swarming around you but if you are persistent with shooing them away they will eventually leave you alone or you can employ someone to feed them away from where you are fishing..

Please see my photos which show more of the cabin and fishing on offer.

All in all this is a fantastic location for short or long breaks no matter what you are in to, be it romantic couples, fisherman or families.

Thanks. Can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The ducks
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing