We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve”
Review of The Brownlow Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brownlow Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went here to celebrate new years with my girlfriend and the Brownlow was the perfect place for the occasion. The food was fantastic,it has to be the best food i have ever eaten in my life,i could not fault a single dish, i would strongly recommend. The service was of a top quality and all waitresses were very helpful on making the night one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 384jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
68
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I dined here with three other friends and I was both impressed and amazed. The service was excellent, the managers and waiting staff really go the extra mile to ensure you're comfortable and enjoying your meal. The food is impeccable and there is great variety in the menu (so much so that it was difficult to choose!) It is quite pricy but you definitely get what you pay for with every meal being of the highest standard. If you enjoy really good food and want a high quality experience then I would definitely recommend The Brownlow Arms, I will definitely be returning and may even stay the night!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jmcharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford lincs
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I've been here loads of times as I'm local but just feel the need to write a review beings as I haven't yet! The food here is another level, absolutely fantastic I don't think I've been anywhere better and that's saying some, I have also staid twice and the rooms are as good as any 5star hotel I've stayed in, if you haven't been here before and you are in the area you must try, it is being refurbished in man for two weeks so will be closed but reopened on 17th jan. Love this place

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phoebewillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Went with family for Sunday/Christmas meal. The menu as usual was excellent with a good choice. Atmosphere was good, buzzing but still quiet enough to enjoy our meal. Service was very good, waitress very attentive. Been before on several occasions, usual superb standard..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Situated in a picturesque village, The Brownlow Arms is really worth a visit. I had a warm welcome, the room was finished to a high standard and the cleanliness exceptional.

Dinner was delicious, very generous portions and the menu was so good it was hard to choose.

The owner and staff go the extra mile to make for a flawless experience, very attentive snd generally wonderful - this is an top example of how to run a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely but I think all the rooms are to a high standard here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovely_Liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arrived to find a lovely small room with shower no bath. Given help with my ton of luggage which was a great start.
Had delicious fish for dinner and a pudding to die for, lovely waitress, helpful and patient which is nice when you're eating alone.
To bed in a lovely comfie bed, peaceful inside and outside and I slept like a log.
Friendly service at breakfast. I had a very busy and sociable few days so each time had either just toast or minimal breakfast (1 sausage & poached egg) so I wasn't over full. No one rushed me, no frantic feel, nice. 10/10.
My stay continued to be pleasant, though getting out of that comfie bed was hard!
The third night friends joined me for dinner. They had introduced me to the Brownlow some years ago. I liked eating there so much that I decided to try the accommodation there rather than Grantham where my business lay.
Would I stay there again? It was definitely less conveniently placed than the usual place in Grantham, but no place is worth staying at again if you aren't rested and in town there are church bells and loud drunks to disturb. The three days are always extremely hectic, starting from a restful night makes them much easier to deal with and the Brownlow Arms provided one weary traveller with three restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well done to the chef...food is excellent. I can recommend the beetrOot gravadlax and the duck...duck was beautifully cooked. If you like good food you will like it here and you will not be disappointed. Downside is prices are London prices..but upside is food is London restaurant standard..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 450bella450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hough-on-the-Hill
4.3 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
16.2 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Grantham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hare & Hounds Inn
Hare & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in Fulbeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brownlow Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brownlow Arms

Property: The Brownlow Arms
Address: Grantham Road, Hough-on-the-Hill NG32 2AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Hough-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hough-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Brownlow Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Brownlow Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brownlow Arms Hotel Hough-On-The-Hill
The Brownlow Arms Hough-On-The-Hill, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing