We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laser cutting, giggles, cake and a dodgy drawn design by me!”

Shore Cottage Studio Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Creative courses by the sea, multi-award winning studio in Wirral Merseyside. Spend one or two days with us and we'll give you time and space to make something unique. We offer photography, textile art and laser cutting courses.
Reviewed 2 October 2016

From the moment I stepped into the shore cottage studio, I felt at ease: having anxiety and being in a new place Sue and Kris were very welcoming.
Kris' workshop was great and we got to focus on what we (myself and other participant, great to have just 2 people on the course at a time)

Lovely homemade lunch and cake. Good conversation, all mixed with a bit of humour.
I recommend this course, I want to do other courses soon :-)
It was also lovely to meet Laura who helped me when time was running away from me.

Thank you all, I hope to see you all soon
Mei-Yee xxx

Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Owner at Shore Cottage Studio Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Hi Mei-Yee,

Thanks for your lovely review, and thanks for booking again so soon!

Having such small classes for Laser cutting means we can tailor the content for each individual, to help you get the most out of your time with us.

See you soon,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fused glass"
in 10 reviews
"biscuits"
in 8 reviews
"cake"
in 9 reviews
"two days"
in 6 reviews
"excellent tuition"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful location"
in 4 reviews
"fabulous days"
in 4 reviews
"lovely homemade"
in 4 reviews
"thank you so much"
in 4 reviews
"lunch and afternoon tea"
in 3 reviews
"my birthday"
in 3 reviews
"great teacher"
in 3 reviews
"homemade food"
in 3 reviews
"learning how"
in 3 reviews
"home made"
in 2 reviews
"design ideas"
in 2 reviews
"feel very welcome"
in 2 reviews
Filter

64 - 68 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

I visited the Shore Cottage Studio with two friends for the glass fusion workshop, it was my 2nd visit. We were given a very warm welcome by Laura and Sue. Laura explained what we would be doing and we were soon absorbed in our projects. We had a few breakages in the cooking process but Laura assured us that it wasn't anything that we had done. We persevered and were able to produce a perfect piece to be mounted in a frame. Whilst our pieces were being cooked we relaxed with tea and cake, chatting and overlooking the estuary. Finally it was time to go home, we set off up the steps back to the car park clutching our precious creations and reflecting on what a fantastic afternoon we'd had. Give the studio a visit, you will not be disappointed. I'm hoping to be able to return very soon.

Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Owner at Shore Cottage Studio Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for your great review Sally, we do find that once a person has fallen in love with the studio that they want to come back, and bring their friends! Most visitors can think of some friends, work colleagues, or relatives who would also love the place, so thank you so much for spreading the word.

Fused glass can be a temperamental thing once it is in the microwave kiln so an initial breakage is certainly nothing to take to heart - your final pieces turned out beautifully!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon, perhaps you'll try a different course next time? How about a textile seascape?

All best wishes,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

If you are reading this review, just go, you won't regret it. I promise. Stunning location, fabulous tuition and general gorgeousness in every direction you could possibly look. If you eventually get bored of looking at the panoramic sea views (trust me, you won't), you can feast your eyes on a huge amount of creative amazingness within the Studio itself. It will blow your socks off and you will learn a real skill in the process. The tuition was tailored to what I needed and I got an awful lot out of it. Thank you xx

Thank Janey034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Owner at Shore Cottage Studio Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hi Janey, wow what a lovely review!

We like to make sure our course participants are inspired by every aspect of their visit; our location, the studio itself, our welcome, our teaching, our food, and our creativity. We hope our environment lends itself to sparking ideas and supporting and nurturing new skills. Return visitors tell us they spot new things they'd missed first time round and our own artworks and displays are ever evolving.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

Laura, Kris, and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I attended the 2 day laser cutting course which was run by Kris. The one on one tuition was excellent and Kris took an active interest in what we wanted to use the laser cutter for so that he could tailor the training. Materials were all provided a X we were able to take our creations home. We were able to focus on our areas of interest and learnt all about how the machines worked. Kris gave some excellent advice if we were to purchase our own machines.
Very friendly environment, excellent location with fabulous views and the lunches were lovely. I round highly recommend.

Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Owner at Shore Cottage Studio Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Carolyn thank you so much for your kind review, we keep the numbers deliberately small for the laser courses so we can tailor the content to our guests. (Some folk want to know the ins and outs of how the machine works, whilst others simply want to create beautiful personal objects and are not bothered about pipework and air vents!)

Kris is actually out today doing a 'house call' bespoke one day session for a previous laser course customer who has since bought a cutter and wanted one-to-one tuition to get him up and running in his own home.

Do keep in touch as we'd love to see the types of things you make at home if you do go for the plunge and buy your own.

All best wishes,

Laura, Kris, and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Spent 2 days in this charming studio learning how to create a variety of projects, by cutting and etching using the Laser cutter. Kris, with patience and expertise advised and guided me through the process and I came away refreshed and enthused.
My husband was able to take a photography course at the same time
Such a lovely family running Shore Cottage Studio....it's a special space.

Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H, Owner at Shore Cottage Studio Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you for your kind review Vicky,

It was great to put on a bespoke date for you both, being able to learn something new but entirely different to your other half whilst sharing lunches and tea breaks is a brilliant reason to spend some time with us at the studio.

As the pair of you had the place to yourself we especially loved welcoming Dandy, your super-well-behaved little dog, to the studio - we hope to create a homely learning environment for our courses and he slotted right in - even proving to be a stunning photographer's model when he joined us on the photo walk!

Hope to welcome you all back soon,

Laura, Kris, and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shore Cottage Studio Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Shore Cottage Studio Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing