We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of a visit......from the Health people!!”
Review of Hillingdon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillingdon Lodge
Ranked #8 of 8 Uxbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Needed an overnight in a hurry so didn't do my normal research. Good location, right next to A40, cheap, £50 B&B for one so went ahead.
Soon as you walk in the 'reception/dining/lounge' area you can see and smell it's not clean. Smoking in the office which wafted through the downstairs.
Room itself was dismal with badly marked walls, tired furniture which was dusty and grimy and grubby net curtain. Bathroom white furniture was reasonably clean but window was filthy with cobwebs and dead flies.
Tray was poorly laid with three loose tea bags straight from Cash & Carry bulk bag.
It was explained it was continental breakfast but even that was a joke!!!! Bag of sliced bread next to old toaster, dirty knife for plastic pot of butter, opened jar of jam and marmalade and some boxes of assorted 'soggies'.
Table not laid but pile of cups, mugs and glasses to help yourself to tea, coffee and boxed orange juice!!
I've travelled around the world and UK and this was the worst!!!!
Be Trip Advised and avoid!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

How has this hotel received a trading licence?. Filth everywhere. The whole place should be condemned. We could not bear to eat our paid for breakfast because of the state of everything.
I dread think what the areas that we could not see were like, judging by the public areas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

For the low price you would expect a very basic but clean room. It was basic but it was also the filthiest place I've ever seen. I'm shocked a place as shabby as this is allowed to exist. I'd booked 3 rooms for a one night stay and each room was worse than the last! Locks that didn't work, stains up the walls, a vile musty smell and bathrooms that looked like something from the young ones! Do not stay here this place should be closed down.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fobgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I had the misfortune to spend one night out of two booked at Hillingdon Lodge. Don't go there. Bedroom dirty. Filth encrusted on doors and skirting boards. Dont touch the bannisters. Bathroom filthy. Black mould creeping up the inside and outside of shower. Toilet smelly. Hand basin so small could not get kettle under tap to fill it. Someone had died under the bed because the dust was thick there. TV aerial festooned across ceiling and out of window between window and frame. Bedside lamp on table unfortunately no socket to plug it into.Breakfast was do it yourself toast from value bread in plastic wrapping, communal jar of jam or marmalade, and not butter but large carton of something not butter Soap in Shower had been used frequently, put it in bin after I had tried to clean off worst of dirt from around handles on doors. Came back at 7.00pm bed not made, room not cleaned, dirty cup still there from early morning. Could not face another night, tossed up between sleeping in car or driving 80 miles back home. Decided to drive . Complained but they could not understand that it was awful. Other guests were also leaving. They got their money back so did I.Who grades these places. Have reported to local authority..

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucretiaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Location only good thing about this hotel.Filthy bathrooms,filthy bed linen,smelt of smoke.Breakfast was not continental loaf of bread with jam and few cereals,placed on a very grubby looking table cloth in a very tatty and dirty reception area.Sites should be fined for any recommendation to this sordid place.It is a health and safety risk and should be closed down immediatley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazsmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My friend and i stayed at the Hillingdon in December, She had a room with her husband i had a single, Firstly the location is ok, right next to the tube so easy access to London, Shops and take aways within walking distance.

Rooms: Dirty, Disgusting and smelly is the only way i can describe my room, there was a cleaning cloth on a chair when i entered, i used this to clean away all the dust from the tv screen and around the wooden bed.

The bathroom, Mildew in the shower, black slime in the base, the glass shower screen looked like it hadnt been cleaned for years !! There was a block of soap on the side that was so old it was cracked and hard ..

There was a hole in my bedroom wall which was a little scarey as someone could have easily peeped thru from the other side, this was covered over with a royal mail parcel card !!!

We didnt make it for " Continental breakfast" smart price cornflakes in a plastic tub, smart price bread and jam and stork margarine, we chose to go to the little cafe across the road for poached eggs on toast (they where gorgeous)

Its sad really that the owners dont make the most of this hotel, its in a good location, its quite large but could with a little love and care .. possibly with a womans touch get much better reviews ..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Booked last minute, wished I hadn't.

Turned up and what I saw amazed me, went into the communal area with my wife. I was asked for my name and credit card, not a very pleasent man. But what I saw was an extremely tired run down place, the area smelled there was damp on the walls, so that's as far as I got.

I made a phone call to a friend and pleaded for the use of his spare room for the night.

So didn't even get to the room, walked out and headed to my mates house. It cost me £60 for the experience, money well spent, I couldn't have put my wife through it?!?

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcgregor529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uxbridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Uxbridge Central
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Uxbridge Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 5 in Uxbridge
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5 in Uxbridge
71 reviews
2.6 mi away
The WatersEdge Canal Cottages
4 mi away
Blackjacks Mill
Blackjacks Mill
#5 of 8 in Uxbridge
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Lodge

Address: 2A Hercies Road | Hillindon, Uxbridge UB10 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Uxbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Uxbridge
Price Range: £45 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillingdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillingdon Hotel Uxbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing