We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So Good”
Review of Breakspear Arms

Breakspear Arms
Ranked #31 of 153 Restaurants in Uxbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A taste bud delight, where East meets West. Sitting within eyes view of the former Breakspear House, once the home of the first and only English Pope, Nicholas Breakspear, the Breakspear Arms, will for the first time, bring a taste of India to its menu. The Traditional Northern Indian cuisine, which can be savoured either in the relaxed environment of the newly refurbished premises or enjoyed at home, courtesy of the free local delivery service (3 mile radius), sits proudly alongside traditional British favourites including a full carvery and cooked English buffet breakfast which can be enjoyed in our restaurant. We are also able to offer a full catering service at your venue, including cooking on site.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you see Indian families eating in in an Indian restaurant, then you know you are
on to a winner. This place was full of families, and the food was outstanding.

This is half standard pub, half Indian restaurant, and although it is not far from where I
live, i had no idea such a gem was so close to me. I am gutted that I did not discover
it earlier, as I am about to move away from the area for good.

You could taste every spice, in each piece of food, and every bit was excellent. The service was friendly, relaxed, and there was great pride in th3e dishes they served.

After going here, you won't want to eat Indian food anywhere else.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidB_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review. It is for this exact reason we love what we do and we strive for every customer to have the same experience as yourself.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had dinner with a family of 10 here this evening. The resturant has so many flies we kept our food covered it was disgusting they kept landing on the food. Service was very bad and the food was average. Would not go back to it again! Who wants to share your food with flies!!

1  Thank Sushma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Having met up in the area we decided to pop into the pub for lunch. There was a very limited sandwich menu and little else to have as a light lunch. The service was indifferent to say the least and I really object to people clearing the table before everyone has finished and the cost was phenomenal, two burgers and two sandwiches, an orange and a coffee for £43 odd pounds. I left feeling mugged and won't be returning.

2  Thank 76mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We take every review seriously, good or bad.
I will definitely pass on your feedback about clearing the table before everyone has finished.
As you well know, as a pub/restaurant, we have a menu with all the items we serve and the prices are clearly labelled. We also have a specials board with the days offerings and the prices. I'm sorry you felt 'mugged' but our prices are there for everyone to see and it's up to the individual to place an order or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Took my son out for his birthday lunch at this pub as highly recommended by my Asian family. We wanted to sit outside as a gorgeous day and was told we had to order everything at the bar , fair enough ,but why add 12% service charge!!
We ordered the mixed grill for starters and ‘ authentic ‘ Goan fish curry and Daal Makhani with tandoori Rotis as main .
Firstly the red house wine was rank so had to get some lemonade to make it more platable ( having to go and order from bar again !)
Next , to our dismay, all the food came together instead of separate courses , and as it was nearly 3pm and very hungry, we began to eat.. WELL, the mixed grill was cold sitting on barely cooked white onions, Goan curry was definitely not ‘authentic ‘ as tasted only of lots of sugar.. the daal was yummy as the rotis albeit, cold
On paying the bill at the bar , I asked for the manager and told ‘ he’s over there’ so had to ask to speak to him to complain about the cold food .. he was not interested in listening to me as had his eyes glued to the cricket on the tv but did not charge us for the cold mixed grill . Also noticed we had been charged for a salad that another table had , so had to ask to deduct that . No apology nor remorse, so I won’t be going there again !!
Moral of the story ... CHECK YOUR BILL!!!

2  Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review. I'm sorry you had a few issues while dining with us. It's surprising to read that you didn't enjoy your food as those dishes are our bestsellers and we always receive very positive feedback. Unfortunately, sometimes as with all restaurants, food does get to the customer cold and am glad that you weren't charged for your dish. Even though you placed your order at the bar the food is then served to you at your table, hence the service charge. As for your other comments, I will definitely pass it on to the management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Wanted to have a nice lunch and take in the gorgeous weather. We have been here a few times before but never for food. Decided to sit outside in the beer garden and have a lovely bank holiday lunch. So glad we did. Delicious starters and main course. You can easily feast on the starters but the grilled meats and Byriani looked too good to miss. Kids also enjoyed their lunch which, for our fussy ones, was a great bonus. Will definitely go again. Will also go with 'the boys' to enjoy a drink and watch the footy.

Thank TheMins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakspearArmsUXB, Public Relations Manager at Breakspear Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you and your family enjoyed your day with us and looking forward to seeing 'the boys' enjoy a drink and the footy,

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breakspear Arms also viewed

Ickenham, Greater London
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
Ruislip, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
Ruislip, Greater London
 

Been to Breakspear Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing