We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice food”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uxbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stopped here on recommendation from friend who has stayed here before. Had lunch only but was very good if a bit pricey. The beef baguette was well worth the visit and very filling, if a little tough in places! Was a lovely place and oldy woldy, am sure the rooms would be nice too

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanh194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Always swing by here whilst in town for Breakfast or Brunch - great friendly staff and good low key atmosphere! Better than some of the local greasy spoons - and very easy to find! I hear the rooms are good too, will definitely check in next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSimms34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments relating to the breakfast you enjoyed with us recently.

We do pride ourselves on our freshly cooked breakfast, colourful and tasty fruit displays & calorie enriched pastries and breads.

Hopefully we will see you back here again for more ...

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed for one night whilst our daughter was attending applicant day at Brunel University. The room (306) was lovely and big and the bed was very comfy. Immaculately clean. The only complaint was it was a bit too hot in the room, even when we turned heating off. Staff on reception very helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel because we wanted to go out and explore Uxbridge , as a potential place where my daughter will be living for next 4 years! It was easy 25 min walk and even less time to walk to the University the next day. The receptionist let us leave our car in the hotel car park whilst we visited the University aswell. We will definitely return to this hotel if my daughter ends up going to Brunel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us, when your daughter was attending interviews at Brunel University. I do hope she was successful in her application and that we will be welcoming her and you back to The Red Lion later in the year for enrollment.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This Red Lion hotel is a short distance from Uxbridge High Street, probably a 10 minute drive by car or 30 minute walk. The hotel was visited for breakfast purposes, which is open to the general public. There are a few options available. I ordered the full English, The staff were accommodating and swapped out the black pudding for an extra sausage. The full English also includes access to the buffet, where there is cereal, fruits, bread and a few other things available.
The sitting area has a nice rustic feel and there is ample seating. The breakfast is a touch pricey, but you can taste that the food is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just back from a weekend break at The Red Lion Hotel.We stayed in a superior room.The room was exactly as advertised,warm,roomy,bed very comfortable.Facilities were all that a guest would require..Room cleaned daily and toiletries replaced.Staff were very attentive and professional and one could have a laugh with them.It is situated on a quiet road off the main uxbridge road but we didn't hear any traffic noise.There are plenty of bus stops within 5mins walk from hotel,which will take you to Uxbridge,(A fantastic shopping town).some buses also go to central London and tube stations.The area around the hotel is peaceful and one could go for walks in safety and comfort.

Room Tip: Superior room 307(4 poster bed).no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishkittenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Irishkitten

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is always heartening to receive positive comments when guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We do pride ourselves on going the extra mile for all our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Superior Rooms.

As you point out there are buses every few minutes running down the hill into Uxbridge as well as other areas such as Heathrow Airport, Denham and Windsor. We are also only a short journey into Central London by tube.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Uxbridge in the not to distant future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Christmas meal on Christmas day was 1st class at the Red Lion Hotel. It was 1st class food, service etc, will most certainly be booking again this Christmas. Well done to everyone involved, you done us proud.
We have recommended the Hotel to our friends, so they can enjoy the hospitality that The Red Lion has to offer. The Red Lion should be a 5 star Hotel.

Room Tip: Everything about the hotel is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 213Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Sandra

Thank you for your kind comments following your Christmas Lunch last year. We look forward to welcoming you back. We already have several bookings for this Christmas which is most encouraging considering we have not got around to discussing it with the Turkeys yet.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for one night whilst visiting our daughter.The rooms were beautiful and the bed so comfortable. The full English breakfast was excellent , very good choices. Staff we're very sharp and even the manager was hands on. Lovely peaceful location and looking forward to our next visit.
Mrs M Brennan Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairead_B186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxbridge
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Uxbridge Hotel
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Uxbridge Central
0.3 mi away
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5 in Uxbridge
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ruislip
523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#6 of 12 in West Drayton
2,495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: Royal Lane | Hillingdon, Uxbridge UB8 3QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Uxbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uxbridge
Price Range: £73 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 16th century, The Red Lion Hotel continues to combine old world craftsmanship, with its exposed timber beams and large Tudor fireplace with modern day comforts. Overlooking Hillingdon Hill Charles 1 is reputed to have taken respite in The Red Lion in 1646. The hotel has 55 elegant, air conditioned guest bedrooms and a restaurant that enjoys a reputation for great food. The Bar offers a friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere and serves a fine selection of Fuller's award winning beers. The Red Lion Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure visitors, close to Uxbridge town centre and Brunel University and within easy reach of Heathrow Airport. Wembley Stadium is a short journey on the Metropolitan line tube, which also gives access to Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion London
London Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing