We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaring place to stay”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uxbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Roaring place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this Pub/Hotel for 3 nights. Easy place to find and parking was easy too. Reception staff weren't as friendly as I would have expected. The room was good and comfortable. The tea/coffee station was well stocked and fresh milk was placed in the fridge. Nice touch. Bathroom accessories were very good. Breakfast the first day was excellent and probably the best I've had in the UK to date. Subsequent breakfasts were a let down. Not enough staff to run the breakfast restaurant properly seems to have been the problem. Evening meals were good. Choice is a little restrictive though. Clean, quiet and accessible. Three qualities that are a must for a good hotel and the Red Lion has all three. Overall I was happy to stay here and would come back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    186
    46
    14
    3
See reviews for
129
163
31
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed in the Red Lion Hotel in June 2014 and we picked the place because it is a pub . When visiting the UK this is just perfect. The Red Lion is very well managed, the room was clean and really cozy, the breakfast was very delicious. Of course, the prices are a bit on the high end but we loved it and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _C0sm0p0litan_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is a true pleasure to stay in with all the charm of a true country Inn and yet it is so easy to get to many places in western London, even the West End is within reach.
The hotel is a true country Inn with all the traditional fittings but all what you expect for a good stay.
The staff are happy to go that extra mile to make your stay a pleasure.
The breakfast is superb and not the bland standard breakfast that is often served in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emyr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

on arrival we where given a room from possible the 18th century , old beams ect ect but very very musky , not a very nice sleep to be honest , we decided the second day ( we where waiting to fly back to thailand and had 3 days spare) we decided to stay if they could change rooms, which they did , and what a difference the room was, very comfortable and very very clean , the only gripe we had was being woke up at 11 30 pm by the receptionist telling us that we had not paid our room bill, which we had but she was new and didnt understand the pos system , as hoteliers ourselves this was a little out of the ordinary explaining to your receptionist how their system works at 11 30 pm , but an apology was given the next day and from there it was fine . the restaurant is fantastic , superb food , and the breakfast was also amazing ,wide choice and freshly cooked for you , would definately stay there again next time in in the area but would definately make sure i didnt stay in the iold musky room .

Room Tip: wifi was a bit hit and miss , as a working holiday this was a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyrduggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.Pub service was pleasant. Dinner order was delivered to table quickly. Caesar salad with shrimp excellent. Breakfast service was disappointing. Both servers were inexperienced and didn't bother to check if meal was OK (eggs were tasteless, toast was stale, ham was very salty) or offer refill for coffee. So called buffet was lacking.Note to management: Cardboard placemats are old and worn and make table settings look shabby.

Hotel surrounds Funeral Home on three sides

Room Tip: 222/224 end of second floor hallway quiet, but layout of hotel hallways can get confusing. In spite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My friend and I stayed overnight at this hotel on a coach trip to Buckingham Palace and I would recommend it to anyone. So clean and comfortable with all mod cons, everything you could wish for. The breakfast was excellent and although unfortunately we didn't have the evening meal as we had already eaten, everybody we spoke to couldn't speak highly enough of the food. The menu looked delicious. Many thanks to the Red Lion and its staff for making us welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked this hotel as we had a wedding to go to in Uxbridge. From the minute we walked in we were impressed, the decor was lovely. The room was a good size (we had a double), the bed was fery comfortable. There was a TV in the room and a hairdryer in the dressing table drawer, there was also tea and coffee making facilities with a kettle and a cafatierre! The en-suite bathroom was clean (as was the whole room) with a shower over bath and shower screen rather than a curtain, there were two bath sheets and two hand towels with face cloths, shower cap and the usual toiletries. The meal we had the evening we arrived was lovely, very tasty. Breakfast was the usual help yourself and also a choice from a menu, this is not included with the room tariff. All in all we had a lovely nights stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: They do have four poster double beds and also doble rooms with sofa beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxbridge
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Uxbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5 in Uxbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Barn Hotel
The Barn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ruislip
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada London South Ruislip
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Ruislip Hotel
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: Royal Lane | Hillingdon, Uxbridge UB8 3QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Uxbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uxbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 16th century, The Red Lion Hotel continues to combine old world craftsmanship, with its exposed timber beams and large Tudor fireplace with modern day comforts. Overlooking Hillingdon Hill Charles 1 is reputed to have taken respite in The Red Lion in 1646. The hotel has 55 elegant, air conditioned guest bedrooms and a restaurant that enjoys a reputation for great food. The Bar offers a friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere and serves a fine selection of Fuller's award winning beers. The Red Lion Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure visitors, close to Uxbridge town centre and Brunel University and within easy reach of Heathrow Airport. Wembley Stadium is a short journey on the Metropolitan line tube, which also gives access to Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion London
London Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing