We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An utter nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madonna Halley's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edgware
Reviewed 24 September 2013

In bathroom no hot water, no toilet rolls, dangerously loose tiles at head height. In bedroom bare bulb in ceiling, dust everywhere, handles off drawers, filthy black extension leads. Outside in corridor, the fire door wouldn't shut properly since off one of it's hinges. We checked out 40 minutes after we had checked in.

Room Tip: Our room looked over a garage and flashing neon lights. We didn't stay long enough to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a lovely, cosy hotel, the bed is comfortable and the room was very clean. Really friendly staff too. Hotel seems to be undergoing some renovation at the moment, but that doesn't detract from what a nice place it is. The staff did play some music in the dining area on the ground floor around 7.30am on both days, but this didn't bother me, though I can see why it may bother some! Pricing is reasonable, why not give them a go. This was our second stay, and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Dirty,shoddy,expensive for no reason!the manager Chriss got no skills or sense.very rude and also the staff is very rude.stay away! Pay in advance a dirty room,no hot water,no curtain,no TV,no phone connected !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank magicalmistical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Got lumped with this place- reserved by someone else and we had to prepay as they always insist. Don't do it...you'd see why... Overpriced, noisy, uncomfortable, really felt ripped off. Manager initially friendly but unhelpful. On the night we arrived, two women were fighting across the hall with the other occupants and doors slammed all night. The night manager was timid and had limited english, as did most other staff except the day manager. Never any hot water, shower drain backed up on first day and overflowed but not sorted despite our asking reception every day. Small shower stall with extremely narrow entry. Washbasin functional but glued together (badly), no sink plug. Tiles roughly handmade and fairly new but embedded dirt in grout grooves. Bathmats torn - but all towels clean. Kept asking but doubt the bed linen was changed during our long stay. Room in continual state of disrepair with bare wiring, window locks broken. Two tvs in room - one broken so why keep it there? Very dim even during day. Bedroom floor new vinyl but continually dirty from filthy hallway carpet. Cleaners came in several times during the day but always forgot to do it all, including refuse from previous tenant. Small wardrobe, some drawers and big ledge on window good for storing clothing but nowhere to put our suitcases. Supposed to be a hotel but no room for luggage?
Lot of road noise, room stuffy so opening the window made it worse but no fan or aircon. Curtains don't block out light so no chance to sleep well on the slightly sagging double bed. Burn holes in gauze of curtains quite visible when drawn.
Dining room spacious, interesting rustic decor. Resident parrot entertaining. The continental breakfast included was not worth having. Always ran out and poor choice - some days only bread in plastic, one type of stale pastry, orange juice, whole oranges, dry cereal, milk. Think another resident wanted to kill me for the banana I brought in from elsewhere. Noticed there was usually more variety and other fruit on the first day for a new guest (including us!). Coffee really good when we could find someone to run the espresso machine. Cooked breakfast 5pounds extra which we didn't want but they kept pressing.
Beware of office safe - manager said only he has key so need to arrange when can access but we discovered his father also has a key. Our documents were returned without incident but did make us anxious.We asked beforehand about the (necessary for us) complimentary wifi - ha! not in our room, and even near the modem downstairs it sometimes timed out.
Waste of money and stressful staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank C and G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I should have stayed at the premier inn. The host was welcoming and the downstairs area although tired did have character, but that's it. The room was awful. Old old beds lumpy and hard peeling paint, the windows had rotted away broken plug sockets, on the plus side it was clean and relatively quiet. Breakfast in-edible couldn't wait to leave. Really not worth the money. This place is more like a hostel for those waiting to be re-homed that a paying guest hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

As contractors working locally, we stay here for a good few weeks. it was convienient, and cheap,but @ 60 sods a night.not cheap enough.Reading previous poor reviews,I can only agree and then add some. Apart from on occassions lack of hot water,we had to contend with copious amounts of cold water cascading through the ceiling from the bathroom above. The building is tired,and maintained on a adhoc basis, DIY here just wont cut it, shody workmanship leaves a lot to be desired, and from a health and safety viewpoint,area's are perhaps,(no,,, are) down right dangerous. Leaving early for our daily toil (06.30 ish) returning to our parked up truck only to be greeted by half the local rat population running riot around the neighbouring houses,which are run down properties also owned by Madonna Halley's family,nice. You can order an evening meal, so long as you like chicken,pork or ommelette,also nice (not). We booked in advanced for the following weeks as per normal only to be told one night (monday) had been reserved, (guessing that a Robbie Williams concert at Wembley and a Wimbledon price hike was the reason) we had to find alternative and better accommodation pretty sharpish.................. WOULD ADVISE YOU TO DO SO ALSO.......

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 1Nipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for its proximity to Wembley Stadium and were more than satisfied with our one night stay.
It was easily accessible from the M1, we were able to park off road at the hotel.
The room- a double- was basic , but it had everything we needed and nothing we didn't. The staff were polite and very helpful. We opted for a full English breakfast and were delighted with it. There was a variety of cereals, fruit, juices and enough bread to make your own toast- then a large plate of sausage, bacon, beans &2 eggs.
We would certainly return if we ever go to another Wembley stadium concert.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgware
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Edgware Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ramada London North M1
Ramada London North M1
#3 of 6 in Borehamwood
821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edgware Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apple House Guesthouse Wembley
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Halley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Halley's Hotel

Address: 88 Whitchurch Lane, Edgware HA8 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Edgware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Edgware
Price Range: £70 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Madonna Halley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madonna Halleys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing