We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!!”
Review of Essex Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Southall B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After reading other reviews about this hotel I was dreading staying here, we went to watch groves vs froch at wembley and this was the cheapest place we could find to stay. After finally finding it, (entrance is between 2 shops) we parked dwn the side street, which if you have a blue badge, like myself, you can park in the residents parking all night for free! Walking in, there's a good few stairs you have to walk up to get to reception. We checked in, and stayed in room 213, double ensuite, quite small but enough room for the 2 of us to move about, has toilet with shower , very clean and tidy. Staff were polite/friendly and in the morning we went straight down to their kitchen area and was offered a hot breakie, as well as helping yourself to juice/coffee&tea & cereals. Can't complain for £54 !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    13
    17
    69
See reviews for
29
20
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was booked as it is closed to London Heathrow Airport. On the other, hand Central London only 30 min and very good transportation to all other cities. All staffs were very helpful and cooperative. Large room with clean bed linen and housekeeping staff cleaned room every day. Rooms are tidy and clean and can easily be shared that type of room. Good value for money as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fardin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is above shops on main high street. Parking is a 10 minute walk away at the back of a shop, but costs only £2 per day. Rooms were tidy and clean. There is a Flat screen TV in the room which had all the channels tuned in. Walls were quite thin so could hear other people talking. Breakfast was adequate and was served very quickly. Dining room was quite small so you may find that you have to wait to sit down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Panther14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After arriving at the accommodation we were greeting with road works, drilling, dust and traffic. Once in we noticed old frayed carpet leading to a unmanned desk after locating someone we were told only one room was ready this was at 12.30. We all proceeded to the room to find a lady hovering in a very basic room. After viewing the room we notice curtains hanging of the rail, black used chewing gum on the window sill, dirty shower, toilet roll holder broken a red pest control box in the corner of the room. Kettle with cups no tea or coffee no spoons. Litter on the landing. After complaining we were told we could not get our money back as we booked through booking.com so we were pretty much stuck with accommodation we also decided not to use the shower. We are regular travellers and never experience accommodation like this ever!

Room Tip: Don't use
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KAREN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southall hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I Booked this hotel bcz of heathrow airport. I stayed 3 nights. Central London only 30 min and very good trasportation to city. All staff were very helpful.
Large room with clean bed linnen and house keeping staff cleaned room everyday.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoHossain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

First time to london stayed in Room 105 when I opened the door I wanted 2 turn go back out the walls were damp the carpet got like black iron marks the shower room dirty water wernt goin down plug hole quick enough not very clean place furniture was really old bed was comfy breakfast you could have put on a saucer 1 bacon 1 sausage 1 egg 1 toast teaspoon beans room nice size lot of money needs to be spent on this place I wouldn recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melaniejayne1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked this 'hotel' online as we were due to pick up someone from Heathrow early in the morning.

We arrived around midnight and could not find it as it was nestled between shops. We walked upstairs and was told that we had to park on the side streets and also that they did not take credit or debit cards, therefore my husband had to search around for a bank so we could pay them - oh it is pay first as well!!!

The carpets were grubby, the whole 'décor' was disgusting and the area where it was located was nothing to shout about.

We got to the room and it was one of the filthiest bathrooms and carpets I have ever seen. The carpets were stiff as if they were starched.

If it was not that late and we were not so tired, I would have asked for our money back and left.

The only good thing about it was the people were police, the bed was comfy (even though I slept in my clothes for fear of what might touch my skin) and they had a flat screen tv in the room.

The room came with breakfast, however, after seeing what the whole place looked like, there is no way I would eat anything in that place.

I needs a good overhaul. It is misleading to advertise this as a 'hotel'. With all the people hanging around the place at midnight, I could find a more appropriate word for it and a 'hotel' it will not be.

Disgusting filthy place. It is a pity we there is no choice for minus.

Room Tip: Avoid ALL the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southall
0.5 mi away
Mehfil Hotel
Mehfil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow/Hayes
1.7 mi away
Best Western Airlink Hotel London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Hayes, Heathrow Hotel
2.7 mi away
easyHotel London Heathrow
easyHotel London Heathrow
#21 of 23 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boston Manor Hotel
Boston Manor Hotel
#766 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn Hotel

Property: Essex Inn Hotel
Address: 60-66 The Broadway, Southall UB1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Southall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Southall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Essex Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Inn Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of West London. Based in London, near the Olympic Stadium, we are the hotel for a budget stay in London. We offer all En-suite accommodation, for singles, couples and families. We have beautifully newly decorated rooms offering quality accommodation at competitive rates. We have a number of accommodations available to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Essex Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing