We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning bed bug alert!!!”
Review of Essex Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essex Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Southall B&B and Inns
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warning bed bug alert!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I found this hotel as it was the only one with a family room free near to legoland after we we're let down with the hotel we had booked with previously. On arrival we were told that they had no travel cot as promised and when walking into the bedroom it was like walking into a sauna, but we bit our lips and thought its only somewhere to sleep as we are not normally the type who moan. Breakfast next morning physically made me sick ,half raw sausage , mouthful of beans and a warm cup of tropical juice. When going to sleep that night I felt something the size of a lady bird crawling on me and hit it to be left with blood on me from the bug. Do not stay at this hell hole unless you want to be eaten alive!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luscher37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    13
    17
    69
See reviews for
29
20
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Although my expection was not too high for this budget hotel. Also reading some reviews i had feeling could be worse or may be alight. Was not very happy about entrance between two shop. During check in time I found decent receptionist with amazing manner and he explain everything that we need. Even helped with my luggage to the second floor. I checked in one of double room 206 that was nice clean en-suite bed room.
Closed to Heathrow airport and city centre only 18 minute train from Southall train station and 24 hours bus running to city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saladin1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This place is filthy, one room dirtier than the next. The bed "looked" clean, but it wasn't. The bathroom at least seemed clean, but they keep the lights on in them to ward off cockroaches apparently. I didn't expect luxury, but are carpets vacuumed this decade a luxury? The walls were grimy and the baseboards coated with itchy neglect. This place was dirty, depressing, and frankly scary.

Forgot to mention that my room door wasn't locked when I got there and people (employees/permanent residents) seem to hang around the hallways skeeving everyone out.

I would like to forget I ever stayed here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 32FlavorsAndThenSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southall hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After reading other reviews about this hotel I was dreading staying here, we went to watch groves vs froch at wembley and this was the cheapest place we could find to stay. After finally finding it, (entrance is between 2 shops) we parked dwn the side street, which if you have a blue badge, like myself, you can park in the residents parking all night for free! Walking in, there's a good few stairs you have to walk up to get to reception. We checked in, and stayed in room 213, double ensuite, quite small but enough room for the 2 of us to move about, has toilet with shower , very clean and tidy. Staff were polite/friendly and in the morning we went straight down to their kitchen area and was offered a hot breakie, as well as helping yourself to juice/coffee&tea & cereals. Can't complain for £54 !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was booked as it is closed to London Heathrow Airport. On the other, hand Central London only 30 min and very good transportation to all other cities. All staffs were very helpful and cooperative. Large room with clean bed linen and housekeeping staff cleaned room every day. Rooms are tidy and clean and can easily be shared that type of room. Good value for money as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fardin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is above shops on main high street. Parking is a 10 minute walk away at the back of a shop, but costs only £2 per day. Rooms were tidy and clean. There is a Flat screen TV in the room which had all the channels tuned in. Walls were quite thin so could hear other people talking. Breakfast was adequate and was served very quickly. Dining room was quite small so you may find that you have to wait to sit down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Panther14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After arriving at the accommodation we were greeting with road works, drilling, dust and traffic. Once in we noticed old frayed carpet leading to a unmanned desk after locating someone we were told only one room was ready this was at 12.30. We all proceeded to the room to find a lady hovering in a very basic room. After viewing the room we notice curtains hanging of the rail, black used chewing gum on the window sill, dirty shower, toilet roll holder broken a red pest control box in the corner of the room. Kettle with cups no tea or coffee no spoons. Litter on the landing. After complaining we were told we could not get our money back as we booked through booking.com so we were pretty much stuck with accommodation we also decided not to use the shower. We are regular travellers and never experience accommodation like this ever!

Room Tip: Don't use
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KAREN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southall
0.5 mi away
Mehfil Hotel
Mehfil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Southall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow/Hayes
1.7 mi away
Best Western Airlink Hotel London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Hayes, Heathrow Hotel
2.7 mi away
easyHotel London Heathrow
easyHotel London Heathrow
#20 of 22 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boston Manor Hotel
Boston Manor Hotel
#769 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn Hotel

Property: Essex Inn Hotel
Address: 60-66 The Broadway, Southall UB1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Southall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Southall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Essex Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Inn Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of West London. Based in London, near the Olympic Stadium, we are the hotel for a budget stay in London. We offer all En-suite accommodation, for singles, couples and families. We have beautifully newly decorated rooms offering quality accommodation at competitive rates. We have a number of accommodations available to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Essex Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing