We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Undercastle Cottage is situated at the bottom of a woodland track in the heart of the New Forest, fronting the Hampshire Avon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Undercastle Cottage is situated at the bottom of a woodland track in the heart of the New Forest, fronting the Hampshire Avon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Undercastle Cottage is situated at the bottom of a woodland track in the heart of the New Forest, fronting the...
A New Forest watering hole near Bramshaw
Lymington Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Woodgreen, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Six of us stayed here in late April 2017 and the three buildings that make up Undercastle Cottage lived up to their great reputation. Picture-perfect and what a location! The Avon meanders through the garden and the walks through the New Forest on Castle Hill, just yards away, are fabulous in spring. Best of all was the wildlife we saw from the property itself, and its delightful garden - a bird list of 35 species (including Kingfisher, Egret, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Little Grebe, Nuthatch, Cuckoo, Grey Wagtail, large numbers of Curlews, Canada Geese, Swans etc), not to mention the mammals (deer, hares, squirrels, bats) - bring your binoculars (and birding telescope and bat detector, if you have them!)

We had a cold snap and frosts during the week but the underfloor heating in the main cottage was equal to that (it has all the characters one expects of a timber-framed house but is less old than it looks!). We read the information carefully, and therefore knew exactly what to expect (e.g. the bed in the Hayloft has no facilities, though the Fishing Lodge - with its magical view up the river from its twin beds - has a shower/WC, and the main house has two bedrooms with a separate WC from the main bath/WC). Everything was in excellent state of readiness on arrival: perfectly clean, garden lawns newly mowed etc, and the owner most helpfully welcoming. The village of Woodgreen, within walking distance, is pleasant, and has the best stocked community shop we have ever come across.

Definitely recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Simply beautiful. We had a great time. Everything was so tidy and clean. Our three nights stay seemed so short.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful location, beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Undercastle Cottage for the first week in April to celebrate my 40th birthday. I cannot fully articulate what a beautiful spot the cottage is set in, waking up to the view of the river was pure bliss. The gardens are beautifully maintained and the jetty with the little boat provided endless entertainment for children and teenagers that are usually glued to iPads!
Now on to the accommodation itself the cottage is completely charming all the character and romance of a thatched cottage with all the modern amenities of a new build. Perfect. Leisurely bubble baths in the huge claw foot tub (endless hot water). Cosy evenings in front of the fire, walking barefoot on gloriously heated flagstones. All your needs have been anticipated, I took along washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc. I didn't need anything the cottage was fully stocked (this may have been just luck). I have never enjoyed a self catering stay so much it was a small piece of heaven. We all fell in love and will 100% return.
My sister hit the nail on the head when she said "it's like stepping into a Disney movie".
I cannot recommend this place more it is truly wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodlife2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We needed to escape from the London Rat Race and re-charge our batteries. Somewhere quiet, private and tranquil, surrounded by nature were the requirements at the top of our list and Undercastle Cottage did not disappoint. It was the perfect escape for quality time with the people we love and enjoy being with. If you are looking for sterile, modern perfection with a lack of atmosphere this place is not for you. If, however you want restored and original rustic charm and all that goes with it (peace, quiet and nature in every corner) plus fabulous sunsets - this is your place! We stocked up on food, wine and board games and were happy to stay put, read, relax and chill. Our only concern is the availability for us to come and stay again in the future. Thank you for a lovely stay. It was the boost that we all needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensioner...
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The location is idyllic and first impression was good. We were four couples. It was difficult to decide who should sleep where as the Hayloft has no running water thus no toilet and as it is situated away from the main house (and has a fairly steep wooden staircase) it is very impractical. The main building on initial viewing was lovely HOWEVER there is virtually no soundproofing so whoever sleeps in the downstairs bedroom can hear everything from the lounge - conversations, tv etc. Also, the main bathroom is directly above this bedroom and when the loo is flush or the shower used it is clearly (loudly) heard. We stayed for three nights and that was more than enough. The people using the upstairs bedroom tiptoed about so as not to awake the people in the downstairs bedroom as everything was very creaky and with virtually no soundproofing impossible not to hear every sound. We were also incredibly upset to discover that we were deducted a portion of our deposit as "apparently" we did not leave the premises as was expected. This is absolutely not true. We have tried to contact the owner on several occasions to discuss the above - via e mail and phone but have not had the courtesy of a reply. We spoke to the Agent on our day of arrival, with particular reference to the Hayloft not having any running water, and found him to be unhelpful. There was no "welcome" pack explaining the dos and donts of the premises. In particular we found the cooker difficult to use as there were 3 ovens plus a grill and the only explanation was the markings on the knobs. The toaster only took two slices of bread at a time - the other half of the toaster was not working. That sounds petty but when there are 8 of you at breakfast it is not so petty. As I started off, the setting is idyllic and on first glace it looks lovely but 8 people staying there for more than a few nights would not be comfortable. I did ask in my email to the owner if she had in fact spent time there with friends and what her experience was as I am sure she would understand our concerns and make amends to ensure that future guests had a more enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review about Undercastle Cottage. As you are members of the same group who stayed at Undercastle Cottage in mid March and have left very similar comments, our response is equally applicable.
"With regards to The Hayloft, in fairness we do not mention in our detailed description that this outhouse has any bathroom facilities whereas these are clearly listed as being available for the main cottage and the Fishing Lodge. We state in our Key Facts section above the description that Undercastle Cottage has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (not 3 bathrooms). We also describe the Hayloft as having a steep outside wooden staircase. There is no mention of the stairs being lit in our description but in fact The Hayloft has three outside lights, one above the door just outside and two at the bottom. There are additional toilet rolls along with cleaning materials, washing up liquid etc in a cupboard in the cottage. As you rightly say, although Undercastle Cottage has the appearance of an older, traditional thatched cottage it was actually built some 15 years ago. The cottage meets all building regulations as regards insulation and sound-proofing, as stipulated at the time it was constructed. We are always happy to take account of guests’ comments and suggestions where these are deemed to be valid but on this occasion we feel that a more careful reading of the description in the first instance could have avoided any disappointment about the facilities provided."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronnieroy...
Formby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab setting and cottage”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just came back from a 3 nights stay in this unbelievable cottage set in a wonderful location. Totally relaxing break enjoyed by us all. Can't wait to go back again. Would thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colinzzz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting ...... but be warned”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

An absolutely beautiful setting and house as all the other reviews have written.

There were 8 adults staying which meant all the accommodation was used. The two rooms in the main house were ok and the best room was The Lodge overlooking the river.
However BE WARNED the hayloft is another matter. Although the bed was comfortable there is no running water which means no washbasin ,no toilet which means if you get caught short in the night you have no choice but to walk down the very steep wooden stairs, which they said were lit ,but actually were not ,except for one light at the bottom.Then you have to go across to the main house to use the loo.
We had to share shower facilities in the main house or The Lodge,
I believe the owners should make this quite clear in their brochure as we were totally unaware and it did mar what was at first a great reaction to the property as a whole.

Other minor points were there was not enough toilet rolls provided in the property, and there was no hand soaps provided in the toilets. This is a new build house so don't be fooled by the picture and because of that I would have expected sound proofing to have been better in a newish property house. The downstairs bedroom has the downpipes to the bathroom above it and the sound was very noisy when the toilet was flushed. The stairs were extremely creaky. There was no welcome pack in the property explaining pertinent points about the area ,a point the owner may wish to take on board.Its the small things that make a place welcoming. Overall a lovely property in a great location, but with some very serious omissions which would help people decide if it is right for them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you for your review about Undercastle Cottage; we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
In response to your comments about The Hayloft, in fairness we do not mention in our detailed description that this outhouse has any bathroom facilities whereas these are clearly listed as being available for the main cottage and the Fishing Lodge. We state in our Key Facts section above the description that Undercastle Cottage has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (not 3 bathrooms). We also describe the Hayloft as having a steep outside wooden staircase. There is no mention of the stairs being lit in our description but in fact The Hayloft has three outside lights, one above the door just outside and two at the bottom. There are additional toilet rolls along with cleaning materials, washing up liquid etc in a cupboard in the cottage.
As you rightly say, although Undercastle Cottage has the appearance of an older, traditional thatched cottage it was actually built some 15 years ago. The cottage meets all building regulations as regards insulation and sound-proofing, as stipulated at the time it was constructed.
We are always happy to take account of guests’ comments and suggestions where these are deemed to be valid but on this occasion we feel that a more careful reading of the description in the first instance could have avoided any disappointment about the facilities provided.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing