We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A special secret place”
other travellers have booked this property
living room with french doors to private patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room with french doors to private patio
Bedroom Living room with cosy wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
living room with french doors to private patio
Bedroom
Living room with cosy wood burner
Outside the cottage showing gated driveway.
Eating area with french doors leading out to private patio
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Shower roon
Shared garden backing onto private woods
Deer in the garden.
Patio Area
View of cottage in March
patio & french doors
shared garden
shared garden
patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Woodgreen, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stormwort...
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A special secret place”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I feel like I ought not leave a review otherwise everyone will want to stay here and we won't be able to get a booking! We returned after a break of a few years as we explored new places and how good it was to be back. T'is a lovely cottage tucked down a country road on the Avon Footpath. Once you are through the gate and in your cottage you leave the world behind. We arrived to a roaring fire in the wood burner, a lovely pack of yummy biscuits and a warm greeting from the owner. It is great to have the option of taking your own towels and bed linens, you feel even more at home! The cottage is cosy and compact with plenty of room to relax. There is nothing jollier than driving out the gate to be faced with a bunch of young cows all wondering where you are off too. A walk out the gate takes you straight onto the footpath and lots of choice where to head on your wanders, then when you are back you can light up the burner and relax. There is a fab local store to stock up with goodies and a fine local pub in walking distance. By the time we left we really felt we had properly unwound.
We had a great time, cannot wait to go back, in fact already booked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleJel...
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat in the New Forest”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just had a wonderful, relaxing, weekend at Avon Vale. The cottage was very clean, cosy and comfortable and has a wonderful wood burner with plenty of logs and kindling supplied. Georgie the owner was welcoming and we appreciated the little touches like the delicious peanut cookies and beautiful flowers. The outstanding scenery, peacefulness and great walks make it a perfect location. In fact you can walk to the forest or along the Avon without having to use your car. We would definitely like to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the Forest and walks
Liked least: WiFi too weak, No Mirror in Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reluctant...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Cottagey”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, warm with wood stove on, nice area and pleasant owner,the bed is very comfy and has nice bed linen on but the kitchen has very little room for the preparation of food. and be aware there is NO COOKER, just two rings and a microwave.. I like to use an oven on holiday but the advert from the rental company says cooker, The owner has since amended her advert but the company have not. I have already suggested to the owner that a mirror in the bathroom is needed and also it would be advantageous to have a small coffee table. Also be aware that the lane to the cottage is very potholed and bumpy .Cottage great for dogs but perhaps a gate across the patio would be good

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review.

In answer to the cooker issue I have always only ticked the hob and microwave oven options on the Love To Escape website through which you booked. I did double check this during your stay. There has always been a clear photo of the kitchen area on the website so as not to mislead. There was never any misleading wording on the website but I have now added to the wording drawing attention to what items there are in the kitchen .

As regards a separate gate for the patio, it would be useful and I have looked into that before but there really isn't room as I do sometimes have guests in wheelchairs as the accommodation is on one level. Any narrowing of the entrance would make it unaccessible which would be a shame.

In answer to the mirror , yes I am very sorry & I do think it needs a one in the shower room as well as the adjustable one that is in the bedroom , it just hasn't been replaced yet since recently refitting the shower room. I am putting a new mirror up in the shower room shortly.

Our lane was quite pot holey during your stay due to recent monsoon type rain, the track is levelled yearly and unfortunately your stay happened just before it was last done. This is part of the problem but also beauty of being tucked away in the woods & not situated directly on a road.

I am glad you liked the bed linen as I do take the extra trouble to launder white cotton.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana D
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic break”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just came back from a great relaxing break at Avon vale my husband and I really enjoyed ourselves.It is a little gem Georgina was lovely was very helpfull if she was needed otherwise left us alone to enjoy the peacefull and relaxing surroundings,the cottage was clean and cosy tucked away in woods all you can hear is birds singing.
The only downside was the bed was a bit hard and there was no cooker some might find that a bonus as there is a local pub a short walk away and a well stocked community shop the locals are very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quite
Liked least: uncomfortable bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molescrof...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Holiday hideaway in the Forest"”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just stayed at Avon Dale a cute, cosy hideaway just off the green in Woodgreen Hampshire. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner Georgie. Excellent location for walking in the New Forest with an abundance of wildlife on tap We have seen Kingfishers, Deer, Numerous Birds of Prey and of course New Forest Ponies and Donkeys our dog has loved every minute of the trip as we have. A place to definitely revisit soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3amazing
Woodgreen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Following a stay in hospital this was just what the doctor ordered. Peace, quiet and fresh air. And, although quite small, the cottage was fabulously clean and very very quaint. We loved it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie445...
bristol,england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am coming back again in July, my third visit in 12 months, I love it here! A perfect host, beautiful countryside with a number of lovely walks and a million new sniffs for my dog Seren. This is fast becoming my bolthole from the world, no phone, no computer or post. In May I was sat under a tree in the midday sun and all I could hear were birds singing and the wind in the trees. What bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing