We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
living room with french doors to private patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room with french doors to private patio
Bedroom Living room with cosy wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
living room with french doors to private patio
Bedroom
Living room with cosy wood burner
Outside the cottage showing gated driveway.
Eating area with french doors leading out to private patio
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Shower roon
Shared garden backing onto private woods
Deer in the garden.
Patio Area
View of cottage in March
patio & french doors
shared garden
shared garden
patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Woodgreen, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KimV574
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and l stayed here with our dogs over Christmas. We found the accommodation good value for money. The village pub is only a 10 minute walk away, along with the shop. We also walked to The Bat & Ball pub which took 25 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda O
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy and Dog Friendly New Forest Cottage”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Small cottage in the most beautiful New Forest surroundings. The owner is very welcoming and helpful. The cottage itself is comfortable and has everything one would need (no oven, but we didn't find this a problem at all). Georgie positively welcomes dogs which was a major plus for us. The wood burner makes the cottage exceptionally cosy and kindling and logs are supplied and plentiful. The community village shop is wonderful and sells a huge range of high quality local produce. There is a nice (dog friendly) pub within easy walking distance and several more local recommendations. OS maps and walk suggestions are available for loan in the cottage. We had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. The rental is very competitively priced for this area. Would definitely return. We thought Avon Vale a little gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P
Hitchin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great three day break at Avon vale which we thought was a great place to get away to if you just need to chill out !! . The place was just the right size for us and our two collies , it was lovely and clean with some great little touches , the home made cookies WOW ! they are fantastic.
The local pubs are not to far and are great value for money, the only down side was the road to the property which is full of pot holes
A great place to return to

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: road to property is full of pot holes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne L
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed here with my hubby and dog Rocky, it is a lovely cottage. I agree with reviews that the track up to the cottage is very pot holey and needs a harder surface than gravel, also a mirror in the bathroom is needed to make it easier for hubbies wanting a shave. I knew there would be a lack of cooking facilities and wished I had taken my halogen oven (maybe an investment for the owner to consider). We visited Bournemouth and a number of villages whilst there. We had a lovely time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny5620...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A relaxing and peaceful stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just had a few days in the little cottage over the Christmas holiday with our dog. Enjoyed every minute of it, the log burner kept us toasty and Georgia had provided tea, coffee, cookies and even allowed us to cook our Christmas dinner in her kitchen! Not only that, we had forgotten our wellies and Georgie even managed to supply two pairs for us. The walks nearby are lovely, as is the local pub and we didn't need to use the car. The cottage is pretty, the shower is hot and powerful. The little hob is functional, and everything was clean. I suspect the bed has seen better days although was comfortable. Overall a lovely part of the world to stay and our thanks to georgie for her hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stormwort...
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A special secret place”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I feel like I ought not leave a review otherwise everyone will want to stay here and we won't be able to get a booking! We returned after a break of a few years as we explored new places and how good it was to be back. T'is a lovely cottage tucked down a country road on the Avon Footpath. Once you are through the gate and in your cottage you leave the world behind. We arrived to a roaring fire in the wood burner, a lovely pack of yummy biscuits and a warm greeting from the owner. It is great to have the option of taking your own towels and bed linens, you feel even more at home! The cottage is cosy and compact with plenty of room to relax. There is nothing jollier than driving out the gate to be faced with a bunch of young cows all wondering where you are off too. A walk out the gate takes you straight onto the footpath and lots of choice where to head on your wanders, then when you are back you can light up the burner and relax. There is a fab local store to stock up with goodies and a fine local pub in walking distance. By the time we left we really felt we had properly unwound.
We had a great time, cannot wait to go back, in fact already booked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleJel...
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat in the New Forest”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just had a wonderful, relaxing, weekend at Avon Vale. The cottage was very clean, cosy and comfortable and has a wonderful wood burner with plenty of logs and kindling supplied. Georgie the owner was welcoming and we appreciated the little touches like the delicious peanut cookies and beautiful flowers. The outstanding scenery, peacefulness and great walks make it a perfect location. In fact you can walk to the forest or along the Avon without having to use your car. We would definitely like to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the Forest and walks
Liked least: WiFi too weak, No Mirror in Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing