We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can one say”
Review of Wayside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wayside Cottage
Ranked #2 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As the title says what more can one say that has not been said already we also were greeted by Janet and also treated to coffee and cake.Our room no.4 was excellent complete with 4 poster bed and so comfey with excellent mattress everything has been thought of even cotton buds in bathroom torches at the door for night use.Breakfast excellent,and as the previous reviewer stated 2 adorable dogs would we return can`t wait it was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 night birthday break here and it was fab. On arrival we were greeted by John who showed us to their pretty garden and provided us with a lovely coffee and homemade cake. Luckily, the weather has been brilliant so sitting in the garden in the afternoon sun was bliss. This is where we first met the owners dog, Lucy, who was very sweet, along with their new puppy who was just adorable. The room we stayed in (6) was nice and roomy and had a very large bed. En-suite bathroom was very clean and has a lovely shower. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room along with a tv . Breakfast (cooked by Janet) was great with a choice of items from the full English breakfast menu to 'speciality' breakfasts such as kippers or kedgeree (order the day before). Homemade bread was available for toast along with a range of cereals, yoghurts and fruit and a selection of homemade jams and honey, which is made from their own bees. Coffee always came in a cafetiere and tasted great. The owners were very helpful and chatty and made us feel very welcome. The property is located down a gravel lane away from the main road so was very quiet and peaceful. There are no lights in the village at night so you have to take a torch (supplied by the hosts). During the day the village is very busy but very pretty with horses wandering around! The only 'mini' gripe we had was that the information folder in the room was out of date - had 2011 prices in and gave incorrect details for local restaurants (one we visited was closed!). But all in all it was a brilliant stay, a great base to see the New Forest from and we will definitely be returning as well as recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights for my birthday on the 7th August and we were not disappointed at all. The cottage is down a little track which is a 3 min walk from Burley Village and it was as just as it looked in pictures, beautiful. When we arrived we were shown to the garden and given a pot of tea and homemade cake which was a very nice touch. Our room was very nice with a huge bed and tea & coffee facilities. The breakfasts were really nice and plenty to choose from such as cereal, homemade bread and jam, full English breakfast and lots more and very yummy! I would most definitely be going back to the New Forest and will stay here again, you couldn't ask for any better, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Wayside Cottage is very superior bed and breakfast accommodation in a pretty village in the middle of the New Forest. Situated in a quiet lane where the New Forest ponies wander past the gate, this is a very attractive house with beautiful gardens and a pretty courtyard where we were brought tea and cake when we arrived. The owners keep beehives and serve their own honey as part of their excellent breakfast menu.
Our rooms were spacious, well equipped and tastefully decorated as is the rest of the house where there are many pictures,some by local artists,and fascinating artefacts in every room.
John and Janet, our hosts, were welcoming and helpful. We very much enjoyed our time with them and would highly recommend this superb guest house to anyone interested in visiting the New Forest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Not to be missed. First class service and accommodation in the heart of the village. . A couple of minutes walk from whatever you are looking for. . We will definitely be returning. Tranquil gardens and a four poster bed that induced sleep. Hearty breakfasts provided by the lovely hosts that truly set you up for the day. Wild ponies, cattle and wildlife are abundant. You will thoroughly enjoy the experience.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JustinJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Greeted with tea and home made cake upon arrival, served in the guests courtyard garden, this set the tone for our 3 nights. Comfy well appointed rooms in a lovely village setting. The road is not as pot holed as other reviews make out. In the heart of the new forest wit Ponies and wildlife seen nearby. Breakfast uses local produce and home made bread and set you up well for the day.
This B&B goes highly recommended and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This outstanding B&B guest house is to be found in Burley in the New Forest. Janet and John are wonderful hosts and had a pot of tea and home made cake ready to welcome us on arrival. Our family room was splendid - beautifully furnished with a large comfortable double bed and single bed with a small bath in the ensuite, ideal for a child. The shower and toilet were kept spotlessly clean and toiletries were replaced daily. Breakfast was magnificent - as eat much as you like from a large and varied choice, freshly cooked full English breakfast delivered straight from the kitchen. Special breakfasts such as scrambled egg with smoked salmon, haddock and other specialities are available at no extra cost as long as you order your choice the day before. The bread, marmalade and preserves etc are homemade as is the honey which comes from the hives in the back garden. Everything is faultless!

Room Tip: The family room we stayed in was ideal for a family of three and aroom with a four poster bed is als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickcoleman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Buck - Hotel
11.7 mi away
Dale Farm House
Dale Farm House
#1 of 1 in Dibden
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cider Cottages
Cider Cottages
#2 of 2 in Burley
40 reviews
0 mi away
The Burley Inn Hotel
The Burley Inn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Burley
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cottage

Address: 27 Garden Road, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range: £96 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wayside Cottage, a wysteria-covered Edwardian cottage in the New Forest village of Burley, where Ponies, Donkeys and even Cattle wander down the streets, and the loudest sound is the bird song in the trees. Janet and John West have created the perfect haven for a relaxing weekend, or a longer stay. There are six rooms to let on a Bed and Breakfast basis, all rooms are ensuite with either a showerroom or bathroom. There are pretty gardens to sit in and a guest lounge for evenings or bad weather. Cycling, walking and horse riding opportunities are within 5 minutes walk. The village has several Pubs and Hotels, shops and all the usual amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Wayside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Cottage Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing