We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A characterful place to stay”
Review of Wayside Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayside Cottage
Ranked #2 of 7 Burley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were staying at Wayside Cottage with a few of our walking group. On first impressions it is very good. On arrival we were offered tea and homemade fruit bread which was very good! The room was very clean but I think the four poster bed is a little unnecessary and it made the room feel smaller than it is – but this is a moot point. Bathroom was very clean but the loo was a little slow to refill – perhaps could do with a new filling system. The breakfast was simply excellent. There was a good range of breads along with the fruit bread which I could not resist, homemade jams and even home produced honey. The full English was delicious and not at all greasy. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Wayside Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I mention the dogs because they are very friendly soppy things but if you are allergic or would simply not like dogs around then best to know up front. I was tempted to ask the owners if we could take one for a walk !

Anyway, as to practicalities, this is a great "traditional" B&B, rooms with quirky range of pictures and such like, very friendly with tea and cakes offered on arrival, a small courtyard area to sit in if its not raining, plenty of parking, several pubs within 5-15 minutes walk (which were surprisingly quiet at the date of our stay, early May, IMO this would be a great time to come for a short break because of that).

Wide range of the usual breakfast stuff, cooked and uncooked, and more on offer like kippers and smoked haddock and pancakes if you put a request in the night before. (scribble a note on the notebook on the hall table, very informal). Plenty lots of home made jams and even home produced very floral tasting honey, beehives in the garden.

The only thing I'd improve would be the shower, fairly low power, at least in our room but that is being very picky and didn't detract from the experience but it would have been a nice to have.
Also as information, note there is a note on the front door regards not arriving earlier than checkin at 330pm as the owners may be doing other stuff, perfectly reasonably but best to know in advance, dont be tempted to turn up unannounced asking for an early checkin or at least not without phoning ahead.

Finally, WIFI was provided free and worked and the owners were very helpful with information about the local area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from a perfect stay at Wayside Cottage. A beautiful house and garden; we had a lovely room overlooking the garden. A friendly welcome from the owners and their dogs. Outstanding breakfasts with a huge choice. Nice village to explore.

Pauline and Geoff

Room Tip: All rooms are the same standard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a lovely Easter weekend at Wayside cottage. The owners are very friendly and welcomed us with a tea and a slice of home made cake which, after a long journey, was especially enjoyed. The room we stayed in was beautiful and very comfortable which was reflected throughout the cottage. The breakfast was generous and very tasty, made with local ingredients and included some home made produce which was nice to see.

The cottage is well situated, being within very easy walking distance of Burley village centre but on a very quiet little road so there is no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April with my elderly Mum for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the village. We had a very friendly greeting from both owners and dogs and on our arrival, were invited in to the guest lounge where we were given fresh tea, coffee and cake. Our room was lovely with a window overlooking the garden and the beds were very comfy. Tea making facilities in the room as well as a tv/dvd combo. They have a selection of dvds in the lounge to use. Breakfast was tasty with a good range and we were stuffed afterwards. John and Janet were very helpful with any queries we had and offered us torches to navigate the only downside of the potholed lane that the B&B is on. Everywhere was spotless and we could not fault the service. Best place to stay in Burley.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank blett25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at Wayside Cottage over the Easter weekend and already missing it! The hosts were lovely, we LOVED the dogs who were very friendly, our room was really nice and the breakfasts were delicious. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake in the courtyard garden which was really welcoming. I was really impressed with the homemade bread, jams and even honey from their own bees! It's a five minute walk from town so really convenient, and is also very close to the cider farm. We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Have just enjoyed a lovely few days at this beautiful B&B. Janet & John, were very welcoming -we were treated to tea and cake on arrival. Can't understand the 1 bad review - the rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and have tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of additional extras in the bathroom. The breakfasts were of a very good standard with locally sourced, good quality ingredients and a good and varied selection. The home made jams, marmalade and honey were delicious as was the home made bread. For us, the 2 dogs made the place feel very homely. Our room was at the back (room 1) and therefore beautifully peaceful but I can understand that the rooms at the front might be a little noisy if other guests are inconsiderate when coming in late I.e noise of car tyres and feet walking on gravel. All in all a great place to stay -would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinaC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burley
0.4 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
702 reviews
6.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The White Buck - Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Burley Inn Hotel
The Burley Inn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Burley
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cottage

Address: 27 Garden Road, Burley, New Forest, Ringwood BH24 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Ringwood > Burley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burley
Price Range: £94 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wayside Cottage, a wysteria-covered Edwardian cottage in the New Forest village of Burley, where Ponies, Donkeys and even Cattle wander down the streets, and the loudest sound is the bird song in the trees. Janet and John West have created the perfect haven for a relaxing weekend, or a longer stay. There are six rooms to let on a Bed and Breakfast basis, all rooms are ensuite with either a showerroom or bathroom. There are pretty gardens to sit in and a guest lounge for evenings or bad weather. Cycling, walking and horse riding opportunities are within 5 minutes walk. The village has several Pubs and Hotels, shops and all the usual amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Wayside Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Cottage Burley, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing