We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge cream tea!”

The Old Farmhouse Restaurant and Tea Rooms
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Burley
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Huge cream tea!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We always try to find a cream tea when we are away so we visited Burley & were not disappointed with our find. Good value for money, two huge scones either plain, fruit or one of each, large dollop of clotted cream & two types of jam served in mini glass jars. Absolutely delicious & great value for money. Noticed a couple who had a hot chocolate which was so big you needed a spoon to eat it. Would return if in the area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    108
    33
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The tea room”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was wonderful after one hour horse riding to have a rest in the tea room of The old farmhouse restaurant
Delicious cakes,coffee and tea,nicely offered with very friendly staff

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ponies can be seen munching away on the grass verge beside the car park next to this characterful cafe/restaurant.! Excellent with friendly staff and tasty food. Loos are clean and tidy. A small garden attached where you can enjoy delicious cream teas. Was surprised to find it closed at 5.00pm on a Friday in May though, as there were still plenty of hungry/thirsty visitors around. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pootlepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely end to our wedding weekend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We popped in for cream tea to end our wedding weekend. We dint have to wait very long for a table and the service was very prompt. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced. The setting is lovely and cosy with a quaint feel to it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mummytothebunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On our way home to London from the New Forest we stopped in lovely little Burley for breakfast at the Old Farmhouse. Friendly, prompt service and delicious eggs made for a great last meal (sounds ominous!) before hitting the motorway - would highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Farmhouse Restaurant and Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to The Old Farmhouse Restaurant and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing